Skip to main content
#letsmuseeum

Disco, Dada, Darwin – the recipe for a good story

During their tours through Swiss museums, the guides of #letsmuseeum convey art and culture in an unconventional way: freely and personally. Their aim is to attract new audiences to museums. Now, for the first time, they have passed on their experience and knowledge of storytelling in a course.

How do you cook up a good story? The recipe of the #letsmuseeum coaches is as follows: a tablespoon of entertainment, a teaspoon of inspiration and just a pinch of information. The guides can be found in Swiss museums. Their tour isn’t for art outreach or education professionals, but rather for art fans who embellish their favourite pieces of the collection with honest, personal observations and anecdotes.

It’s a service that has already been appreciated by many visitors, as Caroline Schlüter from #letsmuseeum says: “We also regularly exchange ideas with the partner museums where our guided tours take place. Their feedback has been positive, except for a few minor comments.” For example, their communicative benefits have been confirmed. And the different approach to learning has also been recognised by the art education sector.

Art or just veg? During the final guided tour, many course participants shed their fear of the works of art. Photo: Simon Tanner

Focusing on one key element

In order to share the knowledge gathered during their guided tours with the staff of the partner museums, the #letsmuseeum coaches organised for the first time a workshop that will be offered to other interested parties in future. Last August, they presented their method at the Zurich Kunsthaus. The idea wasn’t to just study dry theory in a seminar room: the participants were instructed to put together a small guided tour of the museum themselves. An undertaking that, as it turned out, is not so easy after all.

The participants’ task was to fine-tune their methodology in the morning, and the afternoon was devoted to independently fleshing out the tour in the style of #letsmuseeum. They were supported by experienced #letsmuseeum guides such as Jana Schiffmann, who offers tours of the Rietberg Museum. “We showed the participants that a story has to be surprising, that there should be conflict in it and that listeners should take personal insight away with them in the end,” says Schiffmann.

Such stories remain in the memory longer. Otherwise, there is the danger of “losing yourself in research and imparting too many facts that the listeners can’t remember.” But if the story about the key element you want to convey is good, the listener will retain at least one fact. And that’s already a lot.

It’s best to try it out on yourself first: because if you do too much research, you risk losing the plot. Photo: Simon Tanner

From theory to practice

In the afternoon, the workshop participants were able to put theory into practice. With a notepad in their hands, they roamed the Kunsthaus to choose a work of art for which they were assigned to make up a short personal story according to #letsmuseeum criteria. “It's a challenge for everyone who participates to put together their own #letsmuseeum stop within one day,” says Rea Eggli, director of #letsmuseeum. “But this is the only way for course participants to get a concrete idea of what we mean by good storytelling. Namely Disco, Dada, Darwin. Soul, heart and head.”

After the course participants decided on a work, their presentation – no longer than three minutes per participant – was perfected in two test runs within a small group. As it turned out, not everyone had the courage to reveal a lot of personal information about themselves at the beginning. But after encouragement from the coaches and the other participants, the presentations become increasingly bold.

“When was the last time you broke a rule and realized it was worth it?”

Aline Minder

Cheeky cows and passionate turnips

During their final guided tour presentations, many course participants completely lost their shyness. The allegedly “ugliest object in the whole Kunsthaus” was discussed mercilessly. A painting of a forest was philosophically fantasized about. There was a passionate ode to the turnip. Course participant Aline Minder, Head of Education and Communication at the Bernisches Historisches Museum, chose a cow as her favourite subject in the Kunstmuseum. In the painting entitled “The Cow in the Herb Garden”, the bovine does not stand in its pasture like a good cow, but instead munches away at vegetables in a garden. The cow taught her one thing above all else, says Alina Minder: “It’s worth breaking through the fence from time to time and enjoying food where you’re not supposed to.” Then she asked the group: “When was the last time you broke a rule and realized it was worth it?” This key element stuck with the listeners.

Sometimes it does help to change perspective. Photo: Simon Tanner

Using findings for your own tour

After the tour, the experiences of the workshop were exchanged over a drink. “I didn’t expect we would create such a great tour at the end,” said Minder. She will be able to use what she learned during her tour at the Bernisches Historisches Museum. For Fiona Straehl, art educator at the Zoological Museum of the University of Zurich, the workshop was a broadening of horizons. “We are rather heavy on facts during our guided tours. It was very exciting to see that knowledge can also be conveyed in other ways.” She particularly liked how detailed the feedback on the tour was. This made it possible for her to work specifically on her own subject. Sina Voigt, who works in Communication at the Rietberg Museum, now sees art education through different eyes: “Today I noticed how much work is involved in such a tour.”

For good storytelling you need soul, heart and head. Photo: Simon Tanner

 

“Museums are places where a lot of knowledge is stored.”

Alexandra Müller-Crepon

For Urs Eggli, the only man in the group, “the strong emphasis on entertainment during the guided tours at the beginning was somewhat irritating.” As a research associate and art educator at the Succulent Collection in Zurich, it was not easy for him to relax and try something more lively than usual. “But it was a lot of fun presenting a work of art from the point of view of a fan.”

Alexandra Müller-Crepon is project manager for the Engagement Migros development fund. For her, the key element of the story is precisely about museums themselves finding new approaches to their guided tours and leaving familiar paths behind. This will allow museums to see things from new perspectives and to incorporate findings from new forms of education into their own activities.

It is to be hoped that such a workshop will lead to discussions within the museums. “Museums are places where a lot of knowledge is stored. With a new approach, this knowledge can be passed on to a younger audience,” says Müller-Crepon. She finds, however, that it is important that existing art education perceives #letsmuseeum not as competition, but as complementary.

Direkt zum Inhalt
#letsmuseeum

Disco, Dada, Darwin – das Rezept einer guten Geschichte

Storytelling im Museum – eine Herausforderung für Bauch, Herz und Kopf. Bild: Simon Tanner

Auf ihren Touren durch Schweizer Museen vermitteln die Guides von #letsmuseeum Kunst und Kultur auf unkonventionelle Weise: wild und persönlich. So wollen sie neues Publikum in die Museen locken. Jetzt haben sie ihre Erfahrungen und ihr Wissen rund um das Thema Storytelling zum ersten Mal in einem Kurs weitergegeben.

Wie kocht man eine gute Geschichte? Das Rezept der Coaches von #letsmuseeum geht folgendermassen: Man nehme einen Esslöffel Unterhaltung, einen Teelöffel Inspiration und lediglich eine Prise Information. Anzutreffen sind die Guides in Schweizer Museen. Im Mittelpunkt der Führung stehen dabei keine Profi-Kunstvermittler, sondern Kunstfans, die frisch von der Leber weg ihre Lieblingsstücke in den Sammlungen präsentieren und ihre Betrachtungen mit persönlichen Beobachtungen und Anekdoten ausschmücken.

Ein Angebot, das schon von vielen Besuchern geschätzt wurde, wie Caroline Schlüter von #letsmuseeum sagt: «Wir tauschen uns auch regelmässig mit den Partnermuseen, wo unsere Führungen stattfinden, aus. Ihr Feedback ist, bis auf einige kleinere Anmerkungen, positiv gewesen.» So sei etwa der kommunikative Nutzen bestätigt worden. Und auch der andere Lernansatz werde inzwischen von der Kunstvermittlung erkannt.

Kraut oder Rüben? An der finalen Führung legten dann viele Kursteilnehmer ihre Scheu vor den Kunstwerken ab. Bild: Simon Tanner

Auf einen Kernsatz konzentrieren

Um das bei ihren Führungen gesammelte Wissen mit den Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern der Partnermuseen zu teilen, veranstalteten die Coaches von #letsmuseeum zum ersten Mal einen Workshop, der künftig auch anderen Interessierten angeboten wird. Im Zürcher Kunsthaus stellten sie im vergangenen August ihre Methode vor. Dabei wurde nicht einfach in einem Seminarraum trockene Theorie gebüffelt, die Kursteilnehmer mussten gleich selbst eine kleine Museumsführung auf die Beine stellen. Ein Unterfangen, das, wie sich zeigen sollte, gar nicht so einfach ist.

Bevor es am Nachmittag um die eigenständige Ausarbeitung der Tour im Stil von #letsmuseeum ging, mussten die Teilnehmer am Morgen doch noch ein bisschen an ihrer Methodik feilen. Unterstützt wurden sie dabei von erfahrenen #letsmuseeum-Guides wie Jana Schiffmann, die eine Tour im Museum Rietberg anbietet. «Wir haben den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern aufgezeigt, dass eine Geschichte überraschend sein muss, dass ein Konflikt darin stecken und dass der Zuhörer am Schluss eine Erkenntnis für sich persönlich herausnehmen soll», sagt Schiffmann.

Solche Geschichten blieben länger im Gedächtnis haften. Sonst bestehe die Gefahr, dass «man sich in der Recherche verliert und zu viele Fakten erzählt, die sich die Zuhörer gar nicht alle merken können». Wenn aber die Geschichte rund um einen Kernsatz, den man vermitteln will, gut ist, könne sich der Zuhörer mindestens einen Fakt merken. Und das sei schon viel.

Besser gleich selbst ausprobieren; denn wer zu viel recherchiert, droht den roten Faden zu verlieren. Bild: Simon Tanner

Von der Theorie zur Praxis

Am Nachmittag konnten die Workshop-Teilnehmer die Theorie gleich in die Praxis umsetzen. Mit einem Notizblock in der Hand streiften sie durchs Kunsthaus, um sich ein Kunstwerk auszusuchen, zu dem sie nach #letsmuseeum-Kriterien eine kurze persönliche Geschichte erfinden sollten. «Es ist eine Challenge für jeden, der mitmacht, innerhalb eines Tages einen eigenen #letsmuseeum-Stopp auf die Beine zu stellen», sagt Rea Eggli, Leiterin von #letsmuseeum. «Doch nur so können sich die Kursteilnehmer auch konkret vorstellen, was wir unter gutem Storytelling verstehen. Nämlich Disco, Dada, Darwin. Bauch, Herz und Kopf.»

Nachdem die Kursteilnehmer sich für ein Werk entschieden haben, wird in kleinen Gruppen in zwei Testdurchläufen an ihrer Präsentation gefeilt. Nicht länger als drei Minuten darf diese pro Teilnehmer dauern. Wie sich zeigt, haben zu Beginn nicht alle den Mut, viel Persönliches von sich preiszugeben. Doch nach Ermutigung der Coaches und der anderen Teilnehmer werden die Präsentationen immer selbstbewusster.

«Wann habt ihr denn das letzte Mal gegen eine Regel verstossen?»

Aline Minder

Von frechen Kühen und fremden Zäunen

An der finalen Führung legen dann viele Kursteilnehmer ihre Ehrfurcht komplett ab. Erbarmungslos wird das angeblich «hässlichste Objekt des ganzen Kunsthauses» in Grund und Boden geredet, philosophisch zu einem Waldbild fantasiert und lustvoll die Vorliebe für Rüben erörtert. Kursteilnehmerin Aline Minder, Leiterin Bildung und Vermittlung des Bernischen Historischen Museums, kürt eine Kuh zu ihrem liebsten Sujet im Kunstmuseum. Diese steht auf dem Gemälde namens «Die Kuh im Krautgarten» nicht etwa brav auf einer Weide, sondern frisst in einem Garten das Gemüse weg. Die Kuh lehre sie vor allem eines, sagt Alina Minder: Es lohne sich, ab und zu den Zaun zu durchbrechen und sich dort genussvoll zu verpflegen, wo man eigentlich nicht dürfe. Dann fragt sie in die Runde: «Wann habt ihr denn das letzte Mal gegen eine Regel verstossen und gemerkt, dass sich das gelohnt hat?» Ein Kernsatz, der bei den Zuhörerinnen und Zuhörern hängen blieb.

 

Manchmal hilft es schon, die Perspektive zu wechseln. Bild: Simon Tanner

Erkenntnisse für eigene Tour verwenden

Nach der Tour werden bei einem Apéro die Erfahrungen zum Workshop ausgetauscht. «Dass wir am Schluss eine so tolle Tour haben, damit habe ich nicht gerechnet», sagt Minder. Sie werde das Gelernte gleich bei ihrer Tour im Bernischen Historischen Museum einsetzen können. Für Fiona Straehl, Vermittlerin des Zoologischen Museums der Universität Zürich, sei der Workshop eine Horizonterweiterung gewesen. «Wir sind bei unseren Führungen eher faktenlastig.» Da sei es sehr spannend gewesen zu sehen, dass man Wissen auch anders vermitteln könne. Besonders gut habe sie gefunden, wie ausführlich das Feedback auf die erarbeitete Tour war. So hätte man an seinem Sujet gezielt arbeiten können. Sina Voigt, Mitarbeiterin Kommunikation des Museums Rietberg, sieht die Kunstvermittlung nun mit anderen Augen: «Heute habe ich gemerkt, wie viel Arbeit in so einer Führung steckt.»

Für gutes Storytelling braucht es Bauch, Herz – und Mut, um diese zu zeigen. Bild: Simon Tanner

«Museen sind Orte, in denen viel Wissen gelagert ist.»

Alexandra Müller-Crepon

Für Urs Eggli, den einzigen Mann in der Gruppe, war «die starke Gewichtung der Unterhaltung bei den Führungen zu Beginn etwas irritierend». Als wissenschaftlichem Mitarbeiter und Vermittler der Sukkulenten-Sammlung in Zürich sei es ihm nicht leichtgefallen, aus seiner Haut zu schlüpfen. Es habe aber durchaus Spass gemacht, aus Sicht eines Fans ein Kunstwerk zu präsentieren.

Alexandra Müller-Crepon ist Projektleiterin beim Förderfonds Engagement Migros. Für sie geht es im Kern der Geschichte genau darum, dass Museen selbst neue Ansätze für ihre Führungen finden und ihre gewohnten Bahnen auch einmal verlassen. Die Museen lernten so neue Perspektiven kennen und könnten die Erkenntnisse aus neuen Vermittlungsformen in ihre eigenen Tätigkeiten einfliessen lassen.

Es sei zu hoffen, dass ein solcher Workshop zu Diskussionen innerhalb der Museen führen werde. «Museen sind Orte, in denen viel Wissen gelagert ist. Mit einem neuen Zugang kann dieses Wissen einem jüngeren Publikum weitergegeben werden», sagt Müller-Crepon. Dabei sei jedoch wichtig, dass die bestehende Kunstvermittlung #letsmuseeum nicht als Konkurrenz, sondern als Ergänzung empfinde.