Skip to main content
OFFCUT Switzerland

On tour with upcyclers

High-quality materials can be used longer thanks to materials markets for creative people. Photo: Simon Tanner
High-quality materials can be used longer thanks to materials markets for creative people. Photo: Simon Tanner

Pharmacy glass, chalk, lampshades: the OFFCUT pioneering project gives used raw materials a second life. But how does implementing the intention to fund such an endeavour work in everyday life? Since news of the project got around, the upcyclers Silvan Kuhl and Volker Schnarrenberger have had to refuse a donation once or twice. The two also explain why a doll is just a doll, but a doll’s leg is almost art.

Last autumn in Basel, Volker Schnarrenberger stood in front of the kind of mouth-blown glass panes that are used in church windows. The glass shone in all colours, symbolising craftsmanship at the highest level. A glass factory had closed down and now there were still these panes that would never decorate a church. A shame for them to end up in the bin. That’s why they contacted OFFCUT, the materials market that gives things a second life. The first store was opened in Basel in 2013. A project that, in the midst of a throwaway society, battles against the fact that once used, high-quality materials are already at the end of their life cycle.

They fill the warehouse of the pioneering project: the upcyclers Silvan Kuhl and Volker Schnarrenberger. Photo: Simon Tanner

In Zurich, a collective of creative minds opened a second store a year ago, which, like the one in Basel, is a paradise for hobbyists, artists and creative people. A place that inspires and motivates to make something new out of things that are old, used and at first sight sometimes worthless. It’s called upcycling.

And so Schnarrenberger, a trained technical model maker who is studying to be a primary teacher, stood in front of those square meters of glass and took a few of them with him. He couldn’t save everything for posterity. Which is unfortunate, he says today. He often has to leave things behind. Because glass panes are something for connoisseurs and experts who know how to handle glass. Which is not true for the majority of people. But nevertheless: some of these pieces of mouth-blown coloured glass are now in Basel and Zurich.

The second upcycler also works here. Silvan Kuhl is a scenographer and the co-founder of OFFCUT Zurich. He offers a tour of the shop on the former SBB railway yard in Zurich Altstetten. At the front there is a big table where visitors can drink coffee or sometimes even make something, under the light of white lampshade frames. Recently, Matthias Wehle, who is responsible for materials procurement in Zurich together with Kuhl, collected a donation of materials that were almost historical from a lamp factory. Right behind those are the bales of fabric from which the factory made its lampshades. Some of them with silk, which is quite expensive if you buy them retail. Here a meter costs a few francs.

A doll is just a doll, but doll arms and legs can be made into works of art. Photo: Simon Tanner

One aisle farther down: doll arms, doll legs, doll heads, spare parts, all individual pieces. Why have they been dismantled, why haven’t they been put together into whole dolls? Kuhl and Schnarrenberger look at each other. This is a question they always ask themselves when they decide whether something belongs in the OFFCUT materials market. A doll is just a doll, says Kuhl. But a single doll’s leg, for example, could become a component of a work of art or a decorative piece. Or it might replace the missing leg of another doll to make it whole again. Kuhl adds: “In principle it’s quite simple. We don’t take chairs. But we do find four chair legs interesting.” Something new can emerge from this. Whether it’s a new chair, a table on legs or something else, it’s entirely left to creativity.

“Sometimes we experience very emotional moments.”

Silvan Kuhl

This question guides the two upcyclers in their work: does it have any creative potential? If so, accept it. If not, then don’t. In Zurich and Basel, the materials are sorted, given away and labelled among others by volunteers who support the project.

The tour continues, passing by paper from the studio of a deceased artist. Some sheets of paper were handmade in Japan. For the artist’s children, who cleared out her studio, it was important the paper didn’t end up in the trash. “Sometimes we experience very emotional moments,” says Kuhl. And not infrequently people thank the two for giving materials the chance to end up with other fans of the project.

For many artists and fans of the project it is important that old materials don’t end up in the bin. Photo: Simon Tanner

OFFCUT is a place for people who love materials, handicrafts and quality. In this small space, they can find things they would otherwise have to look for in many different specialist shops, or to which private individuals normally have no access at all.

Just like these pharmacy bottles and laboratory glassware, which the upcyclers show us during our visit. They come from the Pharmacy Museum Basel, which closed a section of its collection and sold the rare items after an employee retired. These are delicate products that aren’t recyclable, but are sold at OFFCUT. Who buys all these things? “Our clientele,” says Schnarrenberger, “is a cross-section of society. They include men in suits and women in business clothes, while at the same time labourers in blue overalls are in the shop getting a sheet of wood.” These are located at the back of the shop and often come from exhibitions or film sets. The location in Zurich in particular closely networks with the creative industry. Five people from the cultural and creative sector built up this shop according to the Basel model.

Rarely does anyone leave the materials market empty-handed. Photo: Simon Tanner

There is always more than enough wood in Zurich, as well as cardboard and foam remnants, which both materials markets can collect free of charge from a mattress factory whenever they want. A few months ago, Schnarrenberger simply contacted the company on the phone at random because the demand for foam was growing all the time. Their uncomplicated collaboration has existed ever since.

The two teams in Zurich and Basel coordinate, exchanging ideas and complementing each other. OFFCUT also offers news on its website about what’s available in the shops. What the stores aren’t accepting anymore right now: office supplies such as files and folders. For a while they were almost flooded with them, and they want to give the valuable space to raw materials with more creative potential.

“The great thing is that people come to us with ideas.”

Volker Schnarrenberger

Word has got around that the pioneering project receives or collects both rare items and things for everyday use. Social media has helped to build a community. But it’s mainly word-of-mouth propaganda that’s been responsible for the materials markets becoming known in their targeted circles. Good organisation, an appealing presentation and an original and diverse range of products are the reasons why customers are so enthusiastic. And those who are enthusiastic tell others about it.

Usually the materials find OFFCUT: wood is abundant. Photo: Simon Tanner

It’s mainly institutions such as museums or theatres, decoration and textile companies or DIY stores that contact OFFCUT and donate their materials. But private persons also clear their attics and bring their art and handicraft supplies to OFFCUT. Schnarrenberger says they explain that they no longer need their own storage, since there is now a materials market. “The great thing is that people don't come to us with a fixed notion of which product they want, but with an idea.” This then becomes more concrete during their visit – also as they talk with the staff. “Rarely does anyone leave our shops empty-handed,” he says.

Detectives on the lookout for materials agree: in Switzerland there are enough materials to fill many OFFCUT markets. Photo: Simon Tanner

“Today, the materials mostly find us and not the other way around.” As opposed to in the beginning, the two upcyclers hardly make active acquisitions anymore. They often don't have the time, says Schnarrenberger. “Because an email isn't enough.” You have to go by, inspect the goods, discuss the quantity and time of collection. “A lot of people want us to come right away. But we simply don't have the capacity.” Many companies, Kuhl adds, also want them to take away a minimum quantity. This is difficult because OFFCUT has no warehouse.

And the two upcyclers are convinced: in Switzerland there are enough high-quality materials to fill many materials markets. OFFCUT is working on this vision with the support of Engagement Migros.

Aller au contenu principal
OFFCUT Suisse

En tournée avec les champions de la récupération

Du matériel de qualité utilisé plus longtemps grâce aux magasins de matériel pour les créateurs. Photo: Simon Tanner
Du matériel de qualité utilisé plus longtemps grâce aux magasins de matériel pour les créateurs. Photo: Simon Tanner

Flacons de pharmacie, craie, abat-jour: le projet pionnier OFFCUT offre une seconde vie aux matières usagées. Mais concrètement, comment se passe l’approvisionnement au quotidien? Maintenant que le projet est connu, les champions de la récupération que sont Silvan Kuhl et Volker Schnarrenberger doivent parfois refuser des dons. Ils nous expliquent aussi pourquoi une poupée n’est qu’une poupée, alors qu’une jambe de poupée s’apparente déjà presque à de l’art.

L’automne dernier à Bâle, Volker Schnarrenberger s’est retrouvé devant des plaques de verre de toutes les couleurs, soufflé à la bouche, utilisées dans la réalisation de vitraux. De l’artisanat de grande qualité. La verrerie en question ayant dû fermer boutique, ces vitraux qui n’orneraient jamais d’église restaient à liquider. Trop précieux pour la décharge. On a donc contacté OFFCUT, le magasin de matériel qui donne une nouvelle vie aux objets. Le premier magasin a ouvert à Bâle en 2013. Un projet qui, au cœur de la société du tout à jeter actuelle, lutte pour que les matières de qualité n’arrivent pas au terme de leur cycle de vie après une seule utilisation.

Silvan Kuhl et Volker Schnarrenberger: les champions de la récupération chargés d’approvisionner les magasins du projet pionnier. Photo: Simon Tanner

Il y a un an, un collectif d’esprits créatifs a ouvert un deuxième magasin à Zurich, comme à Bâle véritable paradis pour les bricoleurs, les artistes et les créateurs. Un lieu source d’inspiration pour faire du neuf avec du matériel vieux, usagé ou paraissant inutile au premier abord. Cela s’appelle l’upcycling. Volker Schnarrenberger, modeleur technique de formation et instituteur en formation, se retrouve donc devant cet amoncellement de verre et en ramène une partie avec lui, ne pouvant pas tout sauver pour la postérité. Hélas, se dit-il à présent. Il n’est pas rare qu’il doive laisser de la marchandise sur place. Dans le cas de ces panneaux, seuls les connaisseurs et les experts savent manipuler le verre, et ils ne sont pas pléthores. Toujours est-il que quelques-unes de ces plaques sont désormais disponibles à Bâle et à Zurich.

C’est d’ailleurs à Zurich que travaille notre deuxième as de la récupération: Silvan Kuhl est scénographe et cofondateur d’OFFCUT Zurich. Il nous pilote à travers le magasin installé sur le site des anciens ateliers CFF à Zurich Altstetten. À l’entrée, à la lumière provenant d’une armature d’abat-jour blanche, trône une grande table où les visiteurs peuvent boire un café ou parfois même bricoler. Il y a quelque temps, son collègue Matthias Wehle a pu récupérer un véritable trésor dans une fabrique de lampes: armatures d’abat-jour de toutes sortes, rouleaux de tissus destinés à les habiller, dont de la soie passablement chère dans le commerce, vendue seulement quelques francs le mètre ici.

Une poupée n’est qu’une poupée, mais un bras ou une jambe de poupée peut se transformer en œuvre d’art. Photo: Simon Tanner

Une allée plus loin: des bras, des jambes et des têtes de poupées, des pièces de rechange, toutes triées. Pourquoi les avoir démembrées? Silvan Kuhl et Volker Schnarrenberger se regardent: c’est souvent qu’ils se demandent si le matériel qu’ils ramènent a bien sa place dans les locaux d’OFFCUT. Une poupée n’est qu’une poupée, selon Silvan Kuhl, mais une jambe de poupée peut par exemple devenir un élément d’une œuvre d’art ou d’une décoration, ou remplacer le membre absent d’une autre poupée. «En principe, c’est simple: une chaise ne nous intéresse pas forcément, tandis que quatre pieds de chaise...» Il est possible d’en refaire du neuf: une nouvelle chaise, une table ou autre; tout est une question de créativité.

«Nous vivons parfois des moments très émouvants.»

Silvan Kuhl

Est-ce que cet objet a un potentiel créatif? C’est la question qui sous-tend le travail de nos fins limiers. Si la réponse est oui, ils embarquent la marchandise, sinon tant pis. Le matériel est ensuite trié, rangé et étiqueté à Zurich et à Bâle, entre autres par des volontaires qui soutiennent le projet.

Nous continuons notre visite et découvrons du papier récupéré au décès d’une artiste. Certaines feuilles ont été faites main au Japon. Pour les enfants de cette dame, qui s’étaient chargés de vider son atelier, il était important que tout ce matériel ne finisse pas à la poubelle. «Nous vivons parfois des moments très émouvants», déclare Silvan Kuhl. Il n’est d'ailleurs pas rare que les gens le remercient de permettre à d’autres amateurs de profiter de ce matériel.

Pour de nombreux artistes ou amateurs, il est important que leur ancien matériel ne finisse pas à la poubelle. Photo: Simon Tanner

Car OFFCUT est aussi un endroit pour les gens qui aiment les beaux objets, l’artisanat et la qualité. Ici, ils trouvent sur un petit espace tout un tas de choses sans avoir à courir d’un magasin spécialisé à l’autre, si tant est qu’ils puissent y avoir accès en tant que particuliers.

Comme ces flacons de pharmacie et ces tubes à essai devant lesquels nous passons maintenant. Ils proviennent du musée de la pharmacie de Bâle, qui a fermé une partie de sa collection et s’est débarrassé de ses raretés après le départ à la retraite d’une collaboratrice. Des objets délicats qui ne sont pas recyclables, mais qui pourront être vendus chez OFFCUT. Qui achète tout ce matériel? «Nos clients appartiennent à toutes les couches de la société. On voit des messieurs en costume ou des dames en tailleur, tout comme des artisans en salopette qui repartent avec un panneau en bois», explique Volker Schnarrenberger. Le bois se trouve tout au fond du magasin; il provient souvent d’expositions ou de plateaux de cinéma. C’est que le site de Zurich entretient un lien étroit avec ce milieu. C’est d’ailleurs à cinq créatifs de la scène culturelle et créative zurichoise que l’on doit l’ouverture du magasin OFFCUT de Zurich sur le modèle de celui de Bâle.

Il est rare que quelqu’un quitte le magasin les mains vides. Photo: Simon Tanner

À Zurich, il y a du bois tant qu’on en veut, tout comme du carton ou des restes de matériaux mousse, que les deux magasins peuvent aller chercher gratuitement à volonté chez un fabricant de matelas. Il y a quelques mois, Volker Schnarrenberger leur avait passé un coup de fil pour un conseil, la demande de mousse devenant de plus en plus grande. Ce fut le début d’une coopération en toute simplicité.

Les deux équipes de Zurich et de Bâle se concertent, échangent et se complètent. OFFCUT publie les nouveautés disponibles en magasin sur son site Internet. En ce moment, les locaux croulent sous les fournitures de bureau, classeurs et chemises transparentes. Ils n’en acceptent donc plus pour le moment. C’est qu’il s’agit de garder de la place pour des matières à plus fort potentiel créatif.

 

«Ce qui est fantastique, c’est de voir venir des gens avec une idée en tête.»

Volker Schnarrenberger

Le bruit s’est répandu que le projet reçoit ou collecte des objets rares ou du matériel utile. Les médias sociaux ont contribué à créer une communauté, mais c’est surtout le bouche-à-oreille qui a fait connaître les magasins auprès des milieux concernés. La bonne organisation, l’attractivité de la présentation, l’originalité et la diversité de l’assortiment suscitent l’enthousiasme des clients, qui à leur tour parlent du projet autour d’eux.

La plupart du temps, c’est le matériel qui trouve OFFCUT: profusion de bois. Photo: Simon Tanner

Ce sont des institutions comme des musées ou des théâtres, des entreprises de décoration et de textile ou des artisans qui s’adressent à OFFCUT pour leur donner du matériel. Mais il y a aussi des particuliers qui leur apportent du matériel d’art ou de bricolage trouvé en faisant de l’ordre dans leur galetas. Pour la simple et bonne raison qu’ils n’ont plus besoin de les stocker eux-mêmes du fait de l’existence du magasin, estime Schnarrenberger. «Ce qui est fantastique, c’est que les gens ne viennent pas nous voir avec une image bien précise de ce qu’ils cherchent, mais avec juste une idée.» Laquelle va prendre forme au cours de leur visite et en discutant avec le personnel. «Il est rare que quelqu’un quitte nos locaux les mains vides», se réjouit-il.

Les fins limiers à la chasse au matériel sont unanimes: on trouve en Suisse suffisamment de matériel pour approvisionner beaucoup de magasins OFFCUT. Photo: Simon Tanner

Actuellement, c’est le matériel qui trouve le magasin et pas l’inverse. Contrairement aux débuts, les deux responsables de l’approvisionnement ne font plus activement d’acquisitions. C’est qu’ils n’ont plus le temps: «Il faut plus qu’un e-mail pour conclure une affaire», explique Volker Schnarrenberger. Il faut se déplacer, vérifier la marchandise, discuter des quantités et de la date à laquelle la récupérer. «Beaucoup de gens veulent que nous venions tout de suite, mais nous n’avons tout simplement pas les ressources nécessaires.» Silvan Kuhl ajoute que les entreprises désirent en général qu’ils prennent une quantité minimum, ce qui est difficile du fait qu’OFFCUT ne dispose pas d’entrepôts de stockage.

Cela dit, nos deux as de la récupération en sont convaincus: la Suisse regorge de matériel de qualité, assez pour approvisionner encore quelques magasins comme les leurs. C’est à cette vision que travaille OFFCUT avec le soutien d’Engagement Migros.