Skip to main content
PLATEFORME 10 digital

Digitalisation, but how?

How is art conveyed digitally? The project “PLATEFORME 10 digital” is breaking new ground, and not just in terms of technology. Photo: Alain Herzog
How is art conveyed digitally? The project “PLATEFORME 10 digital” is breaking new ground, and not just in terms of technology. Photo: Alain Herzog

PLATEFORME 10 – the new neighbourhood for the arts in Lausanne – is growing upwards. The three museums, which will move into the new location in 2021, are already planning, programming and working on a joint digital presentation. “PLATEFORME 10 digital” will complement the new exhibition space in the digital sphere. Its essence will be building not with concrete, but with algorithms.

Lausanne is not just getting a new museum near the train station; it is being given a new landmark, a museum quarter with restaurants, bookstores, cafés and plenty of leisure space spread out over 22,000 square metres.

The Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts (mcb-a) art museum, the Musée de l’Elysée photography museum and the Mudac design museum will be just a stone’s throw from one another by 2021. Their spatial proximity is meant to inspire an exchange between the arts.

 

A virtual exhibition space

What can the digital dimension contribute to this exchange? How can the exhibitions be expanded with these new tools? And how will culture be conveyed in this context in general?

These are just some of the questions that Manuel Sigrist and Marco Costantini are asking themselves. The former is responsible for the web and new media at the Musée de l’Elysée, the latter is the curator at the Mudac design museum in Lausanne. Since 2016, they have been working with a colleague from the mcb-a art museum and other partners on a joint digital project, the “PLATEFORME 10 digital”. Engagement Migros initiated the project and wants to promote dialogue on how the three museums can jointly use the digital dimension in future art education. The objective is for a common virtual space to be built for the three museums before they move into the new buildings at Lausanne’s train station. At the same time, the digital aspect serves as a catalyst for cross-house collaboration in terms of content. The dialogue between the three disciplines will also subsequently continue to be available offline.

How do you build a common virtual exhibition space? The teams from mcb-a, Musée de l'Elysée and Mudac get inspired by a workshop at EPFL’s ArtLab. Photo: Alain Herzog

How do you build a common virtual exhibition space? The teams from mcb-a, Musée de l'Elysée and Mudac get inspired by a workshop at EPFL’s ArtLab. Photo: Alain Herzog

Digital construction is complex

After two years of work on the project, however, it is clear that digital construction is also complicated and unpredictable. There is still not much empirical data available on what audiences want. Algorithms, the building material of the digital world, have the advantage of being infinitely flexible. But technology is still a long way from meeting all demands.

In Lausanne, too, technology quickly brought the utopians of digital art mediation down to earth. Because in order to be present in virtual space at all, the works of art first have to be in digital form. And that's not easy.

Pioneering work: there is little empirical data available on digitising photos and objects in 3D.
Pioneering work: there is little empirical data available on digitising photos and objects in 3D.

Technology, the great hurdle

The great hurdle on the way to a digital presence is a reality check in the form of technology. It is about discovering what is both possible and in everyone’s interest. The innovative project partner of “PLATEFORME 10 digital” is the spin-off Artmyn, which emerged from EPFL. With the help of hundreds of photographs that are being scanned into software, the tech company is capturing the works of art virtually in three-dimensional form, creating a digital copy. The fact that the materiality of the works is also being made clearly visible is unique worldwide.

A pilot project shows what this could look like: the virtual copy of a photo collage of René Burri about Jean Tinguely. In digital space, the work can be moved and details zoomed in on as desired.

 

Initial findings

In the first months of the project, the museum representatives and Artmyn tested what kind of works can even be digitised at all using the existing technology.

The initial insight after the tests were completed came with sobering news: works larger than 30 x 30 centimetres did not yet have the desired quality.

A second finding, which mainly affects the digitisation of the works of the design museum: acceptable digitisation has only been possible for flat objects such as photos, pictures, stamps, jewellery and plates. Vases, lamps and other larger objects cannot yet be digitally copied satisfactorily using Artmyn technology. The next step of the Lausanne museums will therefore be to test other technologies.

Hundreds of photographs for one digital copy: this digitisation machine was developed by the EPFL spin-off Artmyn just for “PLATEFORME 10 digital”. Photo: X

Hundreds of photographs for one digital copy: this digitisation machine was developed by the EPFL spin-off Artmyn just for “PLATEFORME 10 digital”.

And a third realisation: everything always takes much longer than expected. Any further demands on the quality of the digital copy must first be technically reprogrammed and recalculated. The museum curators, who have the last word on the results of the digitised objects, are reluctant to cut back on the materiality and colour of the digital copies.

“We want to create interactive meeting spaces.”

Marco Costantini

Once the works of art are available digitally, Manuel Sigrist and Marco Costantini have many ideas on how the works from the three museums could meet digitally. Many images, objects and photographs were created at the same time, refer to the same historical events, perhaps even belong to the same art movement or refer to past related movements.

Manuel Sigrist, project manager of “PLATEFORME 10 digital”, is convinced that “simply digitising works of art and putting them online cannot be the goal of digitisation”.
Manuel Sigrist, project manager of “PLATEFORME 10 digital”, is convinced that “simply digitising works of art and putting them online cannot be the goal of digitisation”.

Online, countless links could be made, stories could be told, new worlds could be discovered. Because for Manuel Sigrist it is clear: “Simply digitising works of art and putting them online cannot be the goal of digitisation.” And Marco Costantini adds: “We want to create interactive meeting places, offering a dimension that goes beyond what the new museum quarter will be in the future.” The technical term for this is UX – user experience.

More than 30 works from the three museums have now been digitised. A form of presenting and communicating these works together in a digital space is being exhaustively developed and programmed. Explanatory videos have already been created from the first digital works of art. The Lausanne group wants to enhance them and make them even more professional. “We are gaining important experiences,” says Manuel Sigrist, who, like his project partner Marco Costantini, is involved in a digitisation project for the first time.

“We are gaining important experiences.”

Manuel Sigrist

“We could not all have known what technological realities we would encounter in implementing such a 3D digitisation project,” says Alexandra Müller-Crepon, project manager at Engagement Migros. Despite all the difficulties, the project has already achieved a lot, she adds: “‘PLATEFORME 10 digital’” is doing pioneering work. The joint experiences are not only opening up a new basis for future cooperation for the three museums, the findings of the project are also of interest to other museums.”

 

Sharing knowledge with other museums

That is why Manuel Sigrist and Marco Costantini, with support from Engagement Migros, are organising for April the first international symposium on digitisation in museums together with colleagues from Swiss museums and keynote speakers from all over the world. Because museums everywhere are working to answer the same questions: digitisation yes, but how? What are the goals and tasks of digital innovation in museums?

Direkt zum Inhalt
PLATEFORME 10 digital

Digitalisieren, aber wie?

Wie wird Kunst im Digitalen vermittelt? Das Projekt «PLATEFORME 10 digital» betritt nicht nur in technischer Hinsicht Neuland. Foto: Alain Herzog
Wie wird Kunst im Digitalen vermittelt? Das Projekt «PLATEFORME 10 digital» betritt nicht nur in technischer Hinsicht Neuland. Foto: Alain Herzog

PLATEFORME 10 – das neue Kunstquartier in Lausanne – wächst in die Höhe. Bereits wird an einem gemeinsamen digitalen Auftritt der drei Museen, die ab 2021 den neuen Standort beziehen, geplant, programmiert und getüftelt. «PLATEFORME 10 digital» soll die neuen Ausstellungsflächen in der digitalen Sphäre ergänzen. Über die Krux, wenn nicht mit Beton, sondern mit Algorithmen gebaut wird.

Lausanne erhält beim Bahnhof nicht einfach ein neues Museum. Nein, Lausanne soll auf 22’000 Quadratmetern ein neues Markenzeichen, ein Museumsquartier mit Restaurants, Buchläden, Cafés und viel Platz zum Verweilen erhalten.

Das Kunstmuseum Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts mcb-a, das Fotografiemuseum Musée de l’Elysée und das Designmuseum Mudac befinden sich 2021 dann nur noch einen Steinwurf voneinander entfernt. Die räumliche Nähe zueinander soll auch den Austausch zwischen den Künsten beflügeln.


Ein virtueller Ausstellungsraum

Was kann die digitale Dimension zu diesem Austausch beitragen? Wie können die Ausstellungen mithilfe der neuen Tools erweitert werden? Und wie wird Kultur in diesem Kontext überhaupt vermittelt?

Fragen, die sich unter anderem Manuel Sigrist und Marco Costantini stellen. Der eine ist im Musée de l’Elysée für das Web und die neuen Medien verantwortlich, der andere ist Konservator im Lausanner Designmuseum. Sie arbeiten mit einem Kollegen des Lausanner Kunstmuseums und weiteren Partnern seit 2016 an einem gemeinsamen Digitalprojekt, der «PLATEFORME 10 digital». Engagement Migros hat das Projekt mitangestossen und will damit den Austausch darüber, wie die drei Museen künftig gemeinsam die digitale Dimension in der Kunstvermittlung nutzen können, fördern. Ziel ist es, dass bis zum Einzug der Museen in die neuen Gebäude beim Bahnhof Lausanne auch ein gemeinsamer virtueller Raum für die drei Häuser gebaut ist. Dabei dient das Digitale durchaus als Katalysator für die häuserübergreifende inhaltliche Kollaboration. Der Dialog zwischen den drei Disziplinen soll später auch offline weitergeführt werden.

Wie baut man einen gemeinsamen virtuellen Ausstellungsraum? Die Teams vom mcb-a, Musée de l’Elysée und Mudac lassen sich an einem Workshop im ArtLab an der EPFL inspirieren. Foto: Alain Herzog

Wie baut man einen gemeinsamen virtuellen Ausstellungsraum? Die Teams vom mcb-a, Musée de l’Elysée und Mudac lassen sich an einem Workshop im ArtLab an der EPFL inspirieren. Foto: Alain Herzog

Bauen im Digitalen ist komplex

Nach zwei Jahren Arbeit am Projekt ist jedoch klar: Auch Bauen im Digitalen ist kompliziert und unberechenbar. Noch gibt es wenige Erfahrungswerte, was das Publikum überhaupt will. Algorithmen, der Baustoff des Digitalen, haben zwar den Vorteil, dass sie unendlich flexibel sind. Doch noch ist die Technologie längst nicht so weit, allen Wünschen gerecht zu werden.

So holte auch in Lausanne die Technologie die Utopisten der digitalen Kunstvermittlung schnell auf den Boden der Tatsachen. Denn damit man überhaupt im virtuellen Raum präsent sein kann, braucht es die Kunstwerke erst einmal in digitaler Form. Und das ist nicht ganz einfach. 

Pionierarbeit: Für die 3D-Digitalisierung von Fotos und Objekten gibt es bisher wenige Erfahrungswerte.
Pionierarbeit: Für die 3D-Digitalisierung von Fotos und Objekten gibt es bisher wenige Erfahrungswerte.

Technik, die grosse Hürde

Die grosse Hürde auf dem Weg zu einer digitalen Präsenz, die einen Realitätscheck erfordert: die Technik. Es geht darum zu entdecken, was überhaupt möglich und wünschenswert ist. Innovativer Projektpartner von «PLATEFORME 10 digital» ist das aus der EPFL hervorgegangene Spin-off Artmyn. Das Tech-Unternehmen erfasst mithilfe von Hunderten von Fotografien, die in eine Software eingelesen werden, die Kunstwerke virtuell in dreidimensionaler Form und erstellt eine digitale Kopie. Weltweit einzigartig ist, dass auch die Materialität der Werke klar sichtbar wird.

Wie dies aussehen kann, zeigt ein erstes Pilotprojekt: die virtuelle Kopie einer Fotocollage von René Burri über Jean Tinguely. Im digitalen Raum kann das Werk beliebig bewegt und auf Details gezoomt werden.
 

Die ersten Erkenntnisse

In den ersten Monaten des Projekts haben die Verantwortlichen der Museen zusammen mit Artmyn getestet, was für Werke mit der vorhandenen Technik überhaupt digitalisiert werden können.

Eine erste Erkenntnis nach den Tests und gleich auch eine erste Ernüchterung: Werke mit einer Grösse von mehr als 30 x 30 Zentimetern erreichten noch nicht die gewünschte Qualität.

Eine zweite Erkenntnis, die vor allem die Digitalisierung der Werke des Designmuseums tangiert: Eine akzeptable Digitalisierung ist bislang erst bei flachen Objekten wie Fotos, Bildern, Briefmarken, Schmuck und Tellern möglich. Vasen, Lampen und andere grössere Gegenstände können mit der Technologie von Artmyn noch nicht zufriedenstellend digital kopiert werden. Die Lausanner Museen wollen deshalb in einem nächsten Schritt auch andere Technologien testen. 

Hunderte von Fotografien für eine digitale Kopie: Die Digitalisierungsvorrichtung wurde vom EPFL-Spin-off Artmyn eigens für «PLATEFORME 10 digital» entwickelt.

Hunderte von Fotografien für eine digitale Kopie: Die Digitalisierungsvorrichtung wurde vom EPFL-Spin-off Artmyn eigens für «PLATEFORME 10 digital» entwickelt.

Und eine dritte Erkenntnis: Es dauert alles immer viel länger als erwartet. Jeder weitere Anspruch an die Qualität der digitalen Kopie muss technisch zuerst wieder programmiert und gerechnet werden. Die Konservatoren der Museen, die bei den Resultaten der digitalisierten Objekte das letzte Wort haben, sind ungern bereit, bezüglich Materialität und Farbe der digitalen Kopien Abstriche zu machen.

«Wir wollen interaktive Begegnungsorte schaffen.»

Marco Costantini

Wären die Kunstwerke digital vorhanden, hätten Manuel Sigrist und Marco Costantini durchaus viele Ideen, wie sich die Werke aus den drei Museen digital begegnen könnten: Bilder, Objekte, Fotografien – viele entstanden zur selben Zeit, nehmen Bezug auf dieselben historischen Ereignisse, gehören vielleicht sogar derselben Kunstströmung an oder korrespondieren mit vergangenen verwandten Strömungen.

«Einfach Kunstwerke digitalisieren und online stellen – das kann nicht das Ziel der Digitalisierung sein», ist Manuel Sigrist, Projektleiter von «PLATEFORME 10 digital», überzeugt.
«Einfach Kunstwerke digitalisieren und online stellen – das kann nicht das Ziel der Digitalisierung sein», ist Manuel Sigrist, Projektleiter von «PLATEFORME 10 digital», überzeugt.

Online liessen sich unzählige Verlinkungen machen, Geschichten erzählen, neue Welten entdecken. Denn für Manuel Sigrist ist klar: «Einfach Kunstwerke digitalisieren und online stellen – das kann nicht das Ziel der Digitalisierung sein.» Und Marco Costantini ergänzt: «Wir wollen interaktive Begegnungsorte schaffen, eine Dimension bieten, die über das hinausgeht, was das neue Museumsquartier künftig ist.» UX – user experience, so das Fachwort dafür.

Inzwischen sind über 30 Werke aus den drei Museen digitalisiert. Eine Form, wie diese Werke miteinander in einem digitalen Raum präsentiert und vermittelt werden könnten, wird intensiv entwickelt und programmiert. Aus ersten digitalen Kunstwerken sind Erklärvideos entstanden. Diese wollen die Lausanner ausbauen, sie noch professioneller machen. «Wir sammeln wichtige Erfahrungen», sagt Manuel Sigrist, der wie sein Projektpartner Marco Costantini zum ersten Mal in ein Digitalisierungsprojekt involviert ist.

«Wir sammeln wichtige Erfahrungen.»

Manuel Sigrist

«Wir haben alle nicht wissen können, welchen technologischen Realitäten wir bei der Umsetzung eines solchen 3D-Digitalisierungsprojekts begegnen», sagt Alexandra Müller-Crepon, Projektleiterin bei Engagement Migros. Trotz aller Schwierigkeiten hätte das Projekt aber schon einiges erreicht, ergänzt sie: «‹PLATEFORME 10› digital leistet Pionierarbeit. Die gemeinsamen Erfahrungen eröffnen nicht nur den drei Häusern eine neue Grundlage für die künftige Zusammenarbeit, die Erkenntnisse aus dem Projekt sind auch für andere Museen von Interesse.»


Erkenntnisse mit anderen Museen teilen

Deshalb organisieren Manuel Siegrist und Marco Costantini in Zusammenarbeit mit Engagement Migros im April auch ein erstes internationales Symposium zur Digitalisierung in Museen mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus Schweizer Museen und mit Keynote-Speakern aus der ganzen Welt. Denn überall arbeiten die Museen an den gleichen Fragestellungen: Digitalisieren ja, aber wie? Welches sind die Ziele und Aufgaben der digitalen Innovation im Museum?