Skip to main content
lunchidee

An alternative to “Menu 1”

Around a third of food produced ends up as waste, and this is set to change. Photo: Simon Tanner
Around a third of food produced ends up as waste, and this is set to change. Photo: Simon Tanner

Sophie Frei wants to inspire restaurants to serve healthy and sustainable set lunch menus. To this end, the nutritionist has launched the lunchidee pilot project. But breaking through the routine of guests and restaurateurs is not easy.

There are many proverbs about food. And as in many proverbs, there is usually a spark of truth in this one as well: The farmer won’t eat what he’s not familiar with. Or slightly modified: Guests don’t order what they aren’t familiar with. Sophie Frei is sitting in the restaurant “Mein Küchenchef” in Köniz near Bern. She orders a beetroot cake with hummus and says: “Many people choose ‘Menu 1’ at lunchtime, i.e. meat, side dish, sauce, a few vegetables – out of habit. And restaurateurs cook what people want.” The same applies to them: Cooks don’t serve what they aren’t familiar with.

 

“Everything we eat has an impact on us and our environment.”

Sophie Frei

Frei wants to change that. She wants to encourage both guests and hosts to act, order and cook more consciously. Because cooking and eating does not simply mean satisfying hunger. “Everything we eat,” says Frei, “has an effect on our health and our environment.”

Aiming to bring about change through incentives: lunchidee founder Sophie Frei. Photo: Simon Tanner

For years, the 38-year-old nutritionist has been working at the intersection of theory and practice. She knows the studies and the numbers. For example: 28 per cent of all environmental pollution is caused by food. Around one third of all food produced ends up as waste.

In gastronomy, for example, this waste consists of portions that are not finished. Or food that isn’t even sold or put on plates because it doesn’t conform to the standard: a potato that’s too bulky, a carrot that’s too crooked, eggs that are too small. And precisely because about 70 per cent of the adult population goes out for lunch, there are so many opportunities to create incentives and sensitise people.

“The idea sparked right away.”

Leila Hauri

“It all started two years ago,” says Leila Hauri of the Engagement Migros development fund, which is making lunchidee possible. “By focusing on nutrition and production, we encourage pioneering projects that support a sustainable and healthy lifestyle.” We increasingly get a large part of what we eat outside our homes. This is why there is steadily more leverage dormant in gastronomy that can influence our eating habits. “We wanted to attach a new project to this issue,” says Hauri. “Then I got to know Sophie and the idea sparked immediately.”

There are already eight restaurants participating in the project; more will follow soon. Photo: Simon Tanner

The nutritionist turned a few loose sketches into a tangible project, gave lunchidee its name and significantly developed the project. Last autumn, the pilot was launched with participating restaurants. Today, lunchidee is a platform for information and inspiration, so that more healthy, sustainable and enjoyable set menus can be served in restaurants at lunchtime: more healthy vegetables that pollute the environment less; more variety and more homemade food.

An eye on current eating trends
As part of the pilot phase, Sophie Frei is working with eight restaurants in German and French-speaking Switzerland. These restaurants receive input on topics that change monthly. In March, the focus is on cereals and bread. Frei has just sent documents on the subject to the restaurants, in which she describes the advantages of old grain varieties and whole grains, and what they mean for nutrition. “Einkorn, emmer and spelt are more nutritious than wheat. Why not serve a spelt risotto or wholemeal pasta?” The expert talks about gluten – in an environment where choosing what to eat can be highly emotional, the renunciation of gluten and wheat has almost become a trend. And she explains: “Just one per cent of the population suffers from celiac disease and is forced to do without gluten. Many people think they cannot tolerate gluten so they don’t eat it. Today we know that, for example, many bread complaints are not related to the type of grain, but to how long dough is left to rest.”

lunchidee also serves information at lunch. Photo: Simon Tanner

With industrially produced dough with a short resting period, ingredients that are difficult to digest cannot be broken down. A dough that is given more than four hours to rest is much more digestible and flavourful.

All about cereals and bread
Frei provides this type of information to restaurateurs, along with recipe suggestions for other wholegrain cereals such as barley or millet. She wants to encourage restaurants to actively read the information sheets, to question habits and to pass the information on to their guests. But Frei also wants to address guests directly. The pilot project therefore provides a placemat for the lunchidee restaurants – which currently contains information about cereals and bread. At the project launch, these restaurants pledged to offer a set lunchidee menu at least once a week, which they can develop thanks to Frei’s information sheets.

Sophie Frei gets up and welcomes her guests. As the project’s initiator, today she is the hostess. Six of her pilot restaurants have sent employees to Mein Küchenchef, Mirko Buri's restaurant. They have come for a workshop on food waste. A few years ago, Buri, a former gourmet chef, devoted himself entirely to this topic. His aim is to ensure that as little food as possible ends up in the garbage. In everyday life this means: Buri serves up portions that are finished. And he sources food directly from farms where they would otherwise rot. He cooks broccoli stalks, which are normally scraps. Buri makes soup out of them.  

A healthy conscience can look really tasty. Photo: Simon Tanner

He also gets eggs that do not survive the control process because of irregularities in their shells. He tells us he makes bouillon paste from vegetables he can't get rid of in late summer and sells them in his shop in the restaurant. And he also talks about how he calculates set menus so that there are as few leftovers as possible, and how he has taken small steps towards having as little food waste as possible per guest.

Off to the second pilot phase
The conclusion of the initial project phase after half a year: “All eight restaurants are still participating,” says Frei and laughs. That's not self-evident. Some restaurants have working conditions that are highly stressful and there is never enough time. “The feedback on the input I give the restaurants is mostly positive,” says Frei. However, there are some problems with the placemats. During the stressful lunch rush, the wait staff loses time presenting placemats to guests and explaining their content. For the second pilot phase, which will begin in autumn, Frei wants to consider how she could address guests in a different way. “But first we have to find additional motivated restaurants!” says Sophie Frei, and gets up as the workshop begins.

Aller au contenu principal
lunchidee

Une alternative au «menu 1»

Près d’un tiers de la production alimentaire finit à la poubelle, il faut que ça change. Photo: Simon Tanner
Près d’un tiers de la production alimentaire finit à la poubelle, il faut que ça change. Photo: Simon Tanner

Sophie Frei aimerait encourager les restaurants à servir des plats du jour sains et durables. La diététicienne a donc lancé le projet pilote lunchidee. Mais il n’est pas toujours facile pour les restaurateurs et leurs clients de rompre avec la routine.

La nourriture est le sujet de bien des proverbes, qui souvent cachent un fond de vérité. Exemple: «Ce que le paysan ne connaît pas, il ne le mange pas...» Actualisé, cela pourrait donner: «Ce que le client ne connaît pas, il ne le commande pas.» Nous retrouvons Sophie Frei au restaurant «Mein Küchenchef» à Köniz, près de Berne. Elle commande une tarte aux betteraves rouges et du houmous. «À midi, nombreux sont les gens à commander le menu 1, à savoir viande, accompagnement, sauce et quelques légumes – par habitude. Et les restaurateurs cuisinent ce qu’on leur demande.» Car eux aussi ne servent pas ce qu’ils ne connaissent pas.

«Tout ce que nous mangeons a un impact sur notre santé et sur l’environnement.»

Sophie Frei

C’est ce que Sophie Frei aimerait changer. Elle souhaite encourager les restaurateurs et leurs clients à réfléchir à leur manière d’agir, de commander et de cuisiner. Car cuisiner et manger ne se résume pas à apaiser la faim. Sophie Frei en est convaincue: «Tout ce que nous mangeons a un impact sur notre santé et sur l’environnement.»

Sophie Frei, fondatrice de lunchidee, veut apporter des changements par le biais d’incitations. Photo: Simon Tanner

La diététicienne de 38 ans allie depuis des années théorie et pratique. Elle connaît les études et les statistiques, notamment que 28 % de la pollution mondiale est causée par l’alimentation, ou que près d’un tiers de la production alimentaire finit à la poubelle.

Dans la restauration, ces déchets sont constitués de portions qui ne sont pas consommées, ou d’aliments qui ne sont tout simplement pas mis en vente parce ne répondant pas aux normes: pommes de terre trop difformes, carottes trop tordues, œufs trop petits. C’est précisément parce qu’environ 70 % de la population adulte mange à l’extérieur à midi qu’il existe de nombreuses possibilités de créer des incitations et de sensibiliser les gens.

«La mayonnaise a tout de suite pris.»

Leila Hauri

«Tout a commencé il y a deux ans», raconte Leila Hauri du fonds de soutien Engagement Migros, qui a permis le lancement de lunchidee. «Dans le cadre de notre axe Alimentation et production, nous encourageons des projets pionniers qui favorisent un style de vie durable et sain.» Nous mangeons de plus en plus hors de notre domicile; le secteur de la restauration est donc un domaine-clé à exploiter si l’on veut influencer nos habitudes alimentaires, ce qui n’a pas échappé à Leila Hauri. «Nous désirions lancer un nouveau projet à ce niveau lorsque j’ai rencontré Sophie, et la mayonnaise a tout de suite pris entre nous.»

Huit restaurants participent déjà au projet, d’autres suivront bientôt. Photo: Simon Tanner

À partir de quelques ébauches, la diététicienne a mis au point un projet concret, lunchidee, qui a pris peu à peu une dimension respectable. Le projet pilote a démarré l’automne dernier avec des restaurants désireux de participer. Aujourd’hui, lunchidee est une plateforme d’information et d’inspiration qui permet aux restaurants de servir plus souvent des menus sains, durables et savoureux: avec plus de légumes, plus sains et moins polluants pour la planète, plus de diversité et plus de fait maison.

Tendances culinaires actuelles
Dans cette première phase pilote, Sophie Frei collabore avec huit restaurants de Suisse alémanique et de Suisse romande. Chaque mois, ils reçoivent des propositions sur une thématique spécifique. En mars, ce sera par exemple les céréales et le pain. Ils viennent de recevoir un dossier sur les avantages des anciennes variétés de céréales et des céréales complètes, avec des explications détaillées sur ce qu’elles sont réellement. «L’engrain, l’amidonnier et l’épeautre sont plus nutritifs que le blé. Pourquoi ne pas proposer un risotto d’épeautre rustique ou des pâtes complètes?» L’experte en vient à parler du gluten – dans le contexte hautement émotionnel de l’alimentation, renoncer au gluten et au blé est presque devenu tendance. «Seul 1 % de la population souffre de la maladie cœliaque et doit se passer de gluten», précise-t-elle. «Beaucoup de gens pensent ne pas supporter le gluten et y renoncent, mais on sait aujourd’hui que dans le cas du pain, les difficultés de digestion ne sont pas liées à la céréale utilisée, mais au temps de repos de la pâte.»

lunchidee propose aussi des informations à son menu. Photo: Simon Tanner

Dans une pâte produite industriellement qui a peu reposé, les ingrédients difficiles à digérer ne peuvent pas être décomposés. Une pâte qui a reposé plus de quatre heures est bien plus digeste et plus aromatique.

Tout sur les céréales et le pain
Les restaurateurs reçoivent des fiches d’information de ce type avec des propositions de recettes pour les céréales complètes comme l’orge ou le millet. Sophie Frei souhaite inviter les restaurants à une prise de conscience, les inciter à remettre en question leurs habitudes et à transmettre ces informations à leur clientèle. Mais elle veut aussi s’adresser directement aux clients. Le projet pilote met donc à disposition un set de table dans les restaurants lunchidee; actuellement sur le thème des céréales et du pain. Au début du projet, les restaurants se sont engagés à proposer au moins une fois par semaine un plat lunchidee élaboré à l’aide de la documentation fournie.

Sophie Frei se lève pour accueillir ses invités: aujourd’hui c’est elle l’hôtesse. Six de ses restaurants pilotes ont envoyé des collaborateurs au Mein Küchenchef, le restaurant de Mirko Buri. Ils viennent participer à un workshop sur le gaspillage alimentaire. Cela fait plusieurs années que Mirko Buri, ancien chef gastronomique, se consacre entièrement à ce sujet. Son objectif: ne pas jeter de nourriture. Au quotidien, cela veut dire qu’il sert des portions raisonnables, et qu’il va chercher directement dans les fermes les produits qui autrement y seraient laissés à pourrir. Il cuisine aussi le pied du brocoli, considéré comme des épluchures, pour en faire des soupes.

La bonne conscience met les petits plats dans les grands. Photo: Simon Tanner

Il reçoit aussi des œufs qui n’ont pas passé les contrôles de qualité parce que leur coquille présente des irrégularités. Il fait du concentré de bouillon à partir de légumes dont les fermes ne peuvent se débarrasser à la fin de l’été et la vend dans sa boutique au restaurant. Il explique encore comment il prépare ses menus de manière à avoir le moins de restes possible, et comment il est parvenu petit à petit à s’approcher de son objectif de réduire au minimum les déchets alimentaires par client.

C’est parti pour la deuxième phase pilote
Bilan de la première phase pilote après un an: «Les huit restaurants sont toujours fidèles au poste», résume Sophie Frei en riant. Ce n’était pas gagné d’avance. Les conditions de travail dans un restaurant sont souvent stressantes et le temps est compté. «Les retours que j’ai concernant les informations que je donne aux restaurants sont majoritairement positifs», se réjouit-elle. Mais les sets de table posent parfois problème. Au moment du coup de feu de midi, le personnel perd du temps à les disposer et à informer les clients. Pour la deuxième phase pilote qui commencera cet automne, l’initiatrice du projet veut regarder comment mieux s’y prendre. «Mais avant, il nous faut trouver d’autres restaurants motivés!» conclut-elle en se levant pour rejoindre le workshop.