Skip to main content
Schub – Social Cooperative Hub

Start-up aid for social entrepreneurship

Pioneering project SCHUB sets its sights on social entrepreneurship. Photo: Simon Tanner
Pioneering project SCHUB sets its sights on social entrepreneurship. Photo: Simon Tanner

In Switzerland, more and more start-ups are placing emphasis on social approaches to business. Until now, there have been no services to support this. This is where the pioneering project SCHUB – which means "push" or "impetus" in English – steps in with its innovation programme.

Nowadays, many entrepreneurs want more than simply to maximise profits – they want an economy that has society's best interests in mind. Alongside financial returns, social and environmental gains are key to these entrepreneurs. To support such companies, SENS, the platform for social entrepreneurship, has launched the pioneering project SCHUB in cooperation with Engagement Migros. 

 

"Cooperative companies are ideally placed to enshrine the requirements of social entrepreneurship into their legal framework."

Rahel Pfister

A push for social entrepreneurship 

SCHUB is focused on creating and expanding impact-oriented business models, with social entrepreneurship and the legal forms suited to this, such as cooperatives, taking centre stage. SCHUB is particularly keen to help young start-ups looking to set themselves up as social enterprises, offering assistance such as a mentoring programme, a social business toolbox and cross-industry networking opportunities.  

The objective of SCHUB is to inspire young companies and, in the truest sense of the project's name, to give them a "push", thus encouraging social entrepreneurship to take hold in Switzerland. "The more attention these companies receive, the more people will become familiar with social entrepreneurship. And the more familiar people are with social entrepreneurship, the more companies we will attract," says Stephanie Frick.

Committed to firmly establishing social entrepreneurship in the start-up scene: project founders Stephanie Frick and Raher Pfister. Photo: Simon Tanner

Behind SCHUB are Rahel Pfister, the Managing Director, and Stephanie Frick, Project Lead Startup and Innovation at CooperativeSuisse. Over the past few months, the mentoring programme was implemented for the first time and four cooperative start-ups were accompanied to their set-up phase thanks to the support of Engagement Migros. Here, the founders were coached in tandems by professionals from other cooperatives and social enterprises. "Switzerland is home to lots of great social entrepreneurs, but there is no meta-organisation bringing them together," says Frick. This is what she wants to change. The findings from the mentoring programme have been compiled into a toolbox that will be published later on, with the aim of providing guidance to other start-ups setting up a social enterprise. The toolbox contains support materials such as model statutes, coaching videos and podcasts on the topic. "Impact-oriented business models are in demand. Cooperatives are ideally placed to meet the requirements of social entrepreneurship, down to their legal framework." Rahel Pfister. You only have to look at the cooperatives from the mentoring programme to see the benefits of social entrepreneurship.

The project team even works in a cooperative building – in the Kalkbreite Cooperative in Zurich. Photo: Simon Tanner

More trust through common responsibility 

One of the start-ups being supported is Vita.Coop. The young business wants to make living wills accessible online with the help of smart contracts for patients, hospitals and doctors, using start-of-the-art encryption technologies such as blockchain. "We want to make patient data accessible quickly and securely, from any location," says Marcos Garcia Pedraza, founder and Managing Director of Vita.Coop. The key aims here are ensuring that living wills can be drawn up, managed and networked easily, whilst protecting patient data. For this, Vita.Coop has developed an online tool. "Our aim is also to ensure that living wills can be swiftly accessed from abroad," says Pedraza. 

Unlike many other start-ups in the health industry, Vita.Coop is organised in the form of a cooperative. "This means that our customers are also owners of the company. This gives them much greater control over what happens to their data," he says. Therefore, this eliminates the incentive to misuse the data, he continues. "We are not under pressure from third-party donors to monetise the data like other commercial companies." What's more, the cooperative creates an exciting network through which the members can support each other, he says.

Participating projects hail from all over Switzerland – and even more are on the horizon. Photo: Simon Tanner

Pushing ideas forward together 

The cooperative "Die Cuisine" has also opted for social entrepreneurship. "Die Cuisine" is an event space in Zurich spanning 600 square metres, featuring seminar rooms, a workshop and an event kitchen for hire. The cooperative has brought many young companies together, including catering service "Zum guten Heinrich", which focuses on sustainable cuisine. "We also use misshapen carrots that can't be sold in the supermarket," says Lukas Bühler, co-founder of "Zum guten Heinrich". Even transporting food to customers is done sustainably, with all food delivered using electric cargo bikes. "Die Cuisine" has allowed the catering service to expand its concept even further. "We want to promote sustainable eating there, too," says Bühler. 

"You don't have to win over third-party donors – instead you obtain funding from people who are also involved in the idea."

Lukas Bühler

To date, 40 companies are said to have each paid CHF 5,000 into the cooperative, relatively quickly generating enough start-up capital. "That's definitely one of the cooperative's advantages. You don't have to win over third-party donors – instead you obtain funding from people who are also involved in the idea." 

Bühler is also delighted with the support from SCHUB. "They've shown us which people we are inspiring with our idea and how we should approach them," says Bühler. He is also impressed with the network, which was created together with other participants. Now he is looking forward to the opening of "Die Cuisine" in April. "For us, climate change is real. We are committed to making a positive contribution to this issue with our sustainable concept."

Both project founders, together with their team, will continue to develop SCHUB over the coming months. Photo: Simon Tanner

Recognising the signs of the times

Linda Sulzer, project manager at Engagement Migros, is among those who are convinced that more and more young companies will start thinking about how they can have a positive social impact. "Those who have founded a start-up but who have not thought about social aspects have simply not cottoned on to the times we are living in," says Sulzer. SCHUB wants to raise awareness of such aspects among young companies who are just starting out. An evaluation is currently being carried out to determine ways to develop SCHUB's services further. "We hope we can inspire lots more young visionaries to turn their hand to social entrepreneurship," says Sulzer.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Schub – Social Cooperative Hub

Starthilfe für Soziales Unternehmertum

Das Pionierprojekt SCHUB setzt das Soziale Unternehmertum ins Zentrum. Foto: Simon Tanner

Soziales Wirtschaften wird für Schweizer Start-ups immer wichtiger. Bis jetzt fehlte allerdings ein Angebot, das dies fördert. Hier setzt das Pionierprojekt SCHUB an – mit einem Innovationsprogramm.

Viele Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmer wollen heutzutage mehr, als nur materiellen Gewinn erwirtschaften. Viele wünschen sich eine Wirtschaft, die der Gesellschaft dient. Ihnen ist neben der finanziellen deshalb auch die soziale und ökologische Rendite wichtig. Um solche Firmen zu unterstützen, lanciert der Verein für Soziales Unternehmertum, SENS, mit Unterstützung von Engagement Migros, das Pionierprojekt SCHUB. 

«Genossenschaften eignen sich gut, um die Anforderungen von Social Entrepreneurship bis ins Rechtsgefäss zu verankern.»

Rahel Pfister

Schub für Social-Entrepreneurship 

SCHUB setzt sich für die Entstehung und Expansion von wirkungsorientierten Unternehmensmodellen ein. Im Zentrum steht dabei das Soziale Unternehmertum und dafür geeignete Rechtsformen wie die Genossenschaft. Spezielle Aufmerksamkeit erhalten bei SCHUB junge Start-ups, die sich als soziales Unternehmen aufstellen möchten. Für diese bietet das Projekt unter anderem ein Mentoring-Programm, eine Social Business Toolbox und branchenübergreifende Vernetzungsmöglichkeiten an.  

Mit SCHUB wolle man junge Firmen inspirieren und ihnen im wahrsten Sinnen des Wortes einen Schub geben, damit das Soziale Unternehmertum sich in der Schweiz etablieren kann. «Je mehr Aufmerksamkeit diese Unternehmen bekommen, desto bekannter wird Social-Entrepreneurship. Und je bekannter Social-Entrepreneurship ist, desto mehr Unternehmen wird es anziehen», sagt Stephanie Frick. 

Wollen Soziales Unternehmertum in der Start-up-Szene verankern: die Projektgründerin Stephanie Frick und Rahel Pfister. Foto: Simon Tanner

Verantwortlich für die Umsetzung von SCHUB sind Rahel Pfister, die Geschäftsführerin sowie Stephanie Frick, Bereichsleiterin Startup & Innovation von CooperativeSuisse. In den vergangenen Monaten habe man dank der Unterstützung von Engagement Migros das Mentoring-Programm erstmals durchgeführt und vier genossenschaftliche Start-ups in ihrer Gründungsphase begleitet. Dabei wurden die Gründer*innen in sogenannten Tandems von Profis aus anderen Genossenschaften und sozialen Unternehmen gecoacht. «In der Schweiz gibt es viele tolle Social Entrepreneure, aber noch keine Metaorganisation, die sie zusammenbringt», sagt Frick. Das wolle man ändern. Die Erkenntnisse aus dem Mentoring-Programm wurden in einer Toolbox zusammengetragen, die später publiziert wird und anderen Startups als Orientierung bei der Gründung eines sozialen Unternehmens helfen soll. Darin enthalten seien unter anderem Musterstatuten, Coaching-Videos und Podcasts zum Thema. «Wirkungsorientierte Geschäftsmodelle sind gefragt. Genossenschaften eignen sich gut, um die Anforderungen des Social Entrepreneurship bis ins Rechtsgefäss zu verankern», sagt Rahel Pfister. Welche Vorteile Soziales Unternehmertum bringt, zeigt auch ein Blick auf die Genossenschaften aus dem Mentoring-Programm.

Das Projektteam arbeitet selbst in einem genossenschaftlichen Bau in der Zürcher Kalkbreite. Foto: Simon Tanner

Mehr Vertrauen durch gemeinsame Verantwortung 

Eines der geförderten Start-Ups ist Vita.Coop. Das Jungunternehmen hat zum Ziel, die Patientenverfügung mithilfe von sogenannten Smart Contracts für Patientinnen, Spitäler und Ärzte online zugänglich zu machen. Dabei werden modernste Kryptotechnologien wie Blockchain verwendet. «Wir wollen Patientendaten so aufbereiten, dass sie schnell und sicher überall zugänglich sind», sagt Gründer und Geschäftsführer Marcos Garcia Pedraza. Wichtig dabei sei, dass man die Patientenverfügung einfach erstellen, verwalten und vernetzen kann und, dass der Datenschutz gewährleistet ist. Dafür hat Vita.Coop ein Online-Tool entwickelt. «Unser Ziel ist zudem, dass man auch im Ausland schnell Zugriff auf die Patientenverfügung hat», sagt Pedraza. 

Im Gegensatz zu vielen anderen Start-ups in der Gesundheitsbranche hat sich Vita.Coop genossenschaftlich organisiert. «Bei uns sind die Kunden auch gleichzeitig die Besitzer der Firma. Damit haben sie einen viel grösseren Einfluss, was mit ihren Daten passieren soll», sagt er. Somit sei zum Beispiel der Anreiz, die Daten zu missbrauchen, nicht da. «Wir stehen nicht wie andere Kapitalgesellschaften unter dem Druck fremder Geldgeber, die Daten zu monetarisieren.» Ausserdem entstünde durch die Genossenschaft ein spannendes Netzwerk, in dem sich die Mitglieder gegenseitig unterstützen können. 

Die teilnehmenden Projekte verteilen sich auf die ganze Schweiz – und es sollen noch mehr werden. Foto: Simon Tanner

Zusammen Ideen weiterbringen 

Sich ebenfalls für Soziales Unternehmertum entschieden hat die Genossenschaft «Die Cuisine». Das Konzept: «Die Cuisine» ist ein 600 Quadratmeter grosser Event-Ort in Zürich, in dem Seminarräume, eine Werkstatt und eine Eventküche von Firmen gemietet werden können. In der Genossenschaft haben sich gleich mehrere Jungunternehmen zusammengeschlossen. Eines von ihnen ist der Cateringservice «Zum guten Heinrich», der auf nachhaltiges Kochen setzt. «Bei uns verwenden wir auch krumme Rüebli, die so im Laden nicht verkauft werden können», sagt Lukas Bühler, Mitgründer von «Zum guten Heinrich». Auch der Transport zum Kunden sei nachhaltig, in dem das Essen mit E-Cargo-Bikes ausgeliefert wird. Mit der «Die Cuisine» habe man das Konzept noch ausgeweitet. «Auch dort wollen wir auf nachhaltiges Essen setzen», sagt Bühler. 

«Man muss keine fremden Geldgeber überzeugen, sondern bekommt das Geld von jenen, die selber bei der Idee mitmachen.»

Lukas Bühler

Bis jetzt hätten 40 Unternehmen je 5000 Franken in die Genossenschaft eingezahlt. So habe man relativ schnell Startkapital sammeln können. «Das ist definitiv ein Vorteil der Genossenschaft. Man muss keine fremden Geldgeber überzeugen, sondern bekommt das Geld von jenen, die selber bei der Idee mitmachen.» 

Begeistert zeigt sich Bühler auch mit der Förderung von SCHUB. «Sie haben uns unter anderem gezeigt, welche Personen wir für unsere Idee begeistern und wie wir sie ansprechen sollen», sagt Bühler. Spannend sei auch das Netzwerk gewesen, das mit anderen Teilnehmenden entstanden ist. Nun freue man sich, im April «Die Cuisine» eröffnen zu können. «Für uns ist der Klimawandel real. Wir sind motiviert, mit unserem nachhaltigen Konzept konkret etwas Positives beitragen zu können.»

Die beiden Projektgründerinnen werden, zusammen mit ihrem Team, SCHUB in den kommenden Monaten laufend weiterentwickeln. Foto: Simon Tanner

Zeichen der Zeit erkennen

Dass sich in Zukunft immer mehr Jungunternehmen Gedanken darüber machen, welchen positiven gesellschaftlichen Impact sie  haben wollen, glaubt auch Linda Sulzer, Projektbetreuerin von Engagement Migros. «Wer heute ein Start-up gründet und dabei nicht auch gesellschaftliche Aspekte berücksichtigt, hat die Zeichen der Zeit nicht erkannt», sagt Sulzer. SCHUB möchte junge Unternehmen gleich bei der Gründung für solche Aspekte sensibilisieren. Im Moment würde gerade eine Evaluation durchgeführt, um zu lernen, wie das Angebot von SCHUB konkret weiterentwickelt werden kann. «Wir hoffen, dass noch viele weitere junge Visionäre für das Soziale Unternehmertum begeistert werden können», sagt Sulzer.