Skip to main content
filmo

New life for old movies

Nowadays, films are not only watched in cinemas, but increasingly also at home on video-on-demand platforms. However, up to now Swiss film classics have rarely been available there. This will change thanks to the filmo project, which is made possible by Engagement Migros. In June, an online edition of many Swiss films will be launched for the first time, making them accessible to a younger audience. But until these classics can be shown on Teleclub or iTunes, they have to be digitised. A process that can take up to one year per film.

Anyone who wants to watch a film at home will also be able to buy or rent Swiss film classics starting on 6 June. As of that date, the first ten Swiss film treasures from a growing edition will be prominently displayed on the video-on-demand platforms Teleclub, iTunes, cinefile, leKino, UPC and Sky. These include films such as “Das Boot ist voll” by Markus Imhoof and the Swiss refugee drama “Die letzte Chance” from 1945. Thanks to the filmo project, some are available for the first time in a new HD streaming quality. But these classics have overcome numerous hurdles, coming a long way from resting like Sleeping Beauty in film archives to their appearance on streaming platforms.
 

Elaborate preparatory work

The selection of films alone is not easy for filmo. Independent curators – including film editors, scholars, historians and festival directors – individually select each of their ten favourite Swiss film classics. They are defined as films more than ten years old that have cultural, historical or formally aesthetic significance to Switzerland’s film heritage. For each film, the experts write a brief justification as to why it should be shown to the general public. This reasoning will also be available on the filmo.ch website. In this way, the viewer can understand why a film is worth discovering and why it is important to Swiss film history.

Start with ten Swiss movie classics

filmo is an initiative of the CH.Film association, realised by the Solothurn Film Festival and made possible by Engagement Migros, the Migros Group’s development fund. filmo is launching the first online edition of Swiss films, giving key works from Switzerland’s film heritage more digital visibility. On 6 June, Swiss film classics will appear for the first time on the video-on-demand platforms Teleclub On Demand (Swisscom TV), iTunes, Apple TVcinefile, leKino, UPC and Sky. The films will be highlighted when they are released, and can be rented or purchased. In the long term, a curated library of Swiss films will be created on these platforms.

Each image is checked individually during restoration. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

Each image is checked individually during restoration. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

Every year new experts are asked to select ten classics from Swiss film history for inclusion in the online edition. In the meantime, a list with a total of 80 films has been created, which are continuously processed and added to planning by project management. Some of the films mentioned have already been digitised and published, but others have disappeared off the grid. The latter must first be completely digitised before they can even be made accessible to viewers. However, before even a single minute can be digitised, the original recordings must first be found. “On average, I research one month per film for this,” says Florian Leupin, project manager at filmo. This includes locating the films in the Cinémathèque suisse archive in Lausanne or from private individuals. Once Leupin has found the film, the filmmakers or rights holders must give their consent to the digitisation. “Most people are happy that someone is finally taking this on,” says Leupin. After all, it is not uncommon for older films to be saved from decay through digitisation.

“We take a close look at each of the 135,000 frames.”

Nicole T. Allemann, cinegrell

“Storing celluloid film rolls for many years can cause problems like mould,” says film restorer Nicole T. Allemann of cinegrell, the company responsible for preparing the classics. However, the fungus can be killed with a special agent, which stops further growth. Also the brittle residue of adhesive tape used to glue the film rolls together often have to be removed, or scratches on the film itself have to be repaired. “A film can consist of up to 135,000 frames. We take a close look at every single image,” says Allemann.

“Our main focus is on bringing the films to the general public – digitisation is ‘only’ a means to an end,” says Project Manager Florian Leupin. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

“Our main focus is on bringing the films to the general public – digitisation is ‘only’ a means to an end,” says Project Manager Florian Leupin. (Photo: Simon Tanner) 

Thanks to modern software, it’s possible to get a lot out of the old films digitally, but you have to be careful not to do too much. “We must adhere strictly to ethical restoration rules. This means that we try to stay as close to the original as possible,” says Allemann. For example, if a scene is out of focus, it will not be sharpened, even if this is technically possible. “Except if the filmmaker explicitly wants this,” adds Leupin. Some would have liked to shoot scenes differently, but were technically limited. “Now they’re happy they can fix that,” says Leupin. In addition to the picture, the sound must also be brought up to date. For example, mono tracks become stereo tracks. In addition, each film is supplemented with subtitles, because filmo also offers all films subtitled in German, French and Italian.

The process can take up to a whole year, from the selection of the film to its publication on streaming platforms. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

The process can take up to a whole year, from the selection of the film to its publication on streaming platforms. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

To ensure that the films are shown to their best advantage on the video-on-demand platforms, a short trailer is produced separately for each film. “Some films didn’t have a trailer at all back then, or one that was five to six minutes long, which is far too long for today,” says Leupin. In order to meet the viewing habits of today’s audience, the project makes a point of working together with young Swiss filmmakers for the trailers.
 

Goodwill from the industry

The selection, the research, the digitisation, the creation of the trailers – all of this is complex work. The process can take up to a whole year, from the selection of the film to its publication on the streaming platform, where the films can either be rented or purchased. filmo receives only a tiny portion of the income. “It’s more of a symbolic amount,” says Leupin. “It is important to us that a large part of the revenues flow back to the film rights owners or filmmakers.” At the beginning of the project, some in the Swiss film scene were afraid that the films would be made available free of charge on the platforms. “That’s why we had to offer a few more details. Now the project is meeting with goodwill,” says Leupin.

A light touch is needed: restoration and digitisation must be carried out with great care so as not to damage the fragile film material. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

A light touch is needed: restoration and digitisation must be carried out with great care so as not to damage the fragile film material. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

Despite the revenues, there should be no illusions that filmo will ever cover its costs. The restoration and digitisation of the films is far too expensive. Therefore, the project is dependent on financial support from Engagement Migros. “We think it is important that Switzerland’s cultural film heritage be preserved,” says Britta Friedrich, project manager of Engagement Migros, explaining its support. Even though some of the films are decades old, they are often still topical and have value. “But preparation and preservation are not an end in themselves: our primary concern is to ensure that the films can be seen again,” says Friedrich. And for that, they need to get back on the radar. The project also aims to stimulate demand, especially among a younger audience, and to bring Swiss film out of its niche existence. Leupin adds: “Our main focus is on reviving the films, i.e. bringing them to the general public – digitisation is only a means to an end.”

“Each selected classic conveys a message that is timeless.”

Florian Leupin, filmo

Friedrich is well aware that wanting to see these films is not inherent in everyone. “That is why short texts by experts on each film are essential. They help younger viewers open themselves up to the films,” says Friedrich. Leupin also believes that older Swiss films in particular have lost none of their topicality. “Each selected classic conveys a message that is timeless. It would be a pity if it were lost and not made available to today’s generation.”

Aller au contenu principal
filmo

Une nouvelle vie pour de vieux films

Aujourd’hui, on ne regarde plus seulement les films au cinéma, mais de plus en plus à la maison, sur des plateformes de vidéo à la demande. Or les classiques du cinéma suisse ne sont guère disponibles sur ce genre de services. C’est sur le point de changer grâce au projet filmo soutenu par Engagement Migros. Une toute première édition en ligne du cinéma suisse sera lancée en juin, le rendant ainsi accessible à un jeune public. Mais ces perles cinématographiques doivent être numérisées pour pouvoir être diffusées sur Teleclub ou iTunes. Un processus qui peut durer jusqu’à un an par film.

 

À partir du 6 juin, les classiques du cinéma suisse seront disponibles à la vente ou à la location depuis la maison. Les dix premières perles cinématographiques suisses d’une édition en pleine expansion seront alors présentées bien en vue sur les plateformes de vidéo à la demande de Teleclub, iTunes, cinefile, leKino, UPC et Sky. Parmi elles, des films comme «La barque est pleine» de Markus Imhoof ou «La Dernière Chance», palme d’or à Cannes en 1946. Grâce au projet filmo, ce sera la première fois que certains films seront disponibles en streaming en qualité HD. Pourtant, de nombreux obstacles se sont dressés sur le long chemin qu’ils ont parcouru entre les archives du cinéma suisse, où ils étaient plongés dans un profond sommeil, et les plateformes de streaming.
 

De gros travaux de préparation

Rien que la sélection des films n’a pas été une sinécure pour filmo. Des curateurs indépendants – parmi lesquels des critiques de cinéma, des spécialistes et des historiens du cinéma ou des directeurs de festivals de films – ont chacun sélectionné dix de leurs classiques préférés du cinéma suisse. Il devait s’agir de films sortis il y a plus de dix ans et qui ont un intérêt culturel, historique ou esthétique pour le patrimoine cinématographique. Pour chaque film, les experts ont rédigé une brève note expliquant pourquoi ce film devait être présenté au grand public. Ces explications, que l’on peut retrouver sur le site Web filmo.ch, permettent aux spectateurs de comprendre pourquoi ce film mérite d’être découvert et pourquoi il est important dans l’histoire du cinéma suisse.

Dix classiques du cinéma suisse pour commencer

filmo est une initiative de l’association CH.Film, réalisée par les Journées de Soleure et rendue possible grâce à Engagement Migros, le fonds de soutien du groupe Migros. La première édition en ligne du cinéma suisse filmo a donc été lancée, elle donnera une meilleure visibilité aux classiques du cinéma dans l’espace numérique. Le 6 juin, les œuvres-clés du cinéma suisse seront disponibles sur les plateformes de vidéo à la demande Teleclub On Demand (Swisscom TV), iTunes, Apple TVcinefile, leKino, UPC et Sky. À leur sortie, elles figureront sur la liste des films à voir absolument et pourront être louées ou achetées. À terme, ces plateformes intégreront toute une bibliothèque de films suisses.

Chaque image est vérifiée individuellement lors de la restauration. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

Chaque image est vérifiée individuellement lors de la restauration. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

Chaque année, de nouveaux experts seront priés de choisir dix œuvres-clés de l’histoire du cinéma suisse qui seront ajoutées à l’édition. Il en résulte pour le moment une liste de 80 films qui sont en cours de transcription et d’incorporation par la direction du projet. Certains des films qui figurent sur cette liste ont déjà été numérisés et publiés. D’autres ont totalement disparu de la scène: ils doivent d’abord être entièrement numérisés avant de pouvoir être visionnés par les spectateurs, sans parler du fait qu’il faut parfois commencer par retrouver les enregistrements originaux. «En moyenne, il me faut un mois de recherche pour chaque film concerné», explique Florian Leupin, chef de projet de filmo. Cela implique de localiser les films dans les archives de la Cinémathèque suisse à Lausanne ou chez des particuliers. Une fois le film retrouvé, il faut encore que le réalisateur ou le détenteur des droits donne son autorisation pour la numérisation. «La plupart des gens se réjouissent que quelqu’un prenne les choses en main», déclare-t-il. Après tout, il n’est pas rare que la numérisation permette de sauver de la ruine les films les plus anciens.

«Nous scrutons chacune des 135 000 images une par une.»

Nicole T. Allemann, cinegrell

«Il peut arriver que le stockage des bobines de film en celluloïd pendant de longues années entraîne des problèmes comme des moisissures», déplore Nicole T. Allemann, restauratrice de films chez cinegrell, la société chargée de préparer les classiques. Mais des produits spéciaux existent pour détruire les champignons ou en stopper la prolifération. Il y a aussi souvent des résidus cassants du ruban adhésif utilisé pour raccorder les bobines de film à éliminer, ou des rayures à réparer. «Un film peut compter jusqu’à 135 000 images. Nous les scrutons une par une», précise Nicole T. Allemann.

«Le but ultime est de transmettre les films au grand public, la numérisation n’est ‹que› le moyen d’arriver à nos fins», déclare Florian Leupin, chef de projet de filmo. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

Aujourd’hui, les logiciels modernes permettent de tirer beaucoup de choses des vieux films, mais il faut faire attention de ne pas trop en faire. «Nous devons respecter scrupuleusement des règles éthiques lors de la restauration. Cela signifie que nous essayons de rester aussi proches que possible de l’original», indique Nicole T. Allemann. Si par exemple une scène est floue, la netteté ne sera pas améliorée, même si la technique le permet. «À moins que le réalisateur le souhaite explicitement», précise Florian Leupin. «Certains auraient aimé tourner certaines scènes différemment, mais ils étaient limités par la technique. Ils sont donc heureux de pouvoir corriger ces défauts.» En plus de l’image, le son doit également être remis en état, par exemple en convertissant les pistes mono en stéréo. De plus, chaque film sera complété avec les sous-titres manquants: filmo proposera tous les films avec des sous-titres en allemand, français et italien.

L’ensemble du processus, de la sélection des films à leur publication sur la plateforme de streaming, peut durer une année entière. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

L’ensemble du processus, de la sélection des films à leur publication sur la plateforme de streaming, peut durer une année entière. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

Une courte bande-annonce est produite pour chaque film afin qu’ils soient bien mis en valeur sur les plateformes de vidéo à la demande. «À l’époque, certains films n’avaient pas du tout de bande-annonce ou elles duraient entre cinq et sept minutes, ce qui est bien trop long à l’heure d’aujourd’hui», rapporte Florian Leupin. Ces mises en bouche sont réalisées par de jeunes cinéastes suisses, ce qui permet de répondre aux habitudes du public d’aujourd’hui.
 

Bon accueil du milieu

Sélection des films, recherche, numérisation, réalisation des bande-annonce: tout cela prend du temps. L’ensemble du processus, de la sélection des films à leur publication sur la plateforme de streaming, peut durer une année entière. Ensuite, les films sont accessibles à la location ou la vente. filmo reçoit une toute petite part des recettes perçues. «C’est plutôt symbolique, nous trouvions important qu’une grande partie des revenus reviennent aux détenteurs des droits cinématographiques et aux réalisateurs», explique Florian Leupin. Au début du projet, d’aucuns craignaient que les films soient mis gratuitement à disposition sur ces plateformes. «Nous avons donc dû faire tout un travail d’information. Le projet bénéficie désormais d’un bon accueil», se réjouit-il.

La restauration et la numérisation demandent beaucoup de doigté: il faut le plus grand soin pour ne pas endommager des films souvent fragiles. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

La restauration et la numérisation demandent beaucoup de doigté: il faut le plus grand soin pour ne pas endommager des films souvent fragiles. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

Malgré ces rentrées, il ne faut pas se faire d’illusions: filmo ne couvrira jamais ses dépenses. La restauration et la numérisation des films sont bien trop coûteuses pour cela. Raison pour laquelle le projet dépend du soutien financier d’Engagement Migros. «C’est important pour nous de conserver le patrimoine cinématographique suisse», argue Britta Friedrich, cheffe de projet chez Engagement Migros. Même si certains films sont parfois sortis il y a plusieurs dizaines d’années, ils sont bien souvent toujours d’actualité. «Préparer et conserver n’est pas une fin en soi: ce qui nous importe le plus, c’est que les films puissent de nouveau être visionnés», souligne-t-elle. Et pour cela, il faut qu’ils réapparaissent sur l’écran radar du public. Le projet vise aussi à éveiller la demande, notamment d’une audience plus jeune, pour sortir le cinéma suisse de sa niche. Florian Leupin d’ajouter: «Notre objectif principal est de faire revivre les films, donc de les transmettre au grand public, la numérisation n’est que le moyen d’arriver à nos fins.»

«Chacun des classiques sélectionnés véhicule un message intemporel.»

Florian Leupin, filmo

Britta Friedrich est consciente que ces films seront difficiles d’accès pour certaines personnes. «C’est pourquoi les brefs textes d’explication rédigés par les experts sont essentiels. Cela permet au jeune public de mieux se laisser embarquer dans ces films.» Florian Leupin estime aussi que les anciens films suisses n’ont rien perdu de leur actualité: «Chacun des classiques sélectionnés véhicule un message intemporel; ce serait dommage de les perdre et de ne pas les rendre accessibles à la génération actuelle.»