Skip to main content
ethix – lab for innovation ethics

Corporate values for sustainable innovation

Ethics require the constant consideration of arguments and points of view. Photo: Simon Tanner
Ethics require the constant consideration of arguments and points of view. Photo: Simon Tanner

ethix was launched six months ago. Since then, the start-up has held workshops for around a dozen companies. Based on five case studies, the pioneering project now provides insight into its work.

ethix has thus far collaborated with companies from a wide variety of sectors: food, transport and biotechnology, for example. Jean-Daniel Strub, co-founder of the project, sits in the meeting room of the start-up in Zurich’s District Five and looks back on an intensive six months. During this time, they devoted a large part of the work to draw attention to their offering and to approach companies in the innovation sector. The feedback has been positive: “The interest in our consulting service was greater than expected,” says Strub.

Transparency for a functional society
The focus is mainly on start-ups from the technology sector, but sometimes also on established companies. Especially if they are in a transition phase, for example if they are growing rapidly or launching a new product.

A society in which digitisation plays an increasingly important role is also one that can create greater transparency: customers look for information about products and manufacturing conditions online. And if they are not satisfied with a product or a service, they share it online.

Johan Rochel (right) initiated the project together with Jean-Daniel Strub (middle). Photo: Simon Tanner

But digitisation also produces a vast amount of data. “Many people today want to know what happens to their data when they use a service,” says Strub. This calls for an ethical approach to data. The way in which online providers collect, use and resell data is associated with important – and now widely recognised – risks. Risks for customers, but also for the companies themselves. The consistency, reputation and suitability of the product are at stake. Start-ups in particular can jeopardise their survival right from the start if they make serious mistakes.

“Corporate values are increasingly important in attracting good people.”

Jean-Daniel Strub

According to Strub, this is also the reason why young companies are increasingly interested in corporate values. The ethix team is convinced that being open about a company’s values may even offer a competitive advantage. More and more investors are also interested in the values a start-up uses to orient itself and position its products, says co-founder Johan Rochel. And of course: its potential employees. “Corporate values are becoming increasingly important in attracting good people.” Because in highly industrialised countries like Switzerland, they are not only looking for a livelihood in their work, but also a sense of purpose. And the clearer a company is about its values, and the more it carries them out, the more visible and attractive it becomes to potential employees.

Start-ups in particular are often unable to pay huge salaries. However, they must still depend on good people for the company to succeed. In this interview, Strub and Rochel speak not only as ethicists and philosophers, but also as entrepreneurs.

In addition to the two founders, other employees have joined the company in recent months. Photo: Simon Tanner

ethix advised about a dozen companies during the first six months. Their process is now described in five case studies on the company’s website.

How can I revolutionise my industry?
Its consulting is tailored to the companies. “Because every company is confronted with different challenges,” says Strub. As a rule, a workshop lasts between one hour and half a day, consisting of at least these three parts: mapping of values and risk areas; analysis; discussion and evaluation. Strub and his team drill down deep. They ask questions about motivation: What is the company’s claim? To be a new, better service provider? Or to revolutionise the entire industry? Have the founders already asked themselves the difficult questions? Those about data collection, for example? Or about employees? Might their new business idea even lead to people losing their jobs? How would they deal with that?

It is mostly the founders who take part in the discussions, but sometimes the whole team is involved, as during the workshop with Cubera Solutions AG, a digital agency also known for its products for face and person recognition. Thanks to the workshop, they were able to check whether and how the company’s values corresponded to the employees’ actions, says interaction designer Franziska Wälti. Michael Fretz, co-founder of the company, offers feedback on the workshop: “We explored how we as a technology company approach solutions and which products we do or do not want to develop.”

For a world in the midst of great change
This, too, is ethix: based on social discourse, the pioneering project aims to discuss with companies issues such as “Is what is technically possible always the right thing socially?” “We certainly do not define what is right or wrong,” says co-founder Rochel. He says their goal is not to proselytise, but to raise the questions that need to be examined. That’s why they also organise public events that explore how we as a society deal with the challenges of technological innovation. “The fact that we are today already dealing with the consequences of innovation that might one day occur is also an expression of prosperity,” says Jean-Daniel Strub. The technical term for this is technology assessment.

The aim of the pioneering project is to discuss with companies the issues raised by their actions. ethix employee Delphine Bracher. Photo: Simon Tanner

Today we are in the midst of the fourth industrial revolution. Our world is in the midst of great change. Each of these revolutions catapulted mankind into a new age. But every technological innovation, every industrial revolution, has had its downsides. Smoking chimneys polluted the air, poison contaminated the waters. Workers had virtually no rights. The damage first had to be done before workers’ rights and environmental concerns became a matter of course.

 

“With its topics, ethix is at the pulse of our time.”

Samira Lütscher

It is precisely in view of this historical experience that Jean-Daniel Strub believes society has a duty to deal with the consequences of innovations during on-going technological change – not just on those who will win, but also on those who will lose. He already wants to raise questions like: What kind of data should be fed to computers that use artificial intelligence? And again: How do we store data; who can own them? This is the only way to promote a responsible approach to innovation, he says.

Engagement Migros will support ethix for three years. “The project has its finger on the pulse of our times with its topics, which often enough are only dealt with theoretically. It deals with ethics in a practical way and aims to introduce it into the everyday lives of entrepreneurs in the field of innovation,” says Samira Lütscher, project manager at Engagement Migros. In addition to the founders, the ethix team includes two other employees who have also received philosophical training. Above all, however, ethix works with a nationwide network of specialists from a wide variety of disciplines who are all interested in a more differentiated discourse on innovation in Switzerland.

Aller au contenu principal
ethix – labo d’éthique de l’innovation

Des valeurs d’entreprise pour une innovation durable

L’éthique nécessite en permanence la mise en balance des arguments et des points de vue. Photo: Simon Tanner
L’éthique nécessite en permanence la mise en balance des arguments et des points de vue. Photo: Simon Tanner

Depuis son démarrage il y a six mois, ethix a mené des ateliers avec près d’une douzaine de sociétés. Le projet pionnier propose désormais un aperçu de son travail au travers de cinq études de cas.

Depuis son lancement, ethix a travaillé avec des entreprises de diverses branches: industrie agroalimentaire, secteur des transports, biotechnologie, etc. Jean-Daniel Strub, co-fondateur du projet, nous reçoit dans les bureaux de la start-up dans le 5e arrondissement de Zurich et revient sur ces six derniers mois de travail acharné, dont la majeure partie a été consacrée à la publicité et à la prise de contact avec les entreprises actives dans le domaine de l’innovation. Les réactions se sont révélées positives: «Notre offre de conseil a suscité plus d’intérêt que prévu», se réjouit Strub.

La transparence garante du bon fonctionnement d’une société
ethix se focalise en premier lieu sur les jeunes entreprises technologiques, mais elle s’approche parfois aussi d’entreprises établies, surtout lorsqu’elles traversent une phase de transition, par exemple en cas de forte croissance ou au moment du lancement d’un nouveau produit.

Une société de plus en plus modelée par la numérisation a également la possibilité de créer une plus grande transparence: ses clients s’informent en ligne sur les produits et les conditions de fabrication, et s’ils ne sont pas satisfaits d’un produit ou d’un service, ils le partagent sur le Net.

Johan Rochel (droite) a lancé le projet avec Jean-Daniel Strub (centre). Photo: Simon Tanner

Mais la numérisation génère une grande quantité de données. «Aujourd’hui, les gens sont nombreux à vouloir savoir ce qu’il advient de leurs données lorsqu’ils font appel à un service», déclare Strub. Cela nécessite une approche éthique des données. La manière dont les fournisseurs en ligne collectent, utilisent et revendent les données s’accompagne de risques importants et encore largement méconnus non seulement pour les clients, mais aussi pour les entreprises elles-mêmes. La cohérence, la réputation et l’adéquation du produit sont en jeu. Les erreurs graves peuvent en particulier nuire à la survie des start-up dès leurs débuts.

«Les valeurs d’une entreprise jouent de plus en plus un rôle majeur pour attirer les bonnes personnes.»

Jean-Daniel Strub

Selon Strub, c’est aussi la raison pour laquelle les jeunes entreprises s’intéressent de plus en plus à leurs valeurs. Chez ethix, on est convaincu que la clarté vis-à-vis des valeurs d’entreprises constitue même un avantage concurrentiel. Les investisseurs aussi sont toujours plus nombreux à s’intéresser aux valeurs sur lesquelles une start-up s’appuie et positionne ses produits, ajoute Johan Rochel, cofondateur d’ethix. Sans oublier les collaborateurs potentiels: «Les valeurs d’une entreprise jouent de plus en plus un rôle majeur pour attirer les bonnes personnes.» Dans un pays fortement industrialisé comme la Suisse, le travail ne doit pas se borner à assurer un revenu, il doit aussi avoir un sens. Or plus une entreprise est au clair avec ses valeurs et plus elle les communique vers l’extérieur, plus elle se rend visible et attrayante pour des collaborateurs potentiels.

Les start-up en particulier ne sont souvent pas en mesure de payer de gros salaires, mais pour réussir, elles ont besoin d’attirer les bonnes personnes. Strub et Rochel parlent là en entrepreneurs plus qu’en éthiciens ou en philosophes.

Ces derniers mois, de nouveaux collaborateurs ont rejoint l’entreprise aux côtés des deux fondateurs. Photo: Simon Tanner

ethix a conseillé près d’une douzaine d’entreprises les six premiers mois de son existence. La façon de procéder a été résumée en cinq études de cas disponibles sur le site Web de la start-up.

Comment révolutionner ma branche?
Les conseils sont adaptés aux entreprises, «car chacune est confrontée à des défis différents», relève Strub. En général, un atelier dure entre une heure et une demi-journée et comprend au moins ces trois parties: mapping des valeurs et des zones de risques, analyse, discussion et évaluation. Strub et son équipe vont en profondeur. Ils posent des questions sur la motivation: quel est la raison de l’entreprise? Devenir un nouveau prestataire de services meilleur que ses concurrents? Ou révolutionner toute la branche? Les fondateurs se sont-ils déjà posé les questions qui dérangent? Par exemple en ce qui concerne les données? Ou les collaborateurs? Leur nouvelle idée va-t-elle entraîner la suppression de certains postes? Comment gèrent-ils cela?

Ce sont principalement les fondateurs qui participent aux discussions, parfois toute l’équipe, comme lors de l’atelier avec Cubera Solutions SA, une agence digitale aussi connue pour ses produits de reconnaissance des visages et des personnes.  Selon Franziska Wälti, interaction designer, ce workshop leur a permis de vérifier si et dans quelle mesure les valeurs de l’entreprise étaient en accord avec les actions des collaborateurs. «Nous avons exploré comment nous, entreprise technologique, abordions les solutions et les produits que nous souhaitions développer ou pas», commente Michael Fretz, cofondateur de la société, après l’atelier.

Pour un monde en mutation
ethix se veut aussi un projet pionnier qui entend débattre avec d’autres entreprises de questions comme: ce qui est possible techniquement est-il socialement juste? «Sans définir ce qui est juste ou faux», précise Rochel. Le but n’est pas de moraliser mais de soulever les questions dont il faut débattre, et discuter de ces points avec les entreprises sur la base d’un débat public. Des événements publics sont donc organisés pour découvrir comment nous gérons, en tant que société, les défis qu’implique l’innovation technologique. «C’est aussi une manifestation de notre prospérité que de s’occuper aujourd’hui déjà des conséquences qui pourraient un jour résulter de l’innovation», affirme Jean-Daniel Strub. On parle d’évaluation des choix technologiques.

Le projet pionnier entend débattre de leurs actions avec les entreprises. Une collaboratrice d’ethix: Delphine Bracher. Photo: Simon Tanner

Aujourd’hui, nous sommes au cœur de la quatrième révolution industrielle. Notre monde est en pleine mutation. Chacune de ces révolutions a catapulté l’humanité dans une nouvelle ère. Pourtant, chaque innovation technologique, chaque révolution industrielle a eu ses zones d’ombre. Les cheminées fumantes qui polluent l’atmosphère, les produits toxiques qui finissent dans les eaux. Les travailleurs qui n’ont pratiquement aucun droit. Il a fallu que des dégâts soient faits pour que le respect des droits des travailleurs et des exigences environnementales devienne une évidence.

«Avec ses thèmes, ethix est en phase avec son temps.»

Samira Lütscher

C’est précisément au regard des leçons de l’histoire que Jean-Daniel Strub considère que la société a le devoir de s’attaquer aux conséquences des innovations déjà durant le virage technologique en cours, et ce avec les gagnants et les perdants. Il entend dès à présent soulever des questions du genre: quelles données transmettre aux ordinateurs qui utilisent l’intelligence artificielle? Ou encore comment stocker les données, qui est autorisé à les posséder? Selon lui, c’est la seule façon de promouvoir une approche responsable de l’innovation.

Engagement Migros soutient le projet pendant trois ans. «Avec ses thèmes, que l’on se contente souvent d’aborder en théorie uniquement, le projet est en phase avec son temps. Il traite de l’éthique très concrètement, ce qui devrait permettre de l’intégrer dans le quotidien des entrepreneurs de l’innovation», déclare Samira Lütscher, responsable du projet chez Engagement Migros. En plus des fondateurs, l’équipe d’ethix comprend deux autres employés qui ont également une formation en philosophie. Mais la start-up travaille surtout avec un réseau national de spécialistes de diverses disciplines, tous intéressés par un discours différencié sur l’innovation en Suisse.