Skip to main content
Reframe! Incentive Event

“Museums can make much more out of today’s technology”

Diane Drubay presents five scenarios for the museum of 2030 at the incentive event "Reframe! The Future Begins in Museums". Photo: Alexander Hana
Diane Drubay presents five scenarios for the museum of 2030 at the incentive event "Reframe! The Future Begins in Museums". Photo: Alexander Hana

Diane Drubay, artist and cultural entrepreneur, has a clear vision for the future: museums should get involved in social processes and become places where people can exchange ideas and reflect on the future in front of the mirror of the past. Museums can play a pioneering role by showing how human needs and technology can be reconciled, and so be a laboratory for human development.

In your scenarios for the future, you in talk about the “musée humain”, the museum as a place for people. Aren’t today’s museums already made for people?
Many visitors feel uncomfortable in museums and have the feeling they are in the wrong place. And no wonder, because the atmosphere is often sterile, making visitors behave unnaturally. They look around in reverence, almost like in church, and don’t ask questions, even though that would be the human reaction. In Brazil, visitors were given an IBM Watson computer programmed with artificial intelligence. They could ask it anything they wanted. And I found the evaluation of these questions very significant

“Museums often impose unnatural behaviour on visitors.”

What did the visitors want to know?
"Who is Picasso?" was an often-asked question, or: "How much did this painting cost?" and: "To whom did it belong?" Questions that should be obvious, but that many people in the museum don’t dare ask. I would therefore want museums to be more user-friendly; places you can visit like a bistro and where you can behave accordingly.

How do you make museums more user-friendly?
Change takes a long time. And these three things: first, a director with the vision of making the museum a more open place. It takes a leader who is not afraid to think globally and locally at the same time. Too often, directors and curators are still too attached to the idea of presenting their collections and objects in the best possible way, rather than putting their activities at the service of society.

And the other two requirements?
Second: directors and curators should look at their collections again from a different viewpoint. For every object, they should not only ask themselves what it meant in the time in which it was created, but also what it can tell us about our era. Objects should also be exhibited with this in mind: a strong reference to the present.
And third: museums should talk to local people, to the city's inhabitants, to their neighbours. Museums should be part of the local ecosystem. And they will only be that if they are in contact with their environment, if they take up ideas from outside and implement them in collaboration with their environment. Museums should become meeting places for the participants of our society. Places to exchange ideas and think about the future.

Diane Drubay at a Museum2030 workshop as part of We Are Museums in Riga, Latvia.

Diane Drubay at a Museum2030 workshop as part of We Are Museums in Riga, Latvia.

Are there already museums that correspond to your vision?
Yes, there are a few I like very much: the Mima – Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art in the UK, for example. This is a museum that tries to connect people and appeal to their senses. Or the Dutch Museum no hero. The focus here is on experience with art, not on the paintings themselves. Then there are a whole series of museums that already do justice to my vision in individual aspects.

“With today's technology, museums could respond much more individually to each visitor.”

For example?
The entrance to Paris’ Centre Pompidou is a magnet and an invitation to hang out. But even there: as soon as you have crossed into the exhibition area, the individual becomes a visitor who, from then on, has a course to complete. But with today's technology, museums could respond much more individually to each visitor and offer customised exhibitions.

Could you explain that?
When museums collect and exchange data, it is possible to create exhibitions that are better tailored to people's needs. In the virtual sphere, it is even conceivable that exhibitions could adapt completely to individuals and what they want. Thus the museum – or whatever we want to call it in that case – can accompany people, pick up on their emotions at certain locations and respond to them. It will be a while before we're ready, but museums can play a pioneering role here and show how human needs and technology can be reconciled. In this way, the museum can be a laboratory for human development.
By focusing on the relationships that it can establish with visitors, the museum becomes a player in the development of societies – governance, values, ethics, individuals – through the emotional, experimental, sensory and cognitive evolution of visitors and all humanity, establishing itself as an observatory of change. The museum should be relevant for everyone and benefit society as a whole. Museums should be alive and play an active role.

“In times where ‘fake news’ is used to make politics, there needs to be a balance.”

You think that museums should involve themselves in social processes?
Yes, especially when it comes to approaching the truth within a social discourse. Of course truth is a big word. But in times where ‘fake news’ is used to make politics, there needs to be a balance. Museums enjoy a high level of credibility, they have a lot of knowledge and objects to show people how something happened and what the consequences were. They should take advantage of that. Museums are not an end in themselves, they are part of society.

So: museums as keepers of the truth?
Yes, a museum is not just neutral. Museums should be a trustworthy place, not just for people, but also for information. The museum as a refuge. I would like museums to become places where prejudices are dismantled and that also represent a reality: our societies have long been multicultural, especially in the West. The "musée voisin", the neighbouring museum, is a reflection of local communities – when neighbourhoods are populated by different cultures and cities become intercultural, the museum should be permeable to these differences and to what in fact becomes a unique multiple identity. These cultures can meet and mix in the museums. This can also lead to new things.

Diane Drubay, artist and cultural entrepreneur. Photo: Evelyn Bencicova
Diane Drubay, artist and cultural entrepreneur. Photo: Evelyn Bencicova

About Diane Drubay

Diane Drubay is a specialist for digital museum strategies. At the Reframe! The Future Begins in Museums incentive event hosted by Engagement Migros on 26 April 2018, she outlined future models of museums as network nodes of collective intelligence and drivers of social change.
In 2007 she set up Buzzeum, a internationally renowned agency for new media and communication. In 2011 she was the co-founder of Museomix, a hackathon for museums. In 2013 she founded We Are Museums, an annual European event at the intersection of culture and innovation. Since 2014 she has curated the programme of the international conference Museum Connections in Paris. She teaches at Sciences Po and EAC Paris, and regularly gives lectures at international conferences to share her vision of the future of museums.

Aller au contenu principal
Evénement de lancement Reframe!

«Les musées peuvent faire bien plus avec la technologie actuelle»

Diane Drubay présente cinq scénarios du musée de l'an 2030 lors de l'événement de lancement «Reframe! Le futur commence au musée». Photo:Alexander Hana
Diane Drubay présente cinq scénarios du musée de l'an 2030 lors de l'événement de lancement «Reframe! Le futur commence au musée». Photo:Alexander Hana

Diane Drubay, artiste et entrepreneure culturelle, a une vision claire de l’avenir. Selon elle, les musées doivent intervenir dans les processus sociaux et devenir des lieux d’échange qui nous présentent un miroir du passé pour nous inciter à réfléchir à l’avenir. Les musées peuvent endosser un rôle de pionnier en montrant que les besoins humains et la technique sont compatibles. Et devenir un laboratoire pour le développement de l’homme.

Dans vos scénarios du futur, vous parlez de «musée humain», le musée comme lieu destiné à l’homme. Entendez-vous par-là que les musées actuels ne sont pas prévus pour les gens?
De nombreux visiteurs ne se sentent pas à l’aise dans les musées, ils ont le sentiment de ne pas y être à leur place. Rien d’étonnant à cela au vu de l’atmosphère parfois stérile qui y règne et qui pousse les gens à se comporter de manière peu naturelle. On y affiche une attitude respectueuse à l’excès, presque comme à l’église, on n’ose pas poser de questions, alors que ce serait une réaction tout à fait normale. Au Brésil, les visiteurs peuvent poser toutes les questions qui leur passent par la tête à Watson, l’assistant vocal d’IBM utilisant l’intelligence artificielle. Et je trouve l’étude de ces questions très parlante.

«Les musées poussent souvent les gens à se comporter de manière peu naturelle.»

Qu’est-ce que ces gens voulaient savoir?
«Qui est Picasso?», est une question récurrente. Ou encore «Combien coûte ce tableau?», «A qui a-t-il appartenu?» Des questions qui devraient couler de source, mais que les gens n’osent pas poser quand ils sont au musée. C’est pourquoi je rêve de voir ces institutions s’humaniser, qu’elles deviennent des lieux où l’on va et l’on se comporte comme au bistrot.

Comment rendre un musée plus humain?
C’est un changement qui nécessite beaucoup de temps, et trois conditions: premièrement il faut une directrice ou un directeur qui veut faire de son musée un lieu plus ouvert, quelqu’un qui n’ait pas peur d’appuyer sa réflexion sur une dimension à la fois globale et locale. Trop souvent, les directeurs et curateurs s’accrochent encore à l’idée de soigner la présentation de leurs collections au lieu de se consacrer au service de la société.

Et les deux autres conditions?
Deuxièmement, les directeurs et curateurs devraient regarder leurs collections avec d’autres yeux. Ils ne devraient pas s’arrêter à se demander ce que chaque objet a signifié pour l’époque où il a été créé, mais plutôt réfléchir à ce qu’il a à nous dire sur notre époque actuelle. C’est dans cet esprit que nous devrions exposer ces objets: en les reliant fermement au présent.
Et troisièmement, les musées devraient ouvrir le dialogue avec les gens sur place, avec les habitants de la ville où ils se trouvent, leurs voisins. Les musées doivent faire partie de l’écosystème local. Cela ne deviendra une réalité que s’ils sont en contact avec leur environnement, intègrent des idées venant de l’extérieur et les mettent en place de manière coordonnée. Les musées doivent devenir des points de rencontre pour les participants à notre société. Des lieux d’échange où l’on réfléchit à l’avenir.

Diane Drubay lors d’un atelier Museum2030 dans le cadre de We Are Museums à Riga en Lettonie.

Diane Drubay dirige un atelier sur le musée de l'an 2030 lors de We Are Museums 2017 à Riga en Lettonie.

Y a-t-il déjà des musées qui répondent à votre vision?
Oui, il y en a quelques-uns qui me plaisent beaucoup. Par exemple le Mima – Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art en Angleterre. C’est un musée qui essaie de connecter les gens et de parler à leurs sens. Ou le Museum no hero en Hollande. Ici, on se focalise sur l’expérience vécue avec l’art, et non sur les tableaux. Ensuite, il y a toute une série de musées qui par certains aspects répondent déjà à ma vision.

«Avec la technologie actuelle, les musées pourraient répondre aux attentes des visiteurs de manière bien plus ciblée.»

Par exemple?
Le hall d’entrée du Centre Pompidou à Paris agit comme un aimant et invite à la flânerie. Mais là-bas aussi, dès que l’on entre dans la zone d’exposition, l’individu devient un visiteur lambda censé suivre un circuit. Avec la technologie actuelle, les musées pourraient donner des réponses bien plus individuelles à chaque visiteur, proposer des expositions sur mesure pour chacun.

Expliquez-nous.
Si les musées récoltaient des données et les échangeaient, il serait possible d’organiser des expositions qui correspondraient mieux aux besoins des gens. Dans le monde virtuel, il peut y avoir des expositions totalement adaptées à l’individu et à ses besoins. Ainsi, le musée – ou quel que soit le nom que l’on veut donner à ce lieu – peut accompagner les gens, les rejoindre émotionnellement et les aborder là où ils se trouvent. Mais ce n’est pas demain que nous connaîtrons cela.
Pourtant, les musées peuvent endosser un rôle de pionnier en montrant que les besoins humains et la technique sont compatibles. Le musée peut être un laboratoire du développement de l’homme. Il doit pouvoir répondre aux besoins de chacun et être utile pour la société dans son ensemble. Les musées doivent être vivants et avoir un rôle actif.

«A une époque où la politique se fait à coups de ‘fake news’, on a besoin d’un contrepoids.»

Les musées devraient s’impliquer dans les processus sociaux?
Oui, surtout quand il s’agit de s’approcher de la vérité dans le discours social. La vérité est un mot qui fait peur, mais à une époque où la politique se fait à coups de «fake news», on a besoin d’un contrepoids. Les musées bénéficient d’une grande crédibilité, ils possèdent un savoir et de multiples objets pour présenter aux gens la genèse d’un événement et quelles en ont été les conséquences. Il faut absolument qu’ils utilisent cette opportunité. Les musées n’ont pas de fin en soi, ils font tout simplement partie de la société.

Le musée comme gardien de la vérité, en somme?
Oui, un musée n’est pas simplement neutre. Les musées doivent être des lieux dignes de confiance, pour les gens, mais aussi pour les informations qu’ils transmettent. Le musée est un refuge. J’espère que les musées deviendront des lieux qui permettent d’abolir les préjugés et reproduisent une réalité qui existe depuis la nuit des temps, à savoir le métissage de nos sociétés, surtout en Occident. Au musée, ces différentes cultures peuvent se rencontrer et se mélanger, ce qui peut faire naître quelque chose de neuf.

Diane Drubay, artiste et entrepreneure culturelle. Photo: Evelyn Bencicova
Diane Drubay, artiste et entrepreneure culturelle. Photo: Evelyn Bencicova

A propos de Diane Drubay

Diane Drubay est spécialisée dans les stratégies numériques pour les musées. Lors de l’événement de lancement Reframe! Le futur commence au musée organisé par Engagement Migros le 26 avril 2018, elle a fait le portrait de nouveaux modèles de musées, compris comme des réseaux d’intelligence collective et des moteurs du changement social.
En 2007, elle fonde Buzzeum, une agence réputée internationalement dans le domaine des nouveaux médias et de la communication. En 2011, elle cofonde Museomix, un hackathon pour les musées. En 2013, elle fonde We Are Museums, une manifestation européenne à la frontière entre la culture et l’innovation qui a lieu tous les ans. Depuis 2014, elle dirige le programme de conférences du rendez-vous international Museum Connections à Paris. Elle enseigne à Sciences Po et à l’EAC de Paris et partage sa vision de l’avenir des musées lors de conférences internationales.