Skip to main content
Schub – Social Cooperative Hub

Start-up aid for social entrepreneurship

Pioneering project SCHUB sets its sights on social entrepreneurship. Photo: Simon Tanner
Pioneering project SCHUB sets its sights on social entrepreneurship. Photo: Simon Tanner

In Switzerland, more and more start-ups are placing emphasis on social approaches to business. Until now, there have been no services to support this. This is where the pioneering project SCHUB – which means "push" or "impetus" in English – steps in with its innovation programme.

Nowadays, many entrepreneurs want more than simply to maximise profits – they want an economy that has society's best interests in mind. Alongside financial returns, social and environmental gains are key to these entrepreneurs. To support such companies, SENS, the platform for social entrepreneurship, has launched the pioneering project SCHUB in cooperation with Engagement Migros. 

 

"Cooperative companies are ideally placed to enshrine the requirements of social entrepreneurship into their legal framework."

Rahel Pfister

A push for social entrepreneurship 

SCHUB is focused on creating and expanding impact-oriented business models, with social entrepreneurship and the legal forms suited to this, such as cooperatives, taking centre stage. SCHUB is particularly keen to help young start-ups looking to set themselves up as social enterprises, offering assistance such as a mentoring programme, a social business toolbox and cross-industry networking opportunities.  

The objective of SCHUB is to inspire young companies and, in the truest sense of the project's name, to give them a "push", thus encouraging social entrepreneurship to take hold in Switzerland. "The more attention these companies receive, the more people will become familiar with social entrepreneurship. And the more familiar people are with social entrepreneurship, the more companies we will attract," says Stephanie Frick.

Committed to firmly establishing social entrepreneurship in the start-up scene: project founders Stephanie Frick and Raher Pfister. Photo: Simon Tanner

Behind SCHUB are Rahel Pfister, the Managing Director, and Stephanie Frick, Project Lead Startup and Innovation at CooperativeSuisse. Over the past few months, the mentoring programme was implemented for the first time and four cooperative start-ups were accompanied to their set-up phase thanks to the support of Engagement Migros. Here, the founders were coached in tandems by professionals from other cooperatives and social enterprises. "Switzerland is home to lots of great social entrepreneurs, but there is no meta-organisation bringing them together," says Frick. This is what she wants to change. The findings from the mentoring programme have been compiled into a toolbox that will be published later on, with the aim of providing guidance to other start-ups setting up a social enterprise. The toolbox contains support materials such as model statutes, coaching videos and podcasts on the topic. "Impact-oriented business models are in demand. Cooperatives are ideally placed to meet the requirements of social entrepreneurship, down to their legal framework." Rahel Pfister. You only have to look at the cooperatives from the mentoring programme to see the benefits of social entrepreneurship.

The project team even works in a cooperative building – in the Kalkbreite Cooperative in Zurich. Photo: Simon Tanner

More trust through common responsibility 

One of the start-ups being supported is Vita.Coop. The young business wants to make living wills accessible online with the help of smart contracts for patients, hospitals and doctors, using start-of-the-art encryption technologies such as blockchain. "We want to make patient data accessible quickly and securely, from any location," says Marcos Garcia Pedraza, founder and Managing Director of Vita.Coop. The key aims here are ensuring that living wills can be drawn up, managed and networked easily, whilst protecting patient data. For this, Vita.Coop has developed an online tool. "Our aim is also to ensure that living wills can be swiftly accessed from abroad," says Pedraza. 

Unlike many other start-ups in the health industry, Vita.Coop is organised in the form of a cooperative. "This means that our customers are also owners of the company. This gives them much greater control over what happens to their data," he says. Therefore, this eliminates the incentive to misuse the data, he continues. "We are not under pressure from third-party donors to monetise the data like other commercial companies." What's more, the cooperative creates an exciting network through which the members can support each other, he says.

Participating projects hail from all over Switzerland – and even more are on the horizon. Photo: Simon Tanner

Pushing ideas forward together 

The cooperative "Die Cuisine" has also opted for social entrepreneurship. "Die Cuisine" is an event space in Zurich spanning 600 square metres, featuring seminar rooms, a workshop and an event kitchen for hire. The cooperative has brought many young companies together, including catering service "Zum guten Heinrich", which focuses on sustainable cuisine. "We also use misshapen carrots that can't be sold in the supermarket," says Lukas Bühler, co-founder of "Zum guten Heinrich". Even transporting food to customers is done sustainably, with all food delivered using electric cargo bikes. "Die Cuisine" has allowed the catering service to expand its concept even further. "We want to promote sustainable eating there, too," says Bühler. 

"You don't have to win over third-party donors – instead you obtain funding from people who are also involved in the idea."

Lukas Bühler

To date, 40 companies are said to have each paid CHF 5,000 into the cooperative, relatively quickly generating enough start-up capital. "That's definitely one of the cooperative's advantages. You don't have to win over third-party donors – instead you obtain funding from people who are also involved in the idea." 

Bühler is also delighted with the support from SCHUB. "They've shown us which people we are inspiring with our idea and how we should approach them," says Bühler. He is also impressed with the network, which was created together with other participants. Now he is looking forward to the opening of "Die Cuisine" in April. "For us, climate change is real. We are committed to making a positive contribution to this issue with our sustainable concept."

Both project founders, together with their team, will continue to develop SCHUB over the coming months. Photo: Simon Tanner

Recognising the signs of the times

Linda Sulzer, project manager at Engagement Migros, is among those who are convinced that more and more young companies will start thinking about how they can have a positive social impact. "Those who have founded a start-up but who have not thought about social aspects have simply not cottoned on to the times we are living in," says Sulzer. SCHUB wants to raise awareness of such aspects among young companies who are just starting out. An evaluation is currently being carried out to determine ways to develop SCHUB's services further. "We hope we can inspire lots more young visionaries to turn their hand to social entrepreneurship," says Sulzer.

Aller au contenu principal

Informations COVID-19

Le coronavirus représente des défis totalement nouveaux pour nous tous. C’est pourquoi Engagement Migros accompagne individuellement les projets pionniers actuels et propose des solutions flexibles. Pour soutenir de nouveaux projets pionniers en rapport avec les axes prioritaires d’Engagement Migros rapidement et sans formalités excessives, nous avons adapté nos procédures de sélection. Pour des mesures d’assistance immédiate et en vue d’assurer la subsistance, nous renvoyons aux points d’information de la Confédération, de la fondation suisse pour la culture Pro Helvetia et de l’organisation faîtière SwissFoundations.
Schub – Social Cooperative Hub

Aide au démarrage pour l’entrepreneuriat social

Le projet pionnier SCHUB est axé sur l’entrepreneuriat social. (Photo: Simon Tanner)
Le projet pionnier SCHUB est axé sur l’entrepreneuriat social. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

En Suisse, de plus en plus de start-ups se concentrent sur l’économie sociale. Jusqu’à présent, il manquait cependant une offre capable de soutenir cette démarche. C’est là qu’intervient le projet pionnier SCHUB – avec un programme d’innovation.

Aujourd’hui, entrepreneuses et entrepreneurs sont nombreux à vouloir réaliser davantage que des bénéfices matériels. Leur souhait est de mettre l’économie au service de la société. C’est pour cela qu’outre le rendement financier, le rendement social et écologique est également important pour eux. Pour soutenir ces entreprises, SENS, plate-forme pour l’entrepreneuriat social, lance, avec le soutien d’Engagement Migros, le projet pionnier SCHUB. 

«Les coopératives sont bien adaptées pour intégrer les exigences du Social Entrepreneurship dans le cadre juridique.»

Rahel Pfister

Un coup de pouce pour l’entrepreneuriat social 

SCHUB s’engage à développer et à étendre des modèles d’affaires axés sur l’efficacité. L’aspect central est l’entrepreneuriat social et les formes juridiques appropriées telles que la coopérative. SCHUB accorde une attention particulière aux start-ups qui veulent se positionner en tant qu’entreprises sociales. Le projet met notamment à la disposition de ces dernières un programme de mentorat, une boîte à outils «Social Business» et des possibilités de réseautage intersectoriel.  

L’objectif de SCHUB est d’inspirer les jeunes entreprises et de leur donner un coup de pouce («Schub») au sens propre du terme, afin que l’entrepreneuriat social puisse s’établir en Suisse. «Plus ces entreprises reçoivent d’attention, plus la notoriété de l’entrepreneuriat social grandira. Et plus l’entrepreneuriat social sera connu, plus il attirera d’entreprises», déclare Stephanie Frick. 

Les fondatrices du projet, Stephanie Frick et Rahel Pfister, veulent ancrer l’entrepreneuriat social dans le paysage des start-ups. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

Rahel Pfister, directrice, et Stephanie Frick, cheffe du secteur Startup & Innovation de CooperativeSuisse, sont responsables de l’implémentation de SCHUB. Ces derniers mois, grâce au soutien d’Engagement Migros, le programme de mentorat a été mis en œuvre pour la première fois et quatre start-ups coopératives ont été soutenues dans leur phase de démarrage. Les fondateurs et fondatrices ont été coaché(e)s en «tandem» par des professionnels d’autres coopératives et entreprises sociales. «Il y a beaucoup de grands entrepreneurs sociaux en Suisse, mais il n’y a encore aucune métaorganisation pour les rassembler», relève Stephanie Frick. Cela doit changer. Répertoriés dans une boîte à outils destinée à aider d’autres start-ups à s’orienter dans la création d’une entreprise sociale, les résultats du programme de mentorat seront publiés ultérieurement. On y trouve notamment des exemples de statuts, des vidéos de coaching et des podcasts sur le sujet. «Les modèles d’affaires orientés sur l’efficacité sont requis. Les coopératives sont bien adaptées pour intégrer les exigences du Social Entrepreneurship dans le cadre juridique», explique Rahel Pfister. Un regard sur les coopératives du programme de mentorat permet également de comprendre les avantages de l’entrepreneuriat social.

L’équipe de projet elle-même travaille dans le bâtiment d’une coopérative dans la Kalkbreite de Zurich. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

Plus de confiance grâce au partage des responsabilités 

L’une des start-ups soutenues est Vita.Coop. L’objectif de cette jeune entreprise est de rendre les directives anticipées accessibles en ligne pour les patients, les hôpitaux et les médecins au moyen de Smart Contracts. Pour ce faire, elle utilise les technologies de cryptage les plus modernes telles que les blockchain. «Nous voulons traiter les données des patients afin qu’elles puissent être accessibles n’importe où, rapidement et en toute sécurité», déclare Marcos Garcia Pedraza, fondateur et directeur. Il est important que les directives anticipées puissent être facilement générées, gérées et mises en réseau et que la protection des données soit garantie. Vita.Coop a développé un outil en ligne à cet effet. «Notre objectif est également de faciliter l’accès aux directives anticipées depuis l’étranger», explique Marcos Garcia Pedraza. 

Contrairement à de nombreuses autres start-ups du secteur de la santé, Vita.Coop est organisée sous forme de coopérative. «Chez nous, les clients sont aussi les propriétaires de l’entreprise. Ils ont ainsi beaucoup plus d’influence sur leurs données», relève-t-il. La tentation d’utiliser abusivement les données n’existe donc pas. «Nous ne sommes pas, comme d’autres sociétés de capitaux, sous la pression de financiers extérieurs pour monétiser les données.» En outre, la coopérative représente un réseau passionnant où les membres peuvent se soutenir mutuellement. 

Les projets participants sont répartis dans toute la Suisse – et d’autres devraient suivre. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

Promouvoir les idées ensemble 

La coopérative «Die Cuisine» a également opté pour l’entrepreneuriat social. Le concept: «Die Cuisine» est un lieu événementiel de 600 mètres carrés situé à Zurich. Les entreprises peuvent y louer des salles de séminaires, un atelier et une cuisine événementielle. Plusieurs jeunes entreprises se sont regroupées au sein de la coopérative. L’une d’elles est le service de restauration «Zum guten Heinrich» qui mise sur la cuisine durable. «Nous utilisons également des carottes tordues, qui ne peuvent pas être vendues dans le magasin tel quel», déclare Lukas Bühler, cofondateur de «Zum guten Heinrich». Le transport vers le client est également respectueux de l’environnement, puisque les aliments sont livrés par des E-Cargobikes. Avec «Die Cuisine», le concept a été élargi. «Là aussi, nous voulons mettre l’accent sur l’alimentation durable», déclare Lukas Bühler. 

«On n’a pas à convaincre les financiers extérieurs, on obtient l’argent de ceux-là mêmes qui sont impliqués dans l’idée.»

Lukas Bühler

Jusqu’à présent, quarante entreprises ont versé 5000 francs chacune dans la coopérative. Il a ainsi été possible de rassembler relativement rapidement un capital de départ. «C’est un avantage certain de la coopérative. On n’a pas à convaincre les financiers extérieurs, on obtient l’argent de ceux-là mêmes qui sont impliqués dans l’idée.» 

Lukas Bühler se montre également enthousiaste à l’idée de promouvoir SCHUB. «Ils nous ont notamment montré quelles personnes nous devrions convaincre de notre idée et comment nous devrions les aborder», ajoute Lukas Bühler. Le réseau qui a été créé avec d’autres participants est également passionnant. On attend maintenant avec impatience l’ouverture de «Die Cuisine» en avril. «Pour nous, le changement climatique est réel. Notre motivation est de pouvoir apporter quelque chose de positif avec notre concept de durabilité.»

Les deux fondatrices du projet, ainsi que leur équipe, continueront à développer SCHUB dans les mois à venir. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

Reconnaître les signes des temps

Linda Sulzer, responsable de projet d’Engagement Migros, pense aussi qu’à l’avenir de plus en plus de jeunes entreprises réfléchiront à l’impact social positif qu’elles souhaitent avoir. «Quiconque fonde une start-up aujourd’hui et ne prend pas en compte les aspects sociaux ne reconnaît pas les signes du temps», affirme Sulzer. SCHUB souhaite sensibiliser les jeunes entreprises à ces aspects dès leur création. Une évaluation est en cours pour savoir comment développer l’offre de SCHUB de manière plus concrète. «Nous espérons que ne de nombreux autres jeunes visionnaires seront inspirés par l’entrepreneuriat social», conclut Linda Sulzer.