Skip to main content
Match-Making Module

“It worked – but the scene is still young.”

Although the global market is huge, many do not know the value of their work. Photo: Simon Tanner
Although the global market is huge, many do not know the value of their work. Photo: Simon Tanner

In Switzerland, a new generation of creatives is growing up whose playing field is digital: game designers, virtual reality designers, digital architects, artists and storytellers. Over the past three years, Engagement Migros has used a Match-Making Module to bring these new creatives together with investors and potential buyers of their products. We take stock.

Even the Federal Council stated in March 2018 that there is potential in the digital creative sector. However, industry experts agree that this potential is not yet being exploited in Switzerland. The international market for digital creation has become huge, with sales in the video games industry alone estimated at around 80 billion dollars worldwide. Add to that other sectors such as the film industry or the luxury goods and advertising industry. All of them rely on digital creations.

“We want to build bridges.”

Samira Lütscher

There is actually a lot of new digital creative talent in Switzerland. Since 2004, 200 game designers have graduated from the University of the Arts in Zurich alone. And there are more every year, not only from the field of games: for example from the Ecal School of Art in Lausanne by Media Interaction Design, or from HEAD and the two Swiss Federal Institutes of Technology in Zurich and Lausanne.

Have done pioneering work for digital creatives together: Samira Lütscher and Marie Mayoly. Photo: Simon Tanner

Their production, the Federal Council continues, “is of high quality, but their output is still modest. Access to the market is difficult”. It is the aim of Engagement Migros to support projects that lie precisely at the crossroads between creation and the market. The Match-Making Module was therefore initiated in 2016. The project will now be completed at the end of 2018. Samira Lütscher has been managing the project internally at the development fund. She is now sitting at the table with Marie Mayoly, the external project manager. Together they look back.

How did you get the idea for this project?
S. L.: After a pilot project that we conducted together with Pro Helvetia, we saw that there is a need in Switzerland to connect digital creatives to a possible market.

Why especially them?
S. L.: Other creative industries have their market environment: writers, publishers, artists, galleries and so on. But the market for digital creatives is still in its infancy in Switzerland. There are yet many gaps in the ecosystem – we wanted to build bridges here.

What was the project’s goal at the beginning?
S. L.: We wanted to find out what the market was like. That’s why we launched an open-ended project and outlined various scenarios. One of them, for example, was that it could result in a small matchmaking agency that would be financed by placements. During the course of the programme, the digital creatives have indeed become professionalised. We are convinced that your ecosystem will soon flourish.  

What solution have you found?
S. L.: We are concluding the project with a “cookbook”, a guide on how to organise matchmaking, i.e. bringing digital creatives together with buyers and investors, and on what to look out for in this context.

Passing on knowledge – one of the common goals of the project and the sponsor. Photo: Simon Tanner

Marie Mayoly headed up the project, carried out the matchmaking and wrote the cookbook. In the beginning she introduced a dozen digital creatives to potential investors, partners or clients. The discussions after the pilot project resulted in the following findings: Yes, there is interest. However, it is still too little known that Switzerland is increasingly training digital creatives who work at a high level.

“I had to convince some people that their art was in demand.”

Marie Mayoly

By the end of 2018, Marie Mayoly will have introduced almost a hundred creatives to over 300 investors. The trained hospitality manager and her Swiss protégés have attended dozens of trade fairs worldwide over the past three years: several times in Cannes, and at US fairs and festivals such as the Sundance Film Festival in Utah and the Game Developers Conference in San Francisco.

How did matchmaking work?
M. M.: The process was improved from one matchmaking meeting to the next and is now divided into five phases: searching for creatives, finding investors, coaching before the meeting, the meeting itself, and then obtaining feedback from both sides.

Which of these phases was the most challenging?
M. M.: Among the many interesting Swiss creatives, there are some who see themselves so strongly as artists that they can’t imagine working commercially for companies. These young creatives come from universities that dedicate little time to the business aspect. So their graduates don’t understand how the creative digital market works. I had to convince some of these young men that their art and skills are in demand on the market.

Good matchmaking – two success stories
At the end of 2016, Somniacs sells one of its Birdly units – a flight simulator that combines VR and robot technology – to mk2 VR, the first permanent venue for virtual reality in France. mk2 is an important French film distribution company and cinema chain.

The digital artist Martin Herting presented his work Sensible Data at the Ars Electronica in Linz – a pioneering festival in Europe for research into digital art and media culture.

Further examples can also be found in this report.

 

How did you find the investors and potential buyers?
M. M.: I did a lot of research on the internet and in databases. I went through the participant lists of the festivals and partner organisations and searched for similarities.

That sounds like a lot of work...
M. M.: Yes, sometimes research is almost detective work. Matchmaking isn’t about finding just any potential investor, but the investor who best fits the Swiss company. I had to find out exactly what a company was doing and in which direction it wanted to move. I had to find out exactly who was in charge. I wrote a lot of emails to people somewhere in the world who never got back to me. You have to approach matchmaking with a sense of humour.

The project is finished, but the potential will grow in the future. Photo: Simon Tanner

Were you there yourself at the meetings?
M. M.: No. But I prepared everything. What is often forgotten at meetings: the environment. It is important. It has to be quiet and not too hot, with pleasant lighting. I made sure the atmosphere was right. After the meetings I collected feedback from both sides. That’s just as important as preparing for a meeting. It’s the only way to learn, prepare better for other matchmaking activities and continue the success story.

Why is the project not being continued commercially?
M. M.: That was indeed an option that I examined. Unfortunately, the market environment – we are also talking about the ecosystem – is not yet ready. The matchmaking did work. We saw that there is a need for this. But I am confident that there will soon be such an agency.

But?
M. M.: The scene here is still too young to be able to pay for targeted matchmaking. We have done pioneering work. The Swiss digital creatives now know that there is a market. And the investors and buyers have seen that there is potential in Switzerland. In the future, this potential will not be smaller, but larger in any case.

Digital entrepreneurs and creatives face a huge challenge. As pioneers of radical new artistic ideas, they must not only develop their project, but also create a whole new market. While traditionally-oriented creative professionals usually have a relatively good understanding of their market and its established supporters, platforms, investors, patrons and other important stakeholders, digital cultural entrepreneurs often have to start with less orientation. They need to build a completely new ecosystem for their genre. As a valuable tool in this endeavour, the “Cookbook” of the Match-Making Module is now available to emerging organisations and institutions such as the Pro Helvetia Arts Council.

Aller au contenu principal
Match-Making-Modul

«Cela fonctionne, mais la scène est encore jeune»

Le marché global est gigantesque, mais ils sont nombreux à ne pas connaître la valeur de leur travail. Photo: Simon Tanner
Le marché global est gigantesque, mais ils sont nombreux à ne pas connaître la valeur de leur travail. Photo: Simon Tanner

En Suisse grandit toute une nouvelle génération de créateurs qui ont fait de l’espace numérique leur terrain de jeu: game designers, créateurs de réalité virtuelle, architectes du numérique, artistes et conteurs. Avec son Match-Making-Modul, Engagement Migros s’est efforcé toutes ces dernières années de mettre en relation ces nouveaux créateurs avec des investisseurs et de potentiels acheteurs de leurs produits. Bilan.

En mars 2018, le Conseil fédéral lui-même en faisait le constat: le secteur des «créateurs numériques» renferme un énorme potentiel, qui est encore loin d’être épuisé dans notre pays, à en croire les initiés. Mais le marché international de la création numérique est gigantesque: au niveau planétaire, l’industrie du jeu vidéo draine à elle seule un chiffre d’affaires de près de 80 milliards de dollars. Sans compter des branches comme l’industrie du cinéma, du luxe ou de la publicité, qui tablent toutes sur la création numérique.

«Nous voulons construire des ponts.»

Samira Lütscher

La Suisse peut compter sur une bonne relève dans ce domaine. Rien qu’à Zurich, depuis 2004 200 game designers sont sortis de la Haute école d’arts, et s’y ajoutent chaque année d’autres diplômés, aussi dans d’autres domaines que celui des secteurs des jeux vidéo: l’Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne (ecal) propose un bachelor Média & interaction design, l’HEAD et les deux écoles polytechniques fédérales de Zurich et Lausanne proposent aussi des cursus.

Samira Lütscher et Marie Mayoly ont accompli un travail de pionnier pour les «créateurs numériques». Photo: Simon Tanner

«Leur production est de qualité, mais encore faible» écrit le Conseil fédéral. «L’accès aux marchés reste difficile.» Engagement Migros a précisément pour objectif de soutenir des projets qui en sont au stade du passage de la création à la mise sur le marché. Le Match-Making-Modul lancé en 2016 et qui se terminera fin 2018 a été mis sur pied dans ce but. Samira Lütscher, qui a dirigé le projet au sein du fonds de soutien, et Marie Mayoly, la cheffe de projet externe, reviennent sur leur travail.

Comment vous est venue l’idée de ce projet?
S. L.: Après un projet pilote mené en collaboration avec Pro Helvetia, nous avons réalisé qu’il y avait en Suisse un besoin de connecter ces créateurs numériques à un marché potentiel.

Pourquoi eux en particulier?
S. L.: Les autres secteurs créatifs ont déjà leur «environnement commercial»: les écrivains les maisons d’édition, les artistes les galeries, etc., alors qu’en Suisse, celui des créateurs numériques en est encore à ses balbutiements. Il présente encore bien des lacunes, d’où notre désir de construire des ponts.

Quel était votre but au début du projet?
S. L.: Nous voulions d’abord découvrir comment se présentait le marché. Nous avons donc lancé un projet ouvert avec plusieurs scénarios. L’un d’eux prévoyait la création d’une agence de matchmaking financée par la médiation. C’est ainsi qu’en cours de route, nous en sommes arrivées à une professionnalisation des créateurs numériques. Nous avons l’assurance que leur «écosystème» est sur le point de fleurir.

Quelle solution avez-vous trouvée?
S. L.: Nous clôturons le projet avec un «Cookbook», une sorte de livre de recettes des choses à faire et à ne pas faire dans l’organisation de ce matchmaking, ce rapprochement entre les créateurs numériques et les acheteurs et investisseurs.

Transmettre des connaissances: l’un des objectifs communs du projet et du fonds de soutien. Photo: Simon Tanner

Marie Mayoly a dirigé le projet, réalisé le matchmaking, puis rédigé le guide. Au début, elle a présenté une douzaine de créateurs numériques à des investisseurs, partenaires ou clients potentiels. Les discussions menées à la suite de ce projet pilote ont permis de confirmer que, oui, intérêt il y a. Mais le fait que la Suisse forme un nombre croissant de nouveaux créateurs qui fournissent un travail de très bonne qualité ne se sait pas encore assez.

«Certains ont véritablement eu besoin que je les persuade que leur art était demandé sur le marché.»

Marie Mayoly

Au terme du projet fin 2018, Marie Mayoly aura mis en contact près de cent créateurs avec plus de 300 investisseurs. Hospitality manager de formation, elle a accompagné ses protégés à des dizaines de foires de par le monde: plusieurs fois à Cannes, à des salons et festivals aux USA, comme le Sundance Film Festival en Utah ou la Game Developers Conference à San Francisco.

Comment as-tu procédé pour ce matchmaking?
M. M.: Le processus s’est amélioré au fil des séances. Aujourd’hui, il comprend cinq étapes: la recherche de créateurs, la recherche d’investisseurs, le coaching avant la rencontre, la rencontre en tant que telle et le feedback des deux parties.

Laquelle de ces phases s’est révélée particulièrement difficile?
M. M.: Les créateurs sortent de hautes écoles qui accordent pour le moment peu d’importance à l’aspect commercial. En conséquence, leurs diplômés ont peut d'idée de la manière dont fonctionne le marché numérique créatif et il a parfois fallu que je les convaincs que leur art et leur savoir-faire étaient demandés sur le marché.

Bon matchmaking – deux exemples de succès
Fin 2016, Somniacs a vendu un de ses Birdly, un équipement qui permet de faire l’expérience de voler en combinant la technologie de la VR et de la robotique, à mk2 VR, la première salle de jeux dédiés à la réalité virtuelle en France. mk2 est une société de distribution de films et une chaîne de cinéma importante en France.

L’artiste numérique Martin Herting a présenté son travail Sensible Data au Ars Electronica à Linz – un festival pionnier en Europe pour la recherche dans l’art numérique et la culture des médias.

D’autres exemples sont disponibles dans le rapport.

Comment as-tu trouvé les investisseurs et clients potentiels?
M. M.: J’ai fait beaucoup de recherches sur Internet et dans des bases de données. J’ai aussi épluché les listes des participants aux festivals et organisations partenaires, puis cherché des correspondances.

C’est beaucoup de travail...
M. M: Oui, parfois j’ai eu l’impression de faire un travail de détective. Le matchmaking ne consiste pas seulement à trouver n’importe quel investisseur potentiel, mais l’investisseur qui va convenir le mieux à la société suisse en question. Il me fallait découvrir ce que faisait exactement une entreprise, son orientation future, puis chercher la personne responsable. J’ai écrit un grand nombre d’e-mails à des personnes dans le monde entier, courriers restés sans réponse. Il faut aborder le matchmaking comme un jeu.

Le projet touche à sa fin, mais son potentiel va augmenter à l’avenir. Photo: Simon Tanner

Est-ce que tu participais à la rencontre proprement dite?
M. M.: Non, mais je préparais tout. Dans les séances, on oublie souvent l’environnement. C’est important. Il faut du calme, une lumière agréable et une bonne température. Je tenais à ce que l’atmosphère soit plaisante. Après la réunion, je demandais un feedback aux deux parties. C’est aussi important que la préparation. Cela permet d’apprendre, de mieux préparer les autres activités de matchmaking et de poursuivre sur la voie du succès.

Comment se fait-il que le projet ne se poursuive pas au niveau commercial?
M. M.: En fait, c’est une option que j’avais envisagée, mais le marché – on parle aussi d’écosystème – n’est hélas pas encore prêt, même si le matchmaking a fonctionné, car il y a un besoin, nous l’avons constaté. En revanche, je suis convaincue qu’une telle agence de médiation verra bientôt le jour.

Mais?
M. M.: La scène est encore jeune pour que les gens acceptent de payer pour du matchmaking ciblé. Nous avons accompli un travail de pionnier. Les créateurs numériques suisses savent désormais qu’un marché existe. Et les investisseurs et les acheteurs ont constaté qu’il y a un potentiel en Suisse. Un potentiel qui ne va faire que grandir, c’est certain.

Les entreprises et créateurs numériques sont confrontés à un défi gigantesque: pionniers dans le développement d’idées artistiques radicalement nouvelles, ils doivent non seulement monter leur projet, mais aussi créer un tout nouveau marché. Alors que les créateurs plus traditionnels ont une assez bonne connaissance de leur marché et de ses soutiens, plateformes, investisseurs, mécènes et autres groupes d’intérêt importants, les entrepreneurs culturels du numérique en sont souvent réduits à démarrer dans le brouillard: ils doivent développer un écosystème totalement nouveau pour leur genre. Les organisations émergentes et les institutions comme la Fondation pour la culture Pro Helvetia disposent désormais du «Cookbook» de Match-Making-Modul pour les guider dans cette voie.