Skip to main content
VillageOffice

VillageOffice: Work where you live  

Photo: John Patrick Walder
Photo: John Patrick Walder

Reducing commuter traffic and advocating decentralised working: this is what VillageOffice is aiming to achieve with its coworking spaces, which are located close to where working people live. The first VillageOffice space has now been opened at the Kunzwerk in Unterwindisch.

Home offices are booming – but those who have tried it know that it’s not always possible to concentrate on work at home. Nevertheless, many people would still prefer that over a long commute to the office. Another option is coworking spaces, which offer workstations with the necessary infrastructure.

However, most of these coworking spaces are located in large cities, which doesn’t much help those who do not live in large centres. The is where the idea of the VillageOffice comes in: over the next few years, the cooperative will build up a network of approximately 1000 coworking spaces in small towns and country villages, all of which will be accessible on foot within 15 minutes from where people live. To this end, existing coworking spaces will be tied into the network, new partners will be gained and VillageOffice’s own flagship spaces will be opened.

Photo: John Patrick Walder
Photo: John Patrick Walder

Starting at the root cause

“We want to strengthen local communities and give them back their sense of purpose,” explains co-founder Dave Brühlmeier. “And we will achieve that if people stop commuting away from their home town every day to spend the day somewhere else.”

This idea of advocating decentralised working and reducing commuter traffic is what caught the attention of Engagement Migros. Project Manager Leila Hauri-Stieger says: “It is a sustainable mobility concept that starts at the root cause instead of just fighting symptoms.” In other words, with the fact that many people no longer live where they work.

The first VillageOffice flagship space has now been festively opened together with its partner HIAG Immobilien – at the Kunzareal in Unterwindisch, just 12 minutes by bus from Brugg’s train station. Emilie Etesi, the manager of this new VillageOffice, is already pleased to have – just shortly after having opened and without a major advertising campaign – four new signed contracts: “We are obviously meeting a need,” she says. There are 15 workstations that can been rented for anywhere from a single day to months or years.

“We place great importance on a feeling of community.”

In the middle of the space there is a large wooden structure with padded seating on top – a comfortable lounge that also offers an option for brainstorming meetings. The main floor also has space to kick back and relax. “Unfortunately, there is no kitchen,” says Etesi. There will be kitchens at other locations, like the one in Solothurn that is scheduled to open in May, because: “Cooking meals together strengthens the feeling of community that is very important to us.”

But there is a coffee machine and even a water bowl for dogs on one of the shelves – right next to the toys and colouring utensils for kids, in case they need to come along to the office. “The Kunzwerk is also currently a place for us to learn,” says Etesi. “We’re suddenly noticing what’s missing: a phone booth for confidential conversations, for example.” This is now being built. 

Photo: John Patrick Walder
Photo: John Patrick Walder

Exciting for globalised companies

Now that VillageOffice’s first space has opened, the people behind the concept are especially also looking to attract large, international businesses. “We think that our idea could be very exciting for globalised companies,” explains Etesi. Another interesting partner for the space in Unterwindisch might be the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland, many of whose institutes are directly adjacent to the Brugg train station.

VillageOffice also always works with local partners to set up and equip its spaces. In Unterwindisch, for example, the local carpenter made the interior furnishings, and the food for the opening was supplied by local businesses. “Tying in the community is very important to us,” says Emilie Etesi. “Because our concept will only really work once we have been accepted.”

Aller au contenu principal
VillageOffice

VillageOffice rapproche le bureau du domicile

Photo: John Patrick Walder.
Photo: John Patrick Walder.

Réduire le flux des pendulaires et promouvoir le travail décentralisé: voilà l’objectif que souhaite atteindre VillageOffice avec ses espaces de coworking se situant à proximité du domicile des collaborateurs. Un premier site de ce type est désormais disponible dans le Kunzwerk à Unterwindisch.

Le home office explose. Pourtant ceux qui l’ont déjà testé savent que chez soi, il n’est pas toujours aisé de se concentrer. Malgré cela, certains préfèrent cette solution pour éviter les longs trajets jusqu’au bureau. Une alternative: les espaces de coworking qui proposent des places de travail avec des infrastructures adaptées.

La plupart de ces espaces se trouvent toutefois dans de grandes villes, ce qui ne règle pas le problème pour les personnes qui ne vivent pas dans de grands centres. C’est ainsi qu’est née l’idée de VillageOffice: ces prochaines années, la coopérative entend développer un réseau d’environ 1000 espaces de coworking dans des villes de moindre importance ou à la campagne, tous situés à moins de 15 minutes du domicile des utilisateurs. Les sites existant seront intégrés au réseau, de nouveaux partenaires seront trouvés et des espaces de plus grande taille seront ouverts.

Photo: John Patrick Walder.
Photo: John Patrick Walder.

S’attaquer aux causes

«Nous souhaitons renforcer les communautés locales en leur redonnant leur utilité», explique le cofondateur Dave Brühlmeier, «et nous y parviendrons si les gens n’ont plus à quitter chaque jour leur lieu de domicile pour se rendre au travail et passer la journée ailleurs».

L’idée de promouvoir le travail décentralisé et de réduire le flux de pendulaires a suscité un grand intérêt de la part d’Engagement Migros. Selon la responsable du projet, Leila Hauri-Stieger: «Il s’agit d’un concept de mobilité durable qui s’attaque aux causes plutôt qu’aux symptômes», à savoir le fait que les gens sont nombreux à ne plus travailler là où ils vivent.

VillageOffice a inauguré un premier grand espace en partenariat avec HIAG Immobilien: dans le Kunzareal à Unterwindisch, à seulement 12 minutes en bus de la gare de Brugg. Emilie Etesi, qui dirige cet espace, est ravie de cette ouverture et des quatre contrats déjà signés, ce sans grande campagne publicitaire: «De toute évidence, nous répondons à un besoin», se réjouit-elle. 15 places de travail peuvent être loués pour plusieurs jours, mois ou même années.

«Nous attachons beaucoup d’importance à l’esprit communautaire.»

L’espace abrite une structure en bois sur le toit de laquelle sont installés des coussins: un lounge confortable également propice aux séances de brainstorming. Le rez-de-chaussée offre aussi des espaces de détente. «Il manque juste une cuisine, ce qui est dommage», déclare Emilie Etesi, car «cuisiner ensemble renforce l’esprit communautaire, une valeur à laquelle nous tenons beaucoup». D’autres endroits, comme Soleure qui ouvrira en mai, en seront toutefois équipés.

Il y a en revanche une machine à café, et une gamelle pour les chiens trône sur une étagère, à côté de jeux et de matériel de dessin pour les enfants, au cas où une fois, il est nécessaire de les emmener au bureau. «Pour le moment, le Kunzwerk nous permet surtout d’apprendre», explique Emilie Etesi. «Tout à coup, nous nous apercevons qu’il manque quelque chose: par exemple une cabine téléphonique pour les conversations confidentielles.» Laquelle sera rajoutée bientôt. 

Photo: John Patrick Walder.
Photo: John Patrick Walder.

Intéressant pour les entreprises globalisées

Maintenant qu’un premier espace a été ouvert, les responsables de VillageOffice souhaite s’adresser aussi aux grandes entreprises internationales. «Nous pensons que notre idée peut être très intéressante pour elles», déclare Emilie Etesi. Même la Haute école spécialisée de la Suisse nord-occidentale, dont la plupart des instituts se trouvent tout près de la gare de Brugg, pourrait être intéressée par un partenariat pour l’espace à Unterwindisch.

VillageOffice est toujours à la recherche de partenaires sur place pour créer et installer de nouveaux espaces. A Unterwindisch par exemple, c’est le menuisier local qui s’est occupé de l’aménagement intérieur, et la nourriture fournie pour l’inauguration a été commandée auprès d’entreprises du cru. «Ce lien est très important à nos yeux», affirme Emilie Etesi, «car notre concept ne pourra fonctionner correctement qui si nous sommes acceptés.»