Skip to main content
ethix – lab for innovation ethics

A conscience about the digital world

“Is what’s technically feasible also ethically acceptable and beneficial for society?” is the question posed by a pioneering project called ethix. Photo: Simon Tanner
“Is what’s technically feasible also ethically acceptable and beneficial for society?” is the question posed by a pioneering project called ethix. Photo: Simon Tanner

Which ethical principles are required for the digital transformation? The business-location-promoting initiative digitalswitzerland and leading figures from global and national technology companies sought to answer this question. It gave the pioneering project ethix the task of mediating the working process to produce a joint declaration. It soon became apparent that this did not go far enough. The story of a dynamic process.

The third Swiss Digital Day, held in September 2019, was attended by some very eminent guests. Special trains carrying politicians, business leaders and journalists ran throughout Switzerland. The ‘Swiss Global Digital Summit’, held the day before, was a somewhat less public event. This was a summit launched by Ueli Maurer, President of the Swiss Confederation, in tandem with digitalswitzerland. It was not by chance that Geneva was chosen to host the meeting. The initiative aims to build on its humanitarian tradition and establish a platform for ethical issues concerning digitalisation.

“This phenomenon is progressing at breakneck speed and much of what is dismissed today as pure conjecture could well be part of everyday life tomorrow. This makes some people anxious as the risk of not keeping pace seems too great,” pointed out Maurer in a quote. His statement shows that while digital innovation means positive progress, it can also lead to ambivalence. This is why it is vitally important that ethical considerations are incorporated into the innovation process. This approach allows the beneficial potential of technology to make an impact.

The start-up’s team grew last year. Photo: Simon Tanner

This viewpoint was also shared by the guests invited from the global and Swiss economy as well as representatives of Swiss universities who gave the go-ahead to launch the ‘Swiss Digital Initiative’ at the ‘Swiss Global Digital Summit’ with the discussion of a joint position paper. It was the high point thus far of cooperation carefully initiated months earlier by digitalswitzerland and with the support of one of Engagement Migros’ pioneering projects.

Jean-Daniel Strub and Johan Rochel, who are both business leaders, founded ethix – the laboratory for ethics on innovation – in early 2018. It advises companies and organisations on ethical issues that crop up when new technologies are developed and used commercially. Both men have previously run companies. Strub was also a member of the Board of the Federal Institute of Technology Zurich, while Rochel is not only a philosopher, but also a lawyer. They and their team moved into new premises in an office block in Wiedikon at the start of the year. Here they share a loft-style space with a start-up which brings together coffee roasting companies and producers to enable transparent commodity trading.

In the start-up district: Lots of green beans from transparent trade are ready for the first roasting process. Photo: Simon Tanner

Academia met business last spring when digitalswitzerland asked ethix to assist with producing a Swiss Digital Declaration. “We’d always secretly hoped that ethix would get this kind of assignment,” revealed Samira Lütscher, who supports the project at the development fund Engagement Migros. It gave the pioneers the opportunity to show how ethics does not belong in an ivory tower through a specific project. The declaration is to be drawn up collaboratively to guarantee high ethical standards which are supported and accepted by as many stakeholders as possible. After a brief initial period it nevertheless soon became apparent that the project would have to become bigger and more importantly adopt a more long-term approach to achieve an impact beyond September 2019. Ultimately, there is no shortage of documents and statements that set out ethical principles for the digital world. More than 80 such documents have been produced in recent years alone – and that trend is continuing.

“It’s vitally important to think big here.”

Johan Rochel

All participants quickly agreed that another similar document would only create short-term added value in the best-case scenario. In contrast, an application-oriented initiative based in Switzerland would be quite a different matter entirely. Such a venture would successfully establish itself in a fast-moving economic and innovative environment. ethix founder Johan Rochel immediately realised: “It’s vitally important to think big here.” Otherwise the global perspective – which was crucial in relation to the issues being discussed – would be lost.

So instead of another declaration, efforts were focused on the launch of an initiative headquartered in Switzerland with a long-term outlook. A foundation is being specially set up for this purpose. Its president-elect is the former Federal Councillor Doris Leuthard. Other members to be appointed to the foundation board are Joël Mesot and Yves Flückiger, the Presidents of the Federal Institute of Technology Zurich and the University of Geneva, Marc Walder, CEO of Ringier and founder of digitalswitzerland, and Ivo Furrer, President of digitalswitzerland. Federal Chancellor Walter Thurnherr is also set to join the body.

By issuing a common policy document, all parties involved will jointly affirm the direction in which they intend to head. For this purpose, a paper was produced in an interdisciplinary expert group which sought to address the key issues and to set out specific principles for the joint projects. ethix acted as a mediator in this process and provided support with drafting. In this way, the structure of the initiative gradually emerged. As part of an impact-driven approach, every project of the newly established foundation should commit to complying with the values set out in the paper.

Preparing the presentation of the Swiss Digital Initiative’s first projects at the WEF: ethix founder Johan Rochel. Photo: Simon Tanner

Verena Vonarburg, Director of the Swiss Digital Initiative, firmly believes the success of the challenging process is also due to the excellent reputation of Rochel and Strub in the world of academia. Bringing together so many different parties would have been a virtually impossible task otherwise. The participation of civil society entities as well as companies and academia was extremely important to the two ethicists. This is why the initiative has adopted a multi-stakeholder approach. This focuses on involving all stakeholders relevant to the process from politics, civil society and the private sector.

The team agrees that civil society players also have to be involved. Photo: Simon Tanner

There are many hurdles to overcome in this kind of process. Strub recalls a difficult moment towards the beginning when it became evident that the definition of the goal by the project management still required internal consolidation – not least to determine who should be involved and in what form. Strub pointed out: “The fact that thanks to ethix we were able to draw on not just academic perspectives but also knowledge of tackling similar issues in practice definitely helped us during the process.” This experience also enabled a text for the position paper and other key principles for the foundation to be drawn up based on extensive input from experts which everyone could ultimately support, even if they did not perceive themselves as the authors.

“You have to learn to overcome moments of uncertainty.”

Verena Vonarburg

“You have to learn to overcome moments of uncertainty,” remarked Verena Vonarburg. Plans can change from one day to the next and a one-page document is often more useful in this kind of project than a long-winded, 40-page report. “We learned a great deal from one another,” indicated Vonarburg, “ethix was exactly the right choice of partner.” The customer rated cooperation with the start-up highly. ethix was also able to successfully negotiate a path between the different speeds and approaches of academia and business.

It is not just the team that has increased in recent months, but also the office space. Photo: Simon Tanner

Internal development should not be overlooked
Jean-Daniel Strub was also highly impressed by how quickly and pragmatically all players got to grips with their tasks and by their willingness to embark upon a long-term process together.

“Projects on this scale always leave a mark on newly formed companies which is a good thing.”

Jean-Daniel Strub

Strub believes ethix has learned and benefited tremendously from this project. There is now also greater willingness to develop the company from within. Strub said: “Projects on this scale always leave a mark on newly formed companies which is a good thing.” Focusing a high level of resources on one project means things can soon get overlooked. If a growth path like ethix’s is pursued, new challenges emerge, such as in relation to cooperation in the team and the support of individual tasks. ethix enjoyed a stroke of good fortune when the new lab manager Lea Strohm joined the team. She was able to provide highly effective support right from the outset thanks to her background in international relations and innovation science. There is much work to be done for ethix over the coming months: As a follow-up to the first project phase, the pioneering venture is now working on planning the first implementation projects as part of the Swiss Digital Initiative and assisting with their formulation. The next meeting is coming up soon: The project and initiative are gearing up for participation at another major event – the World Economic Forum in Davos (January 2020).

Aller au contenu principal
ethix – labo d’éthique de l’innovation

Une éthique pour le monde numérique

Le projet pionnier ethix pose la question de savoir si ce qui est possible techniquement est également défendable moralement et juste pour la société. Photo: Simon Tanner
Le projet pionnier ethix pose la question de savoir si ce qui est possible techniquement est également défendable moralement et juste pour la société. Photo: Simon Tanner

De quels principes éthiques la transition numérique a-t-elle besoin? L’initiative digitalswitzerland souhaitait prendre position sur cette question en collaboration avec des représentants de premier plan de sociétés technologiques globales et nationales. Elle a mandaté le projet pionnier ethix pour diriger les travaux menant à une déclaration commune. Il est rapidement apparu que ce n’était pas suffisant. L’histoire d’un processus dynamique.

La troisième édition de la Journée suisse du digital, qui s’est déroulée en septembre 2019, a réuni un public de haut niveau: des trains spéciaux remplis de politiciens, de représentants de l’économie et de journalistes ont sillonné le pays. Le «Swiss Global Digital Summit», qui s’était tenu la veille, était moins ouvert puisqu’il s’agissait d’une rencontre au sommet initiée par le président de la Confédération Ueli Maurer et digitalswitzerland. Genève n’a pas été choisie par hasard comme lieu de réunion. L’initiative a pour but de s’appuyer sur la tradition humanitaire et de créer une Plateforme sur les questions éthiques autour de la numérisation.

Car «elle [la numérisation] progresse rapidement, et une grande partie de ce que nous considérons aujourd’hui comme des élucubrations pourrait faire partie de notre quotidien demain. De nombreuses personnes se sentent mal à l’aise, tant le danger d’être dépassé semble grand», a déclaré Ueli Maurer. Cette déclaration montre que l’innovation numérique apporte des progrès positifs, mais peut aussi générer de l’ambivalence. Il est donc d’autant plus important que la réflexion éthique soit intégrée dans le processus d’innovation. Afin que le potentiel bénéfique des technologies puisse être valorisé.

L’équipe de la start-up s’est agrandie en cours d’année. Photo: Simon Tanner

Ce point de vue a également été partagé par les invité-e-s de l’économie globale et nationale ainsi que par les représentant-e-s des universités suisses qui ont participé au «Swiss Global Digital Summit» pour la mise au point d’une prise de position conjointe lançant la «Swiss Digital Initiative». Il s’agissait du point culminant provisoire d’une collaboration minutieusement préparée par digitalswitzerland quelques mois auparavant avec le soutien d’un projet pionnier d’Engagement Migros.

En 2018, les entrepreneurs Jean-Daniel Strub et Johan Rochel ont fondé ensemble ethix, le laboratoire d’éthique de l’innovation qui conseille des entreprises et des organisations sur les questions éthiques émergeant lorsque de nouvelles technologies sont développées et exploitées commercialement. Tous deux ont dirigé des entreprises auparavant, Jean-Daniel Strub a par ailleurs travaillé pour le conseil des EPF et Johan Rochel est avocat en plus d’être philosophe. En début d’année, ils ont pris leurs quartiers dans un bâtiment de bureaux à Wiedikon avec leur équipe. Ils partagent un grand loft avec une start-up qui met en lien des torréfacteurs et des producteurs de café et favorise ainsi le commerce transparent des matières premières.

Sur les murs de la start-up: toutes sortes de grains de café vert issus du commerce équitable avant leur première torréfaction. Photo: Simon Tanner

Lorsque digitalswitzerland a demandé au printemps dernier à ethix d’accompagner la création d’une déclaration numérique suisse, le monde scientifique et le monde économique se sont rencontrées. «Nous avons toujours souhaité secrètement qu’une telle mission soit confiée à ethix, explique Samira Lütscher, qui soutient le projet au sein d’Engagement Migros. Parce que cela permet aux pionniers de montrer à l’aide d’un projet concret comment ils prévoient de faire descendre l’éthique de sa tour d’ivoire». La déclaration devrait être élaborée de manière collaborative, afin de garantir des normes éthiques élevées qui pourront être soutenues et acceptées par le plus grand nombre possible de parties prenantes. Après une courte période de mise en route déjà, il est devenu évident que pour avoir un impact réel au-delà de septembre 2019, le projet devait être plus vaste et, surtout, être mené à plus long terme. Car les documents et les déclarations définissant des principes éthiques dans le domaine numérique ne manquent pas. Plus de 80 documents de ce type ont été élaborés au cours des dernières années – et cela continue.

«Il faut voir grand dans ce domaine. Absolument.»

Johan Rochel

De l’avis unanime de toutes les personnes présentes, un document comparable de plus apporterait au mieux une valeur ajoutée à court terme. Mais il en irait tout autrement d’une initiative concrète basée en Suisse. Il lui serait possible de s’affirmer dans un environnement économique et innovant en rapide évolution. Johan Rochel, fondateur d’ethix, en est convaincu: «Il faut voir grand dans ce domaine. Absolument.» Sinon, on perd la perspective globale indispensable pour traiter les questions que l’on aborde ici.

Au lieu d’une déclaration supplémentaire, l’accent a donc rapidement été mis sur le lancement d’une initiative à long terme basée en Suisse. Une fondation a été créée spécialement à cet effet. L’ancienne Conseillère fédérale Doris Leuthard en est la présidente. Les autres membres du conseil de fondation sont Joël Mesot et Yves Flückiger, présidents respectivement de l’EPF Zurich et de l’Université de Genève, Marc Walder, CEO de Ringier et fondateur de digitalswitzerland, et Ivo Furrer, président de digitalswitzerland. Walter Thurnherr, chancelier de la Confédération, devrait également rejoindre le conseil.

En se basant sur un document politique commun, tous les acteurs s’engagent dans la direction dans laquelle ils veulent aller ensemble. Un groupe d’experts interdisciplinaire a élaboré un document afin d’aborder tous les sujets et questions essentiels et pour identifier des principes concrets pour les projets communs. ethix a modéré et accompagné ce processus. La structure de l’initiative en a émergé petit à petit. Dans le sens d’une approche axée sur l’efficacité, on veillera à ce que chaque projet de la fondation nouvellement créée s’engage à respecter les valeurs énoncées dans le document.

Plongé dans la préparation de la présentation des premiers projets de Swiss Digital Initiative dans le cadre du WEF: Johan Rochel, fondateur d’ethix. Photo: Simon Tanner

Verena Vonarburg, directrice générale de la Swiss Digital Initiative, est convaincue que ce processus ambitieux a abouti grâce à la bonne réputation de Johan Rochel et de Jean-Daniel Strub dans le monde scientifique. Sans cela, il aurait difficilement été possible de réunir autant de parties différentes. Il était également très important pour les deux éthiciens d’impliquer non seulement des entreprises et la communauté scientifique, mais aussi des acteurs de la société civile. L’initiative repose donc sur une approche multilatérale qui vise précisément à intégrer toutes les parties prenantes du monde politique, de la société civile et du secteur privé déterminantes pour le projet.

L’équipe est d’accord: des acteurs de la société civile doivent également être impliqués. Photo: Simon Tanner

De nombreux obstacles se dressent devant un tel processus. Jean-Daniel Strub se souvient d’un moment difficile au début, lorsqu’il est apparu clairement que les responsables du projet devaient consolider la définition des objectifs à l’interne – également pour déterminer qui devait être impliqué et sous quelle forme. «Le fait qu’ethix apporte non seulement la perspective académique, mais aussi des connaissances pratiques sur des questions similaires, nous a certainement aidé dans ce processus», dit Jean-Daniel Strub. Grâce également à cette expérience, il a été possible, en se basant sur des contributions substantielles des experts, d’élaborer un document de référence et d’autres documents de fond pour la fondation, dans lesquels chacun a pu se reconnaître, même sans en être l’auteur.

«Il faut apprendre à supporter l'incertitude.»

Verena Vonarburg

«Il faut apprendre à supporter l’incertitude», dit Verena Vonarburg. Que les plans changent du jour au lendemain. Et que, pour de tels projets, un rapport d’une page peut s’avérer plus utile qu’un rapport de 40 pages plein de formulations compliquées. «Nous avons beaucoup appris les uns des autres, dit Verena Vonarburg, ethix était le bon choix.» Le mandataire a beaucoup apprécié la coopération avec la start-up. ethix a également su intervenir comme médiatrice entre les différents rythmes et méthodes de travail du monde scientifique et du monde économique.

Tout comme l’équipe, l’espace de bureau s’est agrandi ces derniers mois. Photo: Simon Tanner

N’oubliez pas votre développement intérieur
Jean-Daniel Strub a été impressionné par la rapidité et le pragmatisme avec lesquels tous les acteurs se sont rencontrés et se sont montrés prêts à s’engager ensemble sur la voie d’un processus à long terme.

«Des mandats d’une telle ampleur laissent toujours des traces dans une jeune entreprise. Et c’est tant mieux.»

Jean-Daniel Strub

Selon Jean-Daniel Strub, ethix a beaucoup appris de ce projet et en a profité. Cependant, l’entreprise se développe de plus en plus depuis l’intérieur. Car «des mandats d’une telle ampleur laissent toujours des traces dans une jeune entreprise. Et c’est tant mieux.» Quand un projet mobilise une grande partie des ressources, certaines choses qui ne sont pas d’actualité sont mises de côté. Mais si, comme ethix, vous souhaitez grandir, de nouveaux défis surgissent, par exemple en ce qui concerne le travail d’équipe et l’accompagnement des tâches. ethix a eu la chance que Lea Strohm, la nouvelle responsable du lab, ait pu rapidement soutenir l’équipe grâce à son expérience en relations internationales et en sciences de l’innovation. ethix aura beaucoup à faire au cours des prochains mois: dans le prolongement de la première phase de travail, le projet pionnier est désormais chargé de la conception et de l’encadrement des premiers projets de mise en œuvre de la Swiss Digital Initiative. Les prochaines échéances sont imminentes: le projet et l’initiative se préparent en vue d’une grande présentation au Forum économique mondial de Davos (janvier 2020).