Skip to main content
digitorials.ch

A flexible approach to achieving goals

digitorials.ch is working together with museums to develop strategies for the digital future. Photo: Simon Tanner
digitorials.ch is working together with museums to develop strategies for the digital future. Photo: Simon Tanner

Pioneering projects often enter new territory. But things don't always go according to plan. Those taking on the task need an agile mindset and the courage to rewrite the rules. The project digitorials.ch shows how you can reach your goal even in the face of timetable changes and diversions.

What do you do if, shortly after starting a project, you realise that despite large demand the market is actually not yet mature? You could sink back in despair – or adapt your offering. The minds behind digitorials.ch opted for the latter, putting them back on course for success. Their project, which originally aimed to implement new digital formats across Switzerland's digital landscape, has now become a holistic consultation concept that combines theory and practice, as well as strategy and innovation.  

Project leaders Jörg Schulze and Carsten Siebert, joined by Britta Friedrich, who is responsible for the project on the Engagement Migros side, report on the moment they realised they would have to change course and how they adapted the process.

Time to rethink: the two digitorials.ch project leaders Carsten Siebert and Jörg Schulze, and Britta Friedrich from Engagement Migros, report on their changed course. Photo: Simon Tanner

In Germany, you have already successfully implemented "Digitorials" and other digital information projects in collaboration with the Frankfurt Städel Museum and SCHIRN Kunsthalle. But in Switzerland you noticed shortly after starting the project that things wouldn't be quite as simple. Where did you find challenges?

Jörg Schulze: The original idea behind digitorials.ch was to create short, interactive online editorials, called Digitorials, which combine text, pictures and animations to create a meaningful whole and thus facilitate a new form of storytelling for museums. This format was developed by the two museums in Frankfurt and successfully used in sequence. We assumed that we would soon be able to start implementing the concept with reasonable consulting fees. But we misjudged it. 

Britta Friedrich: To successfully produce a Digitorial, you need an overall digital strategy, agile structures and cross-departmental collaboration. Here, we realised that many Swiss museums are still in their early stages. 

Carsten Siebert: A museum first and foremost relies on the physical experience, but the principles of the digital world are different – one need only think of the speed of a social media campaign – and must therefore be adapted accordingly. During the time of coronavirus, a few museums have shown how this can work. Nevertheless, the framework conditions and processes prevalent in most museums are not yet widely geared towards digital production.

"We had to adapt our offering to these new conditions."

Jörg Schulze

Were you surprised that such strategies had not yet been put in place?
Jörg Schulze: Yes, absolutely. Digitalisation has been used in museums for a long time. Many museums have already gained experience in this area and launched their own digital projects. At first glance, therefore, all of the necessary components should be there – but at second glance we realised that an overarching concept, vision or, alternatively, a set of guidelines, was often missing.  

Britta Friedrich: This is really important because it provides guidance and gets everyone on board. From curation and facilitation to marketing – a museum can only be brought into the (digital) future if everyone joins together and collaborates. Digital transformation is therefore also a question of organisation. In many museums, however, the individual departments tend to work for themselves. This was something we weren't aware of at the beginning of the project.

Suitable solutions were found thanks to lively exchanges between members of the project and the sponsor. Photo: Simon Tanner

How did you respond to these difficulties?
Jörg Schulze: We realised that we had to adapt our offering to the new conditions. 

Britta Friedrich: It was clear that we first needed to create the foundations that would make a project like digitorials.ch possible. This includes creating a common understanding of goals, a content strategy and agile organisational structures.

 

"It's not about implementing a plan at any cost, but about adapting your strategy in line with project and market logic."

Britta Friedrich

Was it difficult to move away from the primary idea?
Jörg Schulze (laughing): There was a fairly active exchange of emails between Britta and me. 

Britta Friedrich: We spent a long time discussing the matter until we understood the core of the problem and then had a suitable solution. It was a struggle and required a lot of straight-talking. Finally we had identified all of our options and written them all up on a blackboard. Suddenly we just looked at each other and our eyes lit up, and we thought: "We've got it!" 

What was the solution?
Jörg Schulze: We had to shift our focus – away from the pure Digitorial production and towards a strong consultation component. Now, we help museums firstly to develop and optimise their digital strategy and then to work together to find a way to implement it, naturally also creating new structures along the way. Only then do we start to implement the Digitorials. Production of the Digitorials is then something of a litmus test or proof of concept of the strategy. In doing so, we combine theory and practice – allowing us to support museums on a much more sustainable basis.

The Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst is one of the museums receiving support from digitorials.ch. Photo: Simon Tanner

What have you learned from the restructuring process?
Jörg Schulze: That we need open interactions between everyone involved. And in particular with Engagement Migros. This is the only way the strategy can be constructively adapted. 

Carsten Siebert: That it's not about seeing an idea through to the bitter end. You also have to be able to let go. Even if that's difficult to do sometimes. 

Britta Friedrich: This process has also challenged us as the sponsor. But it shows once again that you have to be prepared to be flexible. It's not about implementing a plan at any cost, but about adapting the strategy in line with project and market logic. 

Jörg Schulze emphasises the importance of implementing a marketing campaign to accompany the individual Digitorials. This is the only way to generate the desired attention. "We are looking forward to our continued close collaboration with the museums," says Schulze. "Our long-term goal is for the museums to be able to maintain their digital presence without us following the conclusion of the project and be able to develop their own projects."

 

Digitorials have been developed and successfully established in Germany by the Städel Museum, the Liebieghaus Skulpturensammlung and the SCHIRN Kunsthalle Frankfurt. The project in Switzerland therefore cooperates with these three art institutions and is the result of an initiative of maze pictures swiss and Engagement Migros, the development fund of the Migros Group. Over the next few years, eight Swiss museums will receive assistance in their digital process: Museum of Art Lucerne, Kunsthaus Zürich, Museum of Fine Arts Bern, Zentrum Paul Klee, Kunstmuseum Basel, Museum der Kulturen in Basel, Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst and Lake Museum Kreuzlingen.

 

The pictures was taken in the Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst during the Lily van der Stokker exhibition.

Aller au contenu principal

Informations COVID-19

Le coronavirus représente des défis totalement nouveaux pour nous tous. C’est pourquoi Engagement Migros accompagne individuellement les projets pionniers actuels et propose des solutions flexibles. Pour soutenir de nouveaux projets pionniers en rapport avec les axes prioritaires d’Engagement Migros rapidement et sans formalités excessives, nous avons adapté nos procédures de sélection. Pour des mesures d’assistance immédiate et en vue d’assurer la subsistance, nous renvoyons aux points d’information de la Confédération, de la fondation suisse pour la culture Pro Helvetia et de l’organisation faîtière SwissFoundations.
digitorials.ch

Atteindre son but en se montrant flexible

En collaboration avec des musées, digitorials.ch développe des stratégies pour l’avenir numérique. Photo: Simon Tanner
En collaboration avec des musées, digitorials.ch développe des stratégies pour l’avenir numérique. Photo: Simon Tanner

Les projets pionniers explorent souvent des territoires inconnus. Dans ce contexte, tout ne se déroule pas toujours comme prévu. Il faut alors un esprit agile et le courage de réécrire le scénario. Le projet digitorials.ch démontre qu’on peut atteindre son but malgré des détours et des changements d’itinéraires.

Que faire lorsque peu après le lancement d’un projet, on découvre que la demande est certes élevée, mais que le marché n’est pas encore prêt? On peut choisir de désespérer ou alors ajuster son offre. Les responsables du projet pionnier digitorials.ch ont choisi la seconde alternative et se sont ainsi remis sur les rails. Un projet conçu à l’origine pour mettre en œuvre de nouveaux formats numériques dans le paysage muséal suisse s’est transformé en un concept de conseil global qui combine théorie et pratique, stratégie et innovation.  

Dans un entretien, les responsables du projet Jörg Schulze et Carsten Siebert ainsi que Britta Friedrich, responsable du projet chez Engagement Migros nous parlent du moment où ils ont constaté que nous n’allait pas se passer comme prévu et du processus d’adaptation.

Ils ont dû repenser leur projet: les deux responsables du projet digitorials.ch, Carsten Siebert et Jörg Schulze, ainsi que Britta Friedrich d'Engagement Migros. Photo: Simon Tanner

En Allemagne, vous avez déjà réalisé avec succès ce qu’on appelle des «Digitorials» ainsi que d’autres projets de médiation numérique, en collaboration avec le Städel Museum et la Schirn Kunsthalle de Francfort. Mais en Suisse, vous avez constaté, peu après le démarrage du projet, que cela n’allait pas être si facile à réitérer. Quelles étaient les difficultés?

Jörg Schulze: L’idée de base de digitorials.ch était de créer des éditoriaux en ligne à la fois courts et interactifs, appelés Digitorials. Ils combinent textes, images et animations pour former un ensemble signifiant et ainsi permettre une nouvelle forme de storytelling pour les musées. Ce format a été développé par les deux musées de Francfort et repris ensuite avec succès. Nous supposions qu’avec un processus de conseil clair, nous serions en mesure de commencer rapidement la mise en œuvre. Nous nous trompions sur ce point. 

Britta Friedrich: En plus d’une stratégie numérique globale, les conditions préalables pour réussir à produire un Digitorials sont des structures souples et une coopération entre tous les secteurs. Nous avons dû constater que de nombreux musées suisses n’en sont qu’aux balbutiements dans ces domaines. 

Carsten Siebert: Un musée vit, en premier lieu, par l’expérience physique, mais les lois du monde numérique sont différentes. Pour le constater, il suffit de penser à la vitesse d’une campagne sur les réseaux sociaux. Il faut s’adapter à cela. Durant la crise du coronavirus, certaines institutions ont montré comment cela pouvait se faire. Néanmoins, les conditions-cadres et les processus de la plupart des musées ne sont pas encore systématiquement orientés vers la production numérique.

«Nous avons dû adapter notre offre aux nouvelles données.»

Jörg Schulze

Avez-vous été surpris que de telles stratégies n’existent pas?
Jörg Schulze: Oui, tout à fait. Cela fait longtemps que la numérisation est arrivée dans les musées. Nombre d’entre eux ont déjà des expériences en la matière et ont mis en place des projets numériques. À première vue, tout devrait être prêt. Mais, au second coup d’œil, nous avons constaté qu’il manque souvent un concept global, une vision ou une ligne directrice. 

Britta Friedrich: C’est très important, car cela permet de donner une orientation et de faire participer tout le monde. De la conservation à la médiation en passant par le marketing: pour faire avancer un musée vers l’avenir (numérique), il est nécessaire que tout le monde tire à la même corde et collabore. La transformation numérique passe donc toujours par une transformation organisationnelle. Dans de nombreux musées, les différents départements travaillent cependant encore chacun de leur côté. Nous n’en étions pas conscients au départ.

Grâce à des échanges intenses entre le projet et les promoteurs, des solutions adaptées ont été développées. Photos: Simon Tanner

Comment avez-vous réagi à ces difficultés?
Jörg Schulze: Nous avons remarqué que notre offre devait s’adapter à ces nouvelles données. 

Britta Friedrich: Il était clair que nous devions d’abord poser les bases qui rendent possible un projet tel que digitorials.ch. Cela inclut, par exemple, une compréhension commune des objectifs, une stratégie en matière de contenu ou des structures organisationnelles souples.

«Il ne s’agit pas de mettre en œuvre le plan à tout prix, mais d’adapter la stratégie en fonction du projet et de la logique du marché.»

Britta Friedrich

A-t-il été difficile de s’éloigner de l’idée de départ?
Jörg Schulze (rit): Il y a effectivement eu quelques échanges d’e-mails assez intenses entre Britta et moi. 

Britta Friedrich: Nous avons longuement discuté pour finalement vraiment comprendre le cœur du problème et pour ensuite trouver une solution adaptée. C’était un vrai combat et beaucoup de franc-parler. À la fin, nous avons noté toutes les options possibles sur un tableau. Et soudain, nous nous sommes regardés avec les yeux brillants et nous le savions: cette fois, nous l’avions trouvée. 

À quoi ressemblait cette solution?
Jörg Schulze: Il nous fallait réorienter notre travail – nous sommes passés de la pure production de Digitorials à une grande partie de conseils. À présent, nous aidons les musées à développer et à optimiser leur stratégie numérique et nous élaborons également avec eux un plan de mise en œuvre. En faisant cela, nous créons, bien sûr, de nouvelles structures. C’est seulement ensuite que nous passons à la création de Digitorials. La production devient donc en quelque sorte le test final de la stratégie, la preuve de la validité du concept. Ainsi, nous relions la théorie et la pratique et nous pouvons soutenir les musées de façon beaucoup plus durable.

Le Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst a également été conseillé par digitorials.ch. Photo: Simon Tanner

Qu’avez-vous appris de ce processus de restructuration?
Jörg Schulze: Qu’une approche ouverte entre toutes les parties est nécessaire. En particulier avec Engagement Migros. Ce n’est que dans ces conditions qu’une adaptation constructive de la stratégie est réalisable. 

Carsten Siebert: Qu’il ne s’agit pas de faire passer une idée à tout prix. Il faut être capable de lâcher prise. Même si parfois, c’est difficile. 

Britta Friedrich: Ce processus a également constitué un défi pour nous, en tant que promoteur. Mais cela a démontré une fois de plus que nous devons être prêts à nous montrer flexibles. Il ne s’agit pas de mettre en œuvre à tout prix le plan imaginé au départ, mais d’adapter la stratégie au projet et à la logique du marché. 

Jörg Schulze insiste sur le fait qu’il est important que les différents Digitorials soient accompagnés d’une campagne de marketing. C’est la seule façon d’obtenir l’attention souhaitée. «Nous nous réjouissons de continuer à travailler en étroite collaboration avec les musées», déclare Jörg Schulze. «Notre objectif à long terme est qu’après la fin du projet, les musées puissent continuer à exister dans l’espace numérique et développer leurs propres produits.»

 

Digitorials a été développé en Allemagne par le Städel Museum, la Liebieghaus Skulpturensammlung et la Schirn Kunsthalle, tous trois à Francfort, et s’y est établi avec succès. C’est pourquoi le projet suisse coopère avec ces trois institutions artistiques. Il est le résultat d’une initiative de maze pictures swiss et d’Engagement Migros, le fonds de soutien du groupe Migros. Au cours des prochaines années, huit musées suisses seront accompagnés dans leur processus, à savoir le Kunstmuseum de Lucerne, le Kunsthaus de Zurich, le Kunstmuseum de Berne, le Zentrum Paul Klee, le Kunstmuseum de Bâle, le Museum der Kulturen de Bâle, le Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst et le Seemuseum de Kreuzlingen.

Les photographies ont été prises au Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst pendant l’exposition de Lily van der Stokker.