Skip to main content
SINGA Factory

Building your own foundation

How is innovation created? Through diversity. Photo: Simon Tanner
How is innovation created? Through diversity. Photo: Simon Tanner

Pioneering projects are dynamic and full of challenges. Good teamwork is always crucial for success. Since the beginning of the year, SINGA founder Seraina Soldner and Tina Erb have shared the management of the factory. Instead of traditional leadership, they have a contemporary and courageous approach to management. The two explain in an interview how this works.

They could stand for the same development: the transformer hall on the Sihl and the young female entrepreneurs. In both cases, something old has been turned into something new. The factory has been given another life as the “Kraftwerk” (power station) for innovation. The two women have succeeded in establishing a new corporate culture within a few months in their organisation – networking people with refugee and migration backgrounds together with locals and preparing them for the start-up market.

“We are well on our way,” says Seraina Soldner, co-founder of the SINGA Factory. The autumn sun falls diagonally through the industrial windows, illuminating the shipping containers and wooden modules that serve as meeting and conference rooms.

“Sometimes, you should also be able to say: I’m not feeling well today.”

Seraina Soldner

Tina Erb nods affirmatively and lists some of the business ideas of her programme participants. There is the sustainable tourism project from Kyrgyzstan, where travellers live in yurts and make felt carpets. Or the Indian catering business with cooking courses. Since this cycle, ideas are also permitted that don’t have a direct link to the tech world. An expansion that fits the new team spirit.

Tina Erb and Seraina Soldner work for the vision of a society in which everyone can develop their potential. Photo: Simon Tanner

One of your most important credos is to meet the projects on equal terms. How did you apply that to yourselves?
T. E. We work in flat hierarchies and communicate non-violently.

Non-violently?
T. E. It’s a process developed by Marshall B. Rosenberg. We have learned to communicate according to its principles. And it really works: there is more happiness and trust in our daily work.

S. S. I feel the same way. You shouldn’t have to give up being human in the morning. Tina has contributed a completely new openness with this process. It’s not always easy to meet all needs, especially when pressure and workload levels are very high. But we want everyone to sometimes be able to say: I’m not feeling well today.

Do you have special rituals for this?
T. E. Quite a few, actually. For example, there is a “jour fixe”. And it goes like this: always in pairs, people from the team do something small together. Like going for a swim or an ice-cream. In emergencies you can postpone the meeting, but you can’t ever cancel it. The goal is to learn and get a feeling for each other. In addition, there is a confidentiality agreement about the content of the conversations. In this way, we were able to learn a lot from each other.

S. S. That is very important: not forgetting to look after yourself and the team during the hectic start-up routine. Especially when you work as closely with people as we do. A quick check-in before meetings started also proved very useful. Everyone tells us where they stand just now, how they are doing and then, as a way to transition into the meeting, they present a task for which they need support this week.

From the wide world to the Sihl: ideas are being developed in detail in the shipping containers. Photo: Simon Tanner

In an earlier interview, the Singa founders advised all young entrepreneurs and founders to hire a coach during the start-up phase. Yes. Despite the stress. Despite the pressure. Despite all the demands. Or to put it another way: that's exactly why. Because only once its foundation is strong can a company withstand storms later on. An investment that pays off. Even if you have to invest just a few weeks more.

Which topics were important to you?
T. E. We gave a lot of thought to management culture. After a survey, it quickly became clear: just “top-down” is not possible. I then noticed that a consultative management style is much more appropriate for me.

S. S. The feedback culture kept me very busy. This is essential for project-related work. However, it is often difficult to pass on one’s own concerns and impressions empathically and productively. One cannot simply avoid the difficult topics.

“Most importantly: looking for solutions together. ”

Tina Erb

What’s the perfect feedback?
T. E. You send an “I-message”. Actually always. Unless a serious reason justifies an exception. Then you have to explain what your observation is, what you decided and why. The right tone plays a decisive role here. And most importantly: looking for solutions together. In principle, feedback should be nothing more than a gift.

What advice do you have for other founders?
S. S. Nurture team spirit right from the start. Because it’s the driving force behind your company. Stay open, check your focus regularly. And again: use a coach. We also did a lot of co-funding work. Valuable support for this was provided by Jana Nevrika, who also just wrote a book on the subject.

The two SINGA founders are looking forward to new adventures. Photo: Simon Tanner

What was learned flowed not only into the team, but also into the project level at the SINGA Factory. This makes the 1:1 support for participants more intensive. Dedicated specialist coaches work together with SINGA exactly for this reason. The workshops, which are optional, have been moved outside office hours and to the evening. This lets everyone participate alongside other engagements. By the way: children are welcome. Coworking hours, where projects are driven forward in teams, are also becoming increasingly popular.

Aller au contenu principal
SINGA Factory

Bâtir sur des fondations solides

D’où sort l’innovation? De la diversité. Photo: Simon Tanner
D’où sort l’innovation? De la diversité. Photo: Simon Tanner

Les projets pionniers sont dynamiques et recèlent bien des défis. Pour les surmonter, il faut une bonne collaboration au sein de l’équipe. Depuis le début de l’année la fondatrice de SINGA Seraina Soldner partage la direction de la fabrique avec Tina Erb. Faisant fi du mode de leadership traditionnel, elles nous expliquent comment fonctionne leur approche moderne et courageuse dans un interview.

On dirait qu’elles ont suivi la même évolution: la salle des turbines de la Sihl et les deux jeunes entrepreneuses ont toutes trois fait du neuf avec du vieux: la fabrique a retrouvé une seconde existence comme «génératrice» d’innovation; quant aux deux jeunes femmes, elles ont réussi en quelques mois à établir une nouvelle culture d’entreprise au sein de leur organisation qui met en réseau des personnes réfugiées ou issues de la migration avec des gens de la région pour les aider à entrer sur le marché des start-up.

«Nous sommes bien parties», déclare Seraina Soldner, fondatrice de la SINGA Factory. Le soleil d’automne perce par les grandes fenêtres industrielles et éclaire les constructions faites de conteneurs maritimes et de modules en bois qui servent de salles de réunion.

«Il faut aussi parfois pouvoir dire: je ne vais pas bien aujourd’hui.»

Seraina Soldner

Tina Erb approuve de la tête et cite quelques idées commerciales des participants au programme. Il y a un projet de tourisme durable au Kirghizistan où les voyageurs dorment en yourte et réalisent des tapis en feutre, ou un service traiteur indien qui propose des cours de cuisine. Pour la première fois, le cycle comprend des idées qui ne sont pas directement liées à la scène technologique. Une ouverture qui convient bien au nouvel état d’esprit de l’équipe.

Tina Erb et Seraina Soldner travaillent en ayant à l’esprit la vision d’une société permettant à chacun de déployer son plein potentiel. Photo: Simon Tanner

L’un de vos crédos est de considérer que tous les projets se valent. Comment avez-vous appliqué cette vision à votre entreprise?
T. E. Nous misons sur des hiérarchies horizontales et pratiquons la communication non violente.

Non violente?
T. E. Il s’agit d’une méthode de communication élaborée par Marshall B. Rosenberg, que nous avons appris à utiliser au quotidien. Et ça marche vraiment: nous avons plus de satisfaction dans notre travail, et il règne un climat de confiance.

S. S. Je ressens la même chose. Il n’est pas nécessaire de laisser son humanité de côté tous les matins pour aller travailler. Tina nous a apporté une toute nouvelle ouverture avec cette méthode. Ce n’est pas toujours facile de prendre en compte tous les besoins, surtout quand il y a beaucoup de pression et de stress, mais nous voulons que chacun puisse dire «je ne vais pas bien aujourd’hui»!

Est-ce que vous avez mis en place des rituels spécifiques?
T. E. Quelques-uns. Il y a par exemple un «Jour fixe». Ce jour-là, deux membres de l’équipe entreprennent ensemble une petite activité. Cela peut être aller nager ou manger une glace, peu importe. La rencontre peut être reportée en cas d’urgence, mais en aucun cas annulée. L’objectif est d’apprendre à se connaître et créer une relation de confiance. Tout ce qui se dit lors de ce moment reste confidentiel. Cela permet d’apprendre à mieux se connaître.

S. S. C’est très important de ne pas s’oublier et de ne pas oublier l’équipe dans le quotidien souvent mouvementé d’une start-up, surtout lorsqu’on travaille dans une telle proximité avec les gens, comme c’est le cas chez nous. Un bref «check-in» avant les séances s’est aussi révélé très utile pour Tina et moi. Chacune raconte où elle en est, comment elle va, et pour faire la transition vers la séance proprement dite, partage une tâche pour laquelle elle a besoin d’aide durant la semaine.

Du grand large à la Sihl: les conteneurs maritimes servent maintenant d’espace où l’on brasse des idées. Photo: Simon Tanner

Dans une interview précédente, les fondatrices de SINGA conseillaient à tous les jeunes entrepreneurs et créateurs d’entreprise d’engager un coach pendant la phase de création, malgré le stress, la pression et les nombreuses sollicitations, ou plus exactement à cause de tout cela. Car ce n’est que si elle bâtit sur des fondations solides et bien établies qu’une entreprise peut résister aux tempêtes ultérieures. C’est un investissement qui en vaut la peine, même si cela demande du temps.

Quels thèmes vous ont paru importants dans cette démarche?
T. E. Nous avons beaucoup réfléchi à la culture de management. Un sondage nous a très vite permis de réaliser qu’une approche «top-down» ne fonctionnerait pas. J’ai ensuite remarqué qu’un style de direction consultatif me correspondait beaucoup plus.

S. S. La culture du feedback m’a beaucoup interpellée. Cette culture est indispensable lorsqu’on travaille sur la base de projets. Mais il est souvent difficile de transmettre ses demandes et ses impressions de façon empathique et productive. Il n’est tout simplement pas possible d’éviter les sujets épineux.

«Le plus important peut-être, c’est de chercher des solutions ensemble. Toujours.»

Tina Erb

Quel serait le feedback idéal?
T. E. Il faut toujours parler en «je». Les exceptions ne se justifient que dans les cas graves. Ensuite, il faut expliquer ce que l’on a observé, ce qui a été décidé et pourquoi. Le ton utilisé est primordial. Mais le plus important peut-être, c’est de chercher des solutions ensemble. Toujours. En principe, un feedback ne devrait être rien d’autre qu’un cadeau.

Quel conseil donneriez-vous aux autres créateurs d’entreprises?
S. S. Cultivez un bon esprit d’équipe dès le début. C’est le moteur de votre entreprise. Restez ouverts, vérifiez régulièrement vos priorités. Et encore une fois: accordez-vous les services d’un coach. Nous avons beaucoup travaillé avec le co-founding. Jana Nevrika, qui a écrit un livre sur le sujet, nous a beaucoup aidées là-dessus.

Les initiatrices de SINGA se réjouissent de se lancer dans de nouvelles aventures. Photo: Simon Tanner

A la SINGA Factory, ce n’est pas qu’au sein de l’équipe qu’on a appris des leçons, mais aussi au niveau des projets. Il y a par exemple plus de face-à-face individuels avec les participants. Des coachs spécialisés ont été engagés pour cela. Les ateliers auxquels il n’est pas obligatoire de participer ont été déplacés tôt le matin ou en soirée pour qu’il soit possible d’y participer sans pénaliser d’autres engagements. Et les enfants y sont les bienvenus. Les heures de coworking, qui permettent de faire avancer les projets en équipe, sont aussi de plus en plus appréciées.