Skip to main content
VillageOffice

How to build a living room for your neighbourhood.

The VillageOffice pioneering project brings the office to the people. Photo: Simon Tanner
The VillageOffice pioneering project brings the office to the people. Photo: Simon Tanner

Management meetings, concerts and game nights – there is room for all kinds of things at the new Coworking Lounge on Tessinerplatz. Together with neighbourhood residents and local companies, the pioneering project VillageOffice has created a place that brings together a wide variety of people. How the community helped turn a temporary “living room” into a permanent meeting place.

After being used as anonymous office space for a long time, a new meeting point has been created directly opposite the Enge railway station in Zurich: a café where one group pores over new concepts as a woman feeds her baby and others have a lively chat. The Coworking Lounge Tessinerplatz has been open, or rather re-opened, since the beginning of last December. From autumn 2017 to spring 2018, it was known as the Living Room – a pioneering coworking project initiated by the owner Swiss Life, together with the VillageOffice cooperative. “What is here now was developed in the Living Room,” says Jenny Schäpper-Uster.

Happy about their newest addition: VillageOffice co-founders Jenny Schäpper-Uster and David Brühlmeier. Photo: Simon Tanner

Jenny Schäpper-Uster is a founding member of VillageOffice and has been running her own coworking space in Wil SG since 2013. Now she leads the visitor through the premises. In front there’s a café, whose employees run a buffet with vegan food over lunch and in the evening push the chairs together and set up a stage. “The room is designed in such a way that a small event or concert hall can be put together very quickly.”

Everything is well thought out, the technology discreetly hidden and ultramodern. This is particularly evident when walking through the six conference rooms. The large conference room offers everything the board of an internationally active company could wish for.

As does the coworking space at the back: minimalist design with lots of wood in discreet blue-green – the office space with 30 workstations is so chic that you’re tempted to move in and live here.

Jenny Schäpper-Uster says, “We had to find middle ground between start-up groove and people who come to work here in suits at Tessinerplatz, which opened in December after a six-month renovation phase.” They had to move away a bit from the Living Room – but not too far.

“Start-ups and clubs have a place here, as do individual companies and residents.”

Marion Rösch

The Living Room was a pioneering coworking project that had never existed before in Switzerland. The coworking space was to become part of the city neighbourhood and meet the needs of its inhabitants. But the project group also wanted to involve local companies. Big employers such as Deloitte, FIFA and Swiss Life, which has its headquarters nearby, are also part of the neighbourhood, as are many SMEs. Marion Rösch, who today is part of the Coworking Lounge Tessinerplatz’s operating team, is also host and responsible for the development of the community. She was already a member of the four-person Living Room project group in autumn 2017.

Marion Rösch says the Coworking Lounge Tessinerplatz is the result of the bottom-up Living Room project.

How does an empty, huge office become a lively coworking space?
There's no formula for that. Our only aim was that filling the Living Room with life should not be determined by us, but by those who wanted to come here. What kind of coworking space do the people in the neighbourhood want? The idea was that those interested should take charge of our provisional space themselves, making it their home with second-hand furniture. That’s why we called it the “Living Room”.

And how did you find these people?
We invited them through social media and an NZZ article to an initial meeting in November 2017, where anyone in the Enge neighbourhood interested in a new coworking space could get together. We also contacted companies in the area and the neighbourhood association.  

Who came?
Very different people, people from the surrounding area, who wanted to revive their neighbourhood. Enge is a place with few cafés or concert venues. Young company founders who wanted to network were also there from the very beginning. The result was a loose group of 20 to 40 people who began to animate this space in various combinations.^

What kind of initiatives have arisen?
A group has formed that has organised concerts. These were well attended. Others offered lunch and tested whether there was a need for it in the neighbourhood. Soon there was a well-attended café. And we had a ball pit that was popular far and wide.

A meeting place, not only for neighbourhood residents, but also for local companies. Photo: Simon Tanner

That sounds like a lot of fun. But did any work get done?
Of course. The Living Room was a place for work and leisure to come together, a home away from home. That’s why we gave a lot of space to the aspect of how to bring leisure into a coworking space. After six months of it being the Living Room, we really did manage to make it become a kind of home for many.

What kind of needs did the neighbourhood companies and businesses you interviewed register?
Swiss Life, which approached VillageOffice for this project, was interested in high-quality workstations right from the start. A survey of other companies showed that there were no meeting rooms in the neighbourhood.

At first glance, there is little of the improvised Living Room left at the Coworking Lounge Tessinerplatz.
At first glance, maybe. But we took many things with us that were created in the Living Room, without neglecting the needs of the companies and the owner, Swiss Life. Managers come to Tessinerplatz for meetings, but start-ups and clubs also have a place here, as do individual companies and residents, for whom our bistro is still meant to be a “living room”. Concerts will also continue to take place after the renovations, as will the game nights.

Which other needs of the community were transferred from the Living Room to the Coworking Lounge Tessinerplatz?
In our café there is a daily vegan lunch buffet during the week, as requested by the community from the former Living Room. It is delivered by the catering company “Zum guten Heinrich”, which uses food that remains unsold in shops because its size and shape are considered unsatisfactory. We also attach great importance to sustainability. And in the end the fact that we have a café and concert stage at all is a consequence of the Living Room. Because there was clearly a need for it in the neighbourhood.

Numerous options offer quiet areas to work in. Photo: Simon Tanner

Was it easy, after half a year of renovations, to reactivate the community created in the Living Room for the Coworking Lounge Tessinerplatz?
Not everyone who committed themselves to the Living Room stayed with us. But we are working on creating new events with new people. For example, coworkers have set up the “beer o'clock” start-up networking event. The neighbourhood association was also a recent visitor. We are confident and aware that a spirit of community and a professional working environment are not contradictions in terms. Instead they complement each other, contributing to work and leisure not having to be completely separate spaces, so they can mesh together.

“Trust and new forms of communication are needed when people don’t work in the office.”

Jenny Schäpper-Uster

The aim of VillageOffice is to bring life – including jobs – back to the regions and to reduce commuting flow. “The communities we work with are particularly interested in this,” says Jenny Schäpper-Uster. Companies, on the other hand, are still hesitant. “This has to do with the working culture in this country. If people don’t work at the office, there needs to be trust and new forms of communication.” In the Coworking Lounge at Tessinerplatz, too, it is mainly employees of start-ups or self-employed people who regularly set up their workplace at the rear part of Tessinerplatz. “Companies primarily use the conference rooms,” says Schäpper-Uster. But that could soon change. “Firstly, because the companies that come to us for meetings see what has been created here. And secondly, because the working world will continue to change in the future.”

The aim is to make Tessinerplatz a place where the future way of working can be rehearsed. Photo Simon Tanner

Forecasts predict that by 2025, half of all employees in the service sector will no longer have a permanent job at least two days a week. “Coworking spaces,” says Giorgio Engeli, Head of Real Estate Portfolio Management at Swiss Life and contact for VillageOffice, “will increasingly adapt to corporate needs.”

“A place that enhances the quality of life in the neighbourhood.”

Leila Hauri

For a real estate investor, coworking could also become an attractive segment in the future, says Giorgio Engeli. Because investors in Switzerland have also closely observed the spectacular rise of the New York coworking start-up WeWork. For less than ten years now, the company has been operating office communities according to a certain, always same concept – and after just a few years was valued at several billion dollars on the stock exchange.

In its collaboration with VillageOffice, Swiss Life has found a partner that is organised as a cooperative and does not focus on profit. “We tried out a lot on the Living Room, which has now become the Coworking Lounge Tessinerplatz,” says Jenny Schäpper-Uster. Because the needs of working in the future first have to be tested. Here, too, in line with VillageOffice’s common-society approach to taking the workplace to where people live. In this case to their own neighbourhood.

This agile approach fully corresponds to the approach of the Engagement Migros development fund, says Leila Hauri, the project manager responsible for it. “We are convinced that with the Living Room as a prototype and the participative community approach, the decisive foundations have been laid for not simply opening up a new coworking space with Tessinerplatz, but for creating a lively place that brings people together and increases the quality of life in the neighbourhood.”

Aller au contenu principal
VillageOffice

Comment créer un salon pour son quartier?

Le projet pionnier VillageOffice met le bureau à portée de main de qui veut. Photo: Simon Tanner
Le projet pionnier VillageOffice met le bureau à portée de main de qui veut. Photo: Simon Tanner

Séances de cadres, concerts et soirées jeux de société – la place ne manque pas au nouveau Coworking Lounge de la Tessinerplatz. Avec les habitants du quartier et les entreprises locales, le projet pionnier VillageOffice a réussi à créer un lieu qui rassemble tout un tas de gens très différents. Comment, avec l’aide de la communauté, un «salon» provisoire s’est transformé en un lieu de rencontre durable.

Juste en face de la gare d’Enge à Zurich, des bureaux anonymes ont laissé la place à un nouveau lieu de rencontre: un café où se mêlent des gens qui se penchent sur des concepts, des mamans qui nourrissent leur bébé et des groupes d’amis qui bavardent avec animation. Le Coworking Lounge de la Tessinerplatz a ouvert, ou plutôt réouvert, début décembre. C’est qu’entre l’automne 2017 et le printemps 2018, l’endroit était occupé par le «Wohnzimmer» (le salon), un projet pionnier de coworking initié par Swiss Life, propriétaire des lieux, en collaboration avec la coopérative VillageOffice. «C’est ici qu’a été concocté le concept actuel», explique Jenny Schäpper-Uster, cofondatrice de VillageOffice.

Jenny Schäpper-Uster et David Brühlmeier, les cofondateurs de VillageOffice, sont fiers de leur dernier-né. Photo: Simon Tanner

Cofondatrice de VillageOffice, Jenny Schäpper-Uster gère un espace de coworking à Wil SG depuis 2013. C'est elle qui nous fait le tour du propriétaire de la Tessinerplatz. A l’avant, un café qui propose un buffet végan à midi et qui le soir venu, se transforme en salle de concert, une fois les chaises rassemblées et la scène installée. «L’espace est conçu de telle manière à pouvoir le transformer facilement en une petite salle pour accueillir un événement ou un concert.»

Tout est bien pensé, avec de la technologie ultramoderne habilement dissimulée. Les six salles de réunion en sont un bel exemple: la grande salle de conférence dispose de tout ce que le conseil d’administration d’une entreprise internationale pourrait souhaiter.

Pareil pour l’espace de coworking à l’arrière: design minimaliste dominé par le bois et agrémenté d’un bleu-vert discret – des bureaux avec 30 postes de travail tellement chics qu’on s’y installerait bien pour y vivre.

«Avec la Tessinerplatz, qui a ouvert en décembre après une période de travaux de six mois, nous devions trouver un bon équilibre entre l’ambiance start-up et les gens qui viennent travailler ici en complet-veston», explique Jenny Schäpper-Uster. Il a fallu légèrement s’éloigner du «Wohnzimmer», mais pas totalement.

«Les start-up et les associations ont leur place ici, tout comme les indépendants et les habitants du quartier.»

Marion Rösch

Le «Wohnzimmer» était un projet pionnier de coworking encore inédit en Suisse. Cet espace devait s’intégrer dans le quartier et répondre aux besoins de ses habitants. Mais les responsables souhaitaient associer au projet les entreprises établies ici: c’est que de gros employeurs comme Deloitte, la FIFA et Swiss Life ont leur siège à proximité et font partie intégrale du quartier, tout comme de nombreuses PME. Marion Rösch, aujourd’hui membre de l’équipe de gestion du Coworking Lounge de la Tessinerplatz, hôtesse et responsable de la mise sur pied de la communauté, comptait déjà parmi les quatre personnes responsables du projet «Wohnzimmer».

Marion Rösch, le Coworking Lounge de la Tessinerplatz est né du projet «Wohnzimmer».

Comment transforme-t-on un gigantesque bureau vide en un espace de coworking plein de vie?
Il n’y a pas de recette. Notre seule idée directrice a été que ce ne serait pas nous qui allions décider comment rendre le «Wohnzimmer» vivant, mais ceux qui voudraient y passer du temps. Quel genre d’espace de coworking souhaitaient les gens du quartier? Les personnes intéressées devaient s’approprier l’espace temporaire et en faire leur nid avec des meubles chinés. D’où le nom de «Wohnzimmer».

Et comment avez-vous trouvé ces gens?
En novembre 2017, nous avons publié une annonce sur les médias sociaux et dans la NZZ invitant les gens intéressés par un espace de coworking dans le quartier de l’Enge à se rencontrer. Nous avons aussi écrit aux entreprises des alentours et aux associations de quartier.

Qui est venu?
Des tas de gens très différents, des personnes des environs qui souhaitaient faire revivre leur quartier. Il faut dire que l’Enge est un quartier où il y a peu de cafés ou de salles de concert. De jeunes entrepreneurs en recherche de contacts ont aussi été présents dès le début. Cela a finalement donné un groupe de 20 à 40 personnes qui a commencé à faire vivre l’espace de différentes manières.

Un lieu de rencontre destiné aux habitants du quartier, mais aussi aux entreprises locales. Photo: Simon Tanner

Quelles initiatives ont vu le jour?
Certaines personnes se sont regroupées pour organiser des concerts qui ont bien marché. D’autres ont essayé de proposer des plats à midi pour savoir s’il y avait un besoin de ce genre dans le quartier, ce qui a donné naissance à un café bien fréquenté. Nous avions aussi un bain de boules, connu loin à la ronde.

Ça a l’air très amusant. Mais est-ce qu’il y avait des gens qui venaient travailler?
Oui, bien sûr. Le «Wohnzimmer» était un endroit qui devait combiner travail et loisirs, ou comme on dit en anglais un «home away from home». Nous avons donc octroyé beaucoup de place à cet aspect: comment intégrer les loisirs dans un espace de coworking. Après six mois de «Wohnzimmer», nous avons réussi à faire en sorte que les gens s’y sentent comme chez eux.

De quels types de besoins vous ont fait part les entreprises et commerçants du quartier que vous avez interrogés?
Dès le début, Swiss Life, qui s’est adressée à VillageOffice pour ce projet, a fait part de son intérêt pour des places de travail de qualité. Les réponses des autres entreprises ont montré que le quartier manquait de salles de réunion.

Au premier abord, le Coworking Lounge de la Tessinerplatz n’a plus grand-chose à voir avec le «Wohnzimmer» improvisé des débuts.
Au premier abord peut-être, mais nous avons beaucoup repris de ce qui a été initié avec le «Wohnzimmer», sans pour autant négliger les besoins des entreprises et de Swiss Life, la propriétaire des lieux. L’espace de la Tessinerplatz accueille des managers pour des séances, mais les start-up et les associations y ont aussi leur place, tout comme les indépendants et les habitants du quartier pour qui notre bistrot doit rester un endroit où on se sent «comme à la maison». Nous allons continuer à organiser des concerts, ainsi que des soirées jeux de société.

Quels autres besoins de la communauté avez-vous «transféré» du «Wohnzimmer» au Coworking Lounge de la Tessinerplatz?
La semaine, notre café propose toujours un buffet de midi végan, comme le souhaitait la communauté du temps du «Wohnzimmer». C’est «Zum guten Heinrich» qui livre: cette entreprise de restauration se sert d’aliments qui ne peuvent être vendus dans le commerce à cause de leur taille et de leur forme. Le développement durable aussi revêt une grande importance chez nous. Et enfin, la création du café et de la salle de concert est un héritage du «Wohnzimmer». Le quartier avait clairement un besoin dans ce domaine.

De nombreux coins tranquilles permettent de travailler sereinement. Photo: Simon Tanner

Après six mois de travaux, est-ce qu’il a été facile de remotiver la communauté issue du «Wohnzimmer» pour le Coworking Lounge de la Tessinerplatz?
Les personnes engagées dans le «Wohnzimmer» ne sont pas toutes restées, mais nous travaillons à créer de nouveaux événements avec de nouvelles personnes. Les coworkers ont par exemple mis sur pied l’événement d’ouverture «beer o'clock», un événement de réseautage. L’association de quartier a aussi fait un saut récemment. Nous sommes confiants et constatons déjà que l’esprit de la communauté et l’environnement de travail professionnel ne s’opposent pas. Ils se complètent et contribuent à montrer que le travail et les loisirs ne sont pas des espaces totalement cloisonnés, mais qu’ils vont de pair.

 

«Quand les gens travaillent hors du bureau, il faut de la confiance et de nouvelles formes de communication.»

Jenny Schäpper-Uster

L’objectif de VillageOffice est de (r)amener la vie – et aussi des emplois – dans les régions périphériques et de réduire les flux de pendulaires. «Cela suscite un grand intérêt, surtout auprès des communes avec lesquelles nous travaillons», déclare Jenny Schäpper-Uster. Les entreprises en revanche sont encore réticentes. «C’est dû à notre culture de travail ici en Suisse. Quand les gens travaillent hors du bureau, il faut de la confiance et de nouvelles formes de communication.» Au Coworking Lounge de la Tessinerplatz aussi, ce sont principalement des collaborateurs de start-up ou des indépendants qui s’installent régulièrement pour travailler. «Les entreprises utilisent surtout les salles de conférence», constate Jenny Schäpper-Uster. Mais cela pourrait bientôt changer. «D’abord parce que les entreprises qui viennent chez nous pour des séances voient ce que nous avons fait de ces lieux, et ensuite parce que le monde du travail va continuer à se transformer.»

La Tessinerplatz est aussi un endroit où l’on peut tester le travail du futur. Photo: Simon Tanner

Selon les prévisions, d’ici 2025, la moitié des professionnels du secteur tertiaire n’auront plus de place de travail fixe au moins deux jours par semaine. «Les espaces de coworking devront s’adapter de plus en plus aux besoins des entreprises», affirme Giorgio Engeli, responsable de la gestion du portefeuille immobilier chez Swiss Life et contact de VillageOffice.

 

«Un lieu qui améliore la qualité de vie dans le quartier.»

Leila Hauri

Selon lui, investir dans de tels espaces peut être intéressant pour les investisseurs immobiliers. Les investisseurs suisses ne sont pas les seuls à lorgner du côté de la start-up new-yorkaise de coworking WeWork qui connaît une réussite éblouissante. Depuis à peine dix ans, cette entreprise gère des bureaux communautaires selon un concept précis, toujours le même, et valait déjà plusieurs milliards de dollars en bourse après seulement quelques années.

Swiss Life a trouvé en VillageOffice un partenaire organisé en coopérative, dont le profit n’est pas au centre des préoccupations. «Avec le «Wohnzimmer», devenu le Coworking Lounge de la Tessinerplatz, nous avons beaucoup fait d’essais», déclare Jenny Schäpper-Uster. Il faut bien commencer par tester les besoins du travail du futur. Et conformément à l’approche communautaire de VillageOffice, amener le lieu de travail là où les gens vivent. Dans ce cas, dans le quartier de l’Enge.

«Cette démarche souple correspond parfaitement à l’approche du fonds de soutien Engagement Migros», reconnaît Leila Hauri, la responsable du projet. «Nous sommes convaincus que la conjonction du prototype qu’a été le «Wohnzimmer» et de l’approche communautaire participative a permis de jeter des bases indispensables pour que la Tessinerplatz soit plus qu’un simple nouvel espace de coworking, mais bel et bien un lieu vivant qui rassemble les gens et améliore la qualité de vie dans le quartier.»