Skip to main content
SINGA Factory

Bonjour Genève – diversity as a success factor

The project aims to help people from refugee and migrant backgrounds to showcase their skills as part of a start-up programme. Photo: Tim Ott
The project aims to help people from refugee and migrant backgrounds to showcase their skills as part of a start-up programme. Photo: Tim Ott

The pioneering SINGA project has consistently shown that team composition and effective cooperation are the foundation of a successful company. The new company ventured into the French-speaking part of Switzerland a year ago. Which challenges did it face? We met up with the two teams to discuss how things are going.

The team’s working day usually begins with a message on Slack or an on-screen Skype meeting. That was not the case on this mild late summer’s day. Nearby in Zurich’s Josefswiese park children are playing in the fountain, people out for a stroll are sitting at garden tables, squinting in the morning sun and sipping on latte macchiatos. Directly adjacent at Jenseits, an arch of the historic railway viaduct that has been turned into a café, the SINGA Zurich team meet their counterparts from French-speaking Switzerland. “What really helps us to keep in touch are the face-to-face meetings,” pointed out Ella Stuart, who is responsible for project communication.

Somebody from the Zurich team meets up with a colleague from French-speaking Switzerland at least once a month. They also sometimes go on retreats to discuss major issues and to hone their shared vision. On this occasion there is also an anniversary to celebrate: Giordano Neuenschwander has been heading up the pioneering project’s new office in Geneva for precisely one year.

Ella Stuart (centre) believes face-to-face contact is vital. Photo: Tim Ott

One of the greatest challenges was finding a suitable manager for the initiative – the profile requirements were demanding and difficult to define. In addition to the right skill set and experience, the candidate also had to be willing to set up the office from scratch with no guarantee of success. They also had to be able to speak French, English and German fluently. A fortunate turn of events worked in SINGA’s favour – a friend advised Seraina Soldner to work with the Graduate Institute in Geneva and to commission an in-depth student research project to identify whether, how and with which partners the start-up programme could be launched in the canton of Geneva. Here she met Giordano Neuenschwander, a master’s student who became heavily involved in the feasibility study. He carried out over 50 interviews with refugees, representatives of NGOs and the private sector, government representatives and employment agencies to identify where the gaps and opportunities in the asylum support system were in Geneva and the French-speaking part of Switzerland.

 

“You can’t prepare anyone for that”

Tina Erb

At that point nobody involved knew that Giordano would one day head up the Geneva office. But today they see it as serendipity. Having gained a deep insight and profound understanding of the Geneva eco-system, Giordano opened the new office. “You can’t prepare anyone for that,” explained Erb. “We tried to ensure we pulled our weight as a team, but Giordano initially had to shoulder the lion’s share of the hard graft.”

A homogenous and personal way of working is adopted at the two-day retreat. Photo: Tim Ott

Tina Erb and Seraina Soldner found it very challenging to provide the new office manager with the right level of support and guidance needed for him to perform his duties. The working environment in French-speaking Switzerland was different to that in Zurich, which meant that experience gained there could not be transferred directly. In light of this, the fact that embracing intercultural differences is one of SINGA’s core values was definitely helpful. A further good turn of fortune saw Elody de Brito join the office team. Together they succeeded in securing new partners. They are now also working with the United Nations enterprise development programme and take part in various events and expert groups in Geneva. Through its involvement in such initiatives, the organisation is raising its profile on the national level, where it can represent the interests of people from refugee and migrant backgrounds. The team also speaks all official Swiss languages – apart from Romansh – and the website has been available in German, English and French right from the outset.

“Being able to speak frankly and to deal with things on the spot is important.”

Elody de Brito

As well as the entrepreneurial spirit that the team shows, the joint philosophy is also clearly evident in terms of communication. Not only does dialogue with the SINGApreneurs take place on an equal footing, but this also fosters the emergence of new ideas in the team. Showing empathy during interactions plays a key role. “We spend more time together than we do with our friends and families. Being able to speak frankly and to deal with things on the spot is important,” remarked De Brito. The culture of openness is not just reflected in everyday working life, but also in the joint vision – enabling everyone to fulfil their potential and to live a dignified life regardless of their background. The support SINGA provides ultimately comes into play in this respect too because “in the Swiss context this also means making a contribution to society through professional endeavour,” indicated Soldner.

Time to fine-tune that shared vision. Photo: Tim Ott

It is notable that all members of the SINGA team hold degrees in international relations and have previous experience of working with people from refugee and migrant backgrounds. “As far as our personalities are concerned, it’s a miracle that we’re able to work together at all,” revealed Seraina with a twinkle in her eye. Ella Stuart added: “Everyone in the team has different priorities and adopts their own approach but together we cover a wide range of disciplines. Our willingness to listen to one another and embrace the differences is what makes us so creative. Sometimes we have to invest time to ensure mutual benefit, but the differences of opinion are invaluable – the outcome is generally improvement on the starting position.”

Teambuilding with a coach

What might seem very smooth now is the result of a carefully managed process. To develop teambuilding Erb and Soldner worked closely with a coach who was also a qualified psychologist. Together – using lots of Post-its and design thinking methods – they reflected on matters such as the distribution of responsibility, role definition and the assignment of workload and tasks. It was surprising how easy they found it to allocate the tasks amongst themselves. The team now consists of a balanced mixture of, on the one hand, go-getters who are highly skilled in securing partners and participants and, on the other, thinkers who enjoy planning, keeping track of everything and adopting a strategic approach. This allows the team to communicate and work with a network of equally diverse partners and organisations.

Jumping in at the deep end has paid off for Giordano Neuenschwander. Photo: Tim Ott

One particular challenge in running two offices is that the funding applications for each have to be made to the cantonal authority. There is very limited funding available at the national level for which SINGA is eligible to apply as an overall organisation. That is why the management team has now been strengthened by the addition of new members who can provide support with seeking funding in the Geneva region.

“What matters to us is good results, not achieving them quickly.”

Samira Lütscher

“Unfortunately, migration is no longer perceived as a burning issue by the public despite the fact that the challenges we’re faced with will have an even greater impact on us over the coming years,” explained Soldner. Projects like SINGA, which regard intercultural collaboration as vital, are extremely valuable in this respect. “Supporting them may not make millions, but small changes add up and can have a major influence on the future,” she pointed out. Social integration and its long-term impact have tremendous value.

“And that’s exactly what it’s all about,” explained Samira Lütscher, who manages the project at Engagement Migros: “What matters to us is good results, not achieving them quickly.” There is a belief that greater diversity in enterprise will make society richer in both the short-term and long-term and will generate not just new working methods, but also ideas. On the other hand, it also presents a challenge in terms of differences in mentality and interculturalism. On a small scale, this is also reflected by SINGA’s expansion into French-speaking Switzerland. However, Lütscher firmly believes: “With careful reflection on the roles and a joint vision that is so strong that it unites people beyond all differences, the project is on an excellent footing.”

Celebrating the first anniversary of SINGA in Geneva: Ella Stuart, Seraina Soldner, Giordano Neuenschwander, Elody de Brito and Tina Erb (from left to right). Photo: Tim Ott

SINGA – for a society where everyone can fulfil their potential

In April 2019, the Geneva office launched the first round of the SINGA Factory, a start-up programme for people with refugee and migrant backgrounds who want to set up a company in Switzerland. On the part-time programme, the SINGApreneurs – as SINGA calls participants – benefit from workshops on setting up a company, coworking, one-to-one mentoring, advice on legal issues and founding businesses as well as access to a network of mentors, experts, partners and firms. The programme is especially designed to meet the needs of people from refugee and migrant backgrounds who are looking to set up a business. Of the 16 entrepreneurs in Geneva at the outset, 14 have now successfully completed the transition from the concept to the implementation stage with their 11 projects.

Aller au contenu principal
SINGA Factory

Bonjour Genève – La diversité comme facteur de succès

Ce projet s’inscrit dans un programme de soutien à l’entrepreneuriat permettant de mettre en valeur les compétences des personnes issues de l’asile et de la migration. Photo: Tim Ott
Ce projet s’inscrit dans un programme de soutien à l’entrepreneuriat permettant de mettre en valeur les compétences des personnes issues de l’asile et de la migration. Photo: Tim Ott

Le projet pionnier SINGA l’a toujours montré: la composition de l’équipe et une bonne collaboration sont les fondements d’une entreprise prospère. Voici un an, la jeune entreprise a commencé son aventure en Suisse romande. Quels ont été les défis auxquels elle a dû faire face? Nous avons rencontré les deux équipes pour un entretien.

D’habitude, la journée de travail commence par un message sur Slack et une visioconférence sur Skype. Ce n’est pas le cas en cette journée de fin d’été. Non loin de là, sur la Josefswiese à Zurich, les enfants jouent près de la fontaine, les promeneurs s’assoient à des tables de jardin, clignent des yeux et sirotent leur latte macchiato matinal. Juste à côté, au Jenseits, une arche aménagée dans le viaduc ferroviaire historique, l’équipe de SINGA Zurich rencontre son pendant de Suisse romande. «Ce qui nous aide particulièrement à maintenir les échanges, ce sont les rencontres personnelles», explique Ella Stuart, responsable de la communication du projet.

Au moins une fois par mois, un membre des deux équipes rencontre une ou un collègue de l’autre région linguistique. Parfois, ils participent tous à une retraite qui leur permet d’aborder les grands problèmes et d’affiner la vision commune. Comme aujourd’hui, où il y a un anniversaire à célébrer: cela fait exactement un an que Giordano Neuenschwander est devenu responsable du nouveau site du projet pionnier, à Genève.

«Le lien personnel est l’élément le plus important», affirme Ella Stuart (au milieu). Photo: Tim Ott

L’un des plus grands défis a été de trouver un leader approprié – le profil était exigeant et difficile à définir. En plus de la compétence et de l’expérience, il fallait quelqu’un qui était prêt à créer le bureau à partir de rien, et sans aucune garantie de succès. Et surtout, cette personne devait parler couramment le français, l’anglais et l’allemand. C’est le hasard qui est venu en aide à SINGA – un ami avait recommandé à Seraina Soldner de charger l’Institut de hautes études internationales de diriger un séminaire pour évaluer comment et avec quels partenaires il serait possible de proposer le programme de soutien dans le canton de Genève. C’est là qu’elle a rencontré Giordano Neuenschwander, un étudiant en master, qui participait activement à l’étude de faisabilité. Concrètement, il a mené plus de cinquante entretiens avec des réfugiés ainsi que des représentants d’ONG, du secteur privé, du gouvernement et des agences de placement afin d’analyser les lacunes et les opportunités du système d’aide aux demandeurs d’asile à Genève et en Suisse romande.

«Personne ne peut être formé à quelque chose comme ça»

Tina Erb

À l’époque, personne ne se doutait que Giordano dirigerait un jour le bureau de Genève. Aujourd’hui, tout le monde reconnaît que cela a été un coup de chance. Armé d’une connaissance approfondie de l’écosystème genevois, Giordano a donc ouvert la nouvelle antenne. «Personne ne peut être formé à quelque chose comme ça, explique Tina Erb. Nous avons essayé d’agir efficacement en équipe, mais, au début, Giordano a dû travailler tout seul la plupart du temps.»

Durant la retraite de deux jours, le travail se fait sur une base analogique et personnelle. Photo: Tim Ott

Selon Tina Erb et Seraina Soldner, fournir au nouveau responsable de site le niveau de soutien et d’orientation nécessaire pour qu’il puisse faire face à ses responsabilités s’est avéré très compliqué. Les conditions-cadres en Suisse romande étant différentes de celles de Zurich, l’expérience acquise dans cette ville n’a pas pu être reprise telle quelle. Dans cette situation, il était certainement utile que l’une des valeurs fondamentales de SINGA soit la promotion des différences interculturelles. Le recrutement d’Elody de Brito a aussi été une véritable aubaine. De concert avec Giorgio, elle est parvenue à obtenir le soutien de nouveaux partenaires. Aujourd’hui, l’un et l’autre participent également au programme de soutien des Nations Unies pour la promotion de l’entrepreneuriat, à divers événements et font partie de groupes spécialisés à Genève. Grâce à leur engagement dans de telles initiatives, l’organisation devient visible au niveau national et peut y représenter les intérêts des personnes issues de l’asile et de la migration. Par ailleurs, l’équipe parle toutes les langues officielles de Suisse, à l’exception du romanche, et le site internet a également été disponible en allemand, en anglais et en français dès le premier jour.

«Il est important de pouvoir s’exprimer librement et de régler les choses immédiatement.»

Elody de Brito

En plus de l’esprit d’entreprise qui règne chez SINGA, il est évident que la philosophie commune se reflète également au niveau de la communication. Car les échanges d’égal à égal n’ont pas seulement lieu avec les SINGApreneurs... De nouvelles idées émergent également au sein de l’équipe, du fait de l’empathie qui préside aux interactions. C’est un facteur crucial. «Chaque jour, nous passons plus de temps ensemble qu’avec nos familles ou nos amis. Il est important de pouvoir s’exprimer librement et de régler les choses immédiatement», explique de Brito. La culture ouverte se reflète non seulement dans le travail quotidien, mais aussi dans la vision commune: permettre à chacun, quelle que soit son origine, de développer son potentiel et de mener une vie digne. C’est là qu’intervient l’offre de SINGA, car «dans le contexte suisse, cela signifie aussi pouvoir apporter une contribution à la société par le travail et le métier», précise Soldner.

Il est temps de peaufiner la vision commune. Photo: Tim Ott

Il faut relever que tous les membres de l’équipe SINGA sont diplômés en relations internationales et avaient déjà travaillé avec des réfugiés et des migrants par le passé. «Quant à nos personnalités, il est presque miraculeux que nous puissions travailler ensemble», lance Seraina avec un éclat de rire dans les yeux. Et Ella Stuart d’ajouter: «Les membres de l’équipe ont des priorités et des façons de faire différentes. Ensemble, nous parvenons à répondre à un grand nombre de défis. Nous sommes créatifs parce que nous sommes à l’écoute et que nous mettons en lumière les différences. Parfois, nous devons investir du temps pour nous convaincre les uns les autres, mais les divergences d’opinions sont profitables – le résultat est généralement meilleur que le postulat de départ.»

Teambuilding avec un coach

Ce qui émerge avec une telle fluidité est le résultat d’un processus soigneusement supervisé. Pour favoriser le teambuilding, Erb et Soldner ont travaillé en étroite collaboration avec un coach, psychologue de formation. À l’aide de nombreux post-it et de méthodes issues de l’approche conceptuelle, ils ont planché sur des thèmes tels que l’articulation des responsabilités, la définition des rôles, ainsi que l’attribution du travail et des fonctions. Eux-mêmes ont été surpris de voir à quel point il a été facile de se répartir les tâches. Aujourd’hui, l’équipe se distingue d’une part par sa composition équilibrée d’actrices et d’acteurs hautement qualifiés pour attirer des partenaires et des participantes, et d’autre part par ses théoriciennes qui aiment planifier, avoir une vue d’ensemble et agir stratégiquement. L’équipe peut ainsi communiquer et collaborer avec un réseau de partenaires et d’organisations très différents les uns des autres.

Le saut dans l’inconnu a été payant pour Giordano Neuenschwander. Photo: Tim Ott

Le fait que les demandes de financement des deux bureaux doivent être effectuées au niveau cantonal représente un défi concret pour le fonctionnement des deux sites. SINGA ne peut demander que des petites subventions au niveau national pour l’ensemble de son organisation. C’est la raison pour laquelle le comité a été élargi, et de nouveaux membres ont été recrutés afin de chercher des donateurs dans la région de Genève.

«Ce ne sont pas les résultats rapides qui nous intéressent, mais les bons résultats.»

Samira Lütscher

«À l’heure actuelle, la migration n’est hélas plus une question brûlante dans l’opinion publique, et ce même si les problèmes auxquels nous sommes confrontés vont s’exacerber au cours des années à venir», explique Soldner. Des projets tels que SINGA, qui considèrent la collaboration interculturelle comme une nécessité, sont particulièrement précieux. «Leur soutien n’apporte peut-être pas des millions, mais lorsque l’on additionne tous les petits changements, ils peuvent avoir à terme un grand impact», confirme-t-elle. Car l’intégration sociale et ses effets à long terme auraient une valeur énorme.

«C’est exactement de cela qu’il s’agit, explique Samira Lütscher, qui supervise le projet chez Engagement Migros. «Ce ne sont pas les résultats rapides qui nous intéressent, mais les bons résultats.» Parce qu’on estime qu’une plus grande diversité dans l’entrepreneuriat enrichit la société à court et à long terme et génère non seulement de nouvelles méthodes de travail, mais aussi des idées. En matière de différences de mentalité et d’interculturalité, la diversité est aussi un défi. L’expansion de SINGA en Suisse romande le démontre également, à une petite échelle. Et pourtant, «le projet est parfaitement positionné grâce à une réflexion approfondie sur les rôles et à une vision commune si puissante qu’elle parvient à faire l’unanimité, en dépit de toutes les différences», remarque Lütscher.

Ils fêtent le premier anniversaire de SINGA Genève: Ella Stuart, Seraina Soldner, Giordano Neuenschwander, Elody de Brito et Tina Erb (de gauche à droite). Photo: Tim Ott

SINGA – pour une société où toutes et tous peuvent déployer pleinement leur potentiel

En avril 2019, le bureau de Genève a lancé le premier cycle de la SINGA Factory, un programme à temps partiel de soutien à l’entrepreneuriat pour les personnes issues de l’asile et de la migration qui souhaitent créer une entreprise en Suisse. Dans ce cadre, les SINGApreneurs, la désignation attribuée aux participants par SINGA, bénéficient d’ateliers traitant de la création d’entreprise, du co-working, de mentorats individuels, de conseils juridiques et financiers, et de l’accès à un réseau de mentors, d’experts, de partenaires et d’entreprises. Le programme est spécialement conçu pour répondre aux besoins spécifiques des entrepreneurs issus de l’asile et de la migration. Il a commencé à Genève avec seize entrepreneurs, dont quatorze sont passés avec succès de la phase de conception à la phase de mise en œuvre de leurs onze projets.