Skip to main content
filmo

New life for old movies

Nowadays, films are not only watched in cinemas, but increasingly also at home on video-on-demand platforms. However, up to now Swiss film classics have rarely been available there. This will change thanks to the filmo project, which is made possible by Engagement Migros. In June, an online edition of many Swiss films will be launched for the first time, making them accessible to a younger audience. But until these classics can be shown on Teleclub or iTunes, they have to be digitised. A process that can take up to one year per film.

Anyone who wants to watch a film at home will also be able to buy or rent Swiss film classics starting on 6 June. As of that date, the first ten Swiss film treasures from a growing edition will be prominently displayed on the video-on-demand platforms Teleclub, iTunes, cinefile, leKino, UPC and Sky. These include films such as “Das Boot ist voll” by Markus Imhoof and the Swiss refugee drama “Die letzte Chance” from 1945. Thanks to the filmo project, some are available for the first time in a new HD streaming quality. But these classics have overcome numerous hurdles, coming a long way from resting like Sleeping Beauty in film archives to their appearance on streaming platforms.
 

Elaborate preparatory work

The selection of films alone is not easy for filmo. Independent curators – including film editors, scholars, historians and festival directors – individually select each of their ten favourite Swiss film classics. They are defined as films more than ten years old that have cultural, historical or formally aesthetic significance to Switzerland’s film heritage. For each film, the experts write a brief justification as to why it should be shown to the general public. This reasoning will also be available on the filmo.ch website. In this way, the viewer can understand why a film is worth discovering and why it is important to Swiss film history.

Start with ten Swiss movie classics

filmo is an initiative of the CH.Film association, realised by the Solothurn Film Festival and made possible by Engagement Migros, the Migros Group’s development fund. filmo is launching the first online edition of Swiss films, giving key works from Switzerland’s film heritage more digital visibility. On 6 June, Swiss film classics will appear for the first time on the video-on-demand platforms Teleclub On Demand (Swisscom TV), iTunes, Apple TVcinefile, leKino, UPC and Sky. The films will be highlighted when they are released, and can be rented or purchased. In the long term, a curated library of Swiss films will be created on these platforms.

Each image is checked individually during restoration. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

Each image is checked individually during restoration. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

Every year new experts are asked to select ten classics from Swiss film history for inclusion in the online edition. In the meantime, a list with a total of 80 films has been created, which are continuously processed and added to planning by project management. Some of the films mentioned have already been digitised and published, but others have disappeared off the grid. The latter must first be completely digitised before they can even be made accessible to viewers. However, before even a single minute can be digitised, the original recordings must first be found. “On average, I research one month per film for this,” says Florian Leupin, project manager at filmo. This includes locating the films in the Cinémathèque suisse archive in Lausanne or from private individuals. Once Leupin has found the film, the filmmakers or rights holders must give their consent to the digitisation. “Most people are happy that someone is finally taking this on,” says Leupin. After all, it is not uncommon for older films to be saved from decay through digitisation.

“We take a close look at each of the 135,000 frames.”

Nicole T. Allemann, cinegrell

“Storing celluloid film rolls for many years can cause problems like mould,” says film restorer Nicole T. Allemann of cinegrell, the company responsible for preparing the classics. However, the fungus can be killed with a special agent, which stops further growth. Also the brittle residue of adhesive tape used to glue the film rolls together often have to be removed, or scratches on the film itself have to be repaired. “A film can consist of up to 135,000 frames. We take a close look at every single image,” says Allemann.

“Our main focus is on bringing the films to the general public – digitisation is ‘only’ a means to an end,” says Project Manager Florian Leupin. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

“Our main focus is on bringing the films to the general public – digitisation is ‘only’ a means to an end,” says Project Manager Florian Leupin. (Photo: Simon Tanner) 

Thanks to modern software, it’s possible to get a lot out of the old films digitally, but you have to be careful not to do too much. “We must adhere strictly to ethical restoration rules. This means that we try to stay as close to the original as possible,” says Allemann. For example, if a scene is out of focus, it will not be sharpened, even if this is technically possible. “Except if the filmmaker explicitly wants this,” adds Leupin. Some would have liked to shoot scenes differently, but were technically limited. “Now they’re happy they can fix that,” says Leupin. In addition to the picture, the sound must also be brought up to date. For example, mono tracks become stereo tracks. In addition, each film is supplemented with subtitles, because filmo also offers all films subtitled in German, French and Italian.

The process can take up to a whole year, from the selection of the film to its publication on streaming platforms. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

The process can take up to a whole year, from the selection of the film to its publication on streaming platforms. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

To ensure that the films are shown to their best advantage on the video-on-demand platforms, a short trailer is produced separately for each film. “Some films didn’t have a trailer at all back then, or one that was five to six minutes long, which is far too long for today,” says Leupin. In order to meet the viewing habits of today’s audience, the project makes a point of working together with young Swiss filmmakers for the trailers.
 

Goodwill from the industry

The selection, the research, the digitisation, the creation of the trailers – all of this is complex work. The process can take up to a whole year, from the selection of the film to its publication on the streaming platform, where the films can either be rented or purchased. filmo receives only a tiny portion of the income. “It’s more of a symbolic amount,” says Leupin. “It is important to us that a large part of the revenues flow back to the film rights owners or filmmakers.” At the beginning of the project, some in the Swiss film scene were afraid that the films would be made available free of charge on the platforms. “That’s why we had to offer a few more details. Now the project is meeting with goodwill,” says Leupin.

A light touch is needed: restoration and digitisation must be carried out with great care so as not to damage the fragile film material. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

A light touch is needed: restoration and digitisation must be carried out with great care so as not to damage the fragile film material. (Photo: Simon Tanner)

Despite the revenues, there should be no illusions that filmo will ever cover its costs. The restoration and digitisation of the films is far too expensive. Therefore, the project is dependent on financial support from Engagement Migros. “We think it is important that Switzerland’s cultural film heritage be preserved,” says Britta Friedrich, project manager of Engagement Migros, explaining its support. Even though some of the films are decades old, they are often still topical and have value. “But preparation and preservation are not an end in themselves: our primary concern is to ensure that the films can be seen again,” says Friedrich. And for that, they need to get back on the radar. The project also aims to stimulate demand, especially among a younger audience, and to bring Swiss film out of its niche existence. Leupin adds: “Our main focus is on reviving the films, i.e. bringing them to the general public – digitisation is only a means to an end.”

“Each selected classic conveys a message that is timeless.”

Florian Leupin, filmo

Friedrich is well aware that wanting to see these films is not inherent in everyone. “That is why short texts by experts on each film are essential. They help younger viewers open themselves up to the films,” says Friedrich. Leupin also believes that older Swiss films in particular have lost none of their topicality. “Each selected classic conveys a message that is timeless. It would be a pity if it were lost and not made available to today’s generation.”

Direkt zum Inhalt
filmo

Neues (Er-)Leben für alte Filme

Filme werden heutzutage nicht nur im Kino geschaut, sondern immer mehr auch zu Hause auf Video-on-Demand-Plattformen. Schweizer Filmklassiker sind dort bis jetzt allerdings kaum zu finden. Das soll sich dank des von Engagement Migros ermöglichten Projekts filmo ändern. Zum ersten Mal wird im Juni eine Online Edition des Schweizer Films lanciert und so einem jüngeren Publikum zugänglich gemacht. Bis die Filmperlen jedoch auf Teleclub oder iTunes gezeigt werden können, müssen sie aufwendig digitalisiert werden. Ein Prozess, der pro Film bis zu einem Jahr dauern kann.

Wer zu Hause einen Film anschauen will, der wird ab dem 6. Juni auch Schweizer Filmklassiker kaufen oder ausleihen können. Die ersten zehn Schweizer Filmperlen einer wachsenden Edition werden dann prominent auf den Video-on-Demand-Plattformen von Teleclub, iTunes, cinefile, leKino, UPC und Sky zu finden sein. Darunter sind Filme wie «Das Boot ist voll» von Markus Imhoof oder das Schweizer Flüchtlingsdrama «Die letzte Chance» aus dem Jahr 1945. Dank dem Projekt filmo sind einige zum ersten Mal in einer neuen HD-Qualität im Streaming verfügbar. Doch vom Dornröschenschlaf in den Filmarchiven bis zu ihrem Auftritt auf den Streamingplattformen legten die Filmperlen einen langen Weg mit zahlreichen Hürden zurück.

 

Aufwendige Vorarbeiten

Allein die Auswahl der Filme macht sich filmo nicht leicht. Unabhängige Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren – darunter sind Filmredaktoren, Filmwissenschaftlerinnen, Filmhistoriker oder Filmfestivaldirektorinnen – wählen individuell je zehn ihrer liebsten Schweizer Filmklassiker aus. Dabei handelt es sich um Filme, die älter als zehn Jahre und für das Filmerbe kulturell, historisch oder formalästhetisch bedeutend sind. Zu jedem Film schreiben die Experten eine kurze Begründung, warum der Film der breiten Öffentlichkeit gezeigt werden soll. Diese Begründung wird auch auf der Webseite filmo.ch zu lesen sein. Somit kann die Zuschauerin, der Zuschauer nachvollziehen, warum dieser Film entdeckenswert und für die Schweizer Filmgeschichte wichtig ist.

Start mit zehn Schweizer Filmklassikern

filmo ist eine Initiative des Vereins CH.Film, wird von den Solothurner Filmtagen realisiert und durch Engagement Migros, den Förderfonds der Migros-Gruppe, ermöglicht. Mit filmo wird die erste Online Edition des Schweizer Films lanciert, die Schlüsselwerken des Filmerbes mehr Sichtbarkeit im digitalen Raum verschafft. Am 6. Juni erscheinen zum ersten Mal Schweizer Filmklassiker auf den Video-on-Demand-Plattformen Teleclub On Demand (Swisscom TV), iTunes, Apple TV, cinefile, leKino, UPC und Sky. Die Filme werden dort zu ihrem Erscheinen als Highlight gelistet und können kostenpflichtig geliehen und gekauft werden. Langfristig wird so auf den Plattformen eine kuratierte Bibliothek des Schweizer Films entstehen. 

Bei der Restaurierung wird jedes Bild einzeln geprüft. Nachgebessert werden darf aber nicht, auch wenn es technisch möglich wäre. (Foto: Simon Tanner)

Bei der Restaurierung wird jedes Bild einzeln geprüft. (Foto: Simon Tanner)

Jedes Jahr werden neue Expertinnen und Experten angefragt, je zehn Filmperlen der Schweizer Filmgeschichte auszuwählen, die dann in die Edition aufgenommen werden. Mittlerweile ist eine Liste mit insgesamt 80 Filmen entstanden, die von der Projektleitung laufend bearbeitet und eingeplant werden. Einige der genannten Filme wurden bereits digitalisiert und vorgängig veröffentlicht, andere sind ganz von der Bildfläche verschwunden. Letztere müssen zuerst komplett digitalisiert werden, bevor sie den Zuschauern überhaupt zugänglich gemacht werden können. Bevor allerdings auch nur eine einzige Minute digitalisiert werden konnte, mussten die Originalaufnahmen zuerst gefunden werden. «Durchschnittlich recherchiere ich einen Monat pro Film, den dies betrifft», sagt Florian Leupin, Projektleiter von filmo. Dazu gehört, die Filme im Schweizer Filmarchiv der Cinémathèque suisse in Lausanne oder bei Privaten ausfindig zu machen. Hat Leupin den Film gefunden, müssen die Filmemacher oder die Rechteinhaber ihre Einwilligung zur Digitalisierung geben. «Die meisten freuen sich darüber, dass das endlich jemand in die Hand nimmt», sagt Leupin. Schliesslich werden nicht selten durch die Digitalisierung die älteren Filme vor dem Verfall gerettet.

«Wir schauen jedes der 135 000 Einzelbilder genau an.»

Nicole T. Allemann, cinegrell

«Durch die Lagerung der Zelluloid-Filmrollen über viele Jahre können Probleme entstehen, beispielsweise Schimmelpilz», sagt Filmrestauratorin Nicole T. Allemann von der Firma cinegrell, die für die Aufbereitung der Klassiker zuständig ist. Den Pilz könne man aber mit Spezialmittel abtöten und damit das weitere Wachstum stoppen. Auch spröde gewordene Rückstände von Klebestreifen, mit denen die Filmrollen zusammengeklebt wurden, müssten oft entfernt oder Kratzer auf dem Filmbild ausgebessert werden. «Ein Film kann aus bis zu 135 000 Einzelbildern bestehen. Wir schauen jedes einzelne Bild genau an», sagt Allemann.

«Auf der Vermittlung der Filme an die breite Bevölkerung liegt unser Hauptaugenmerk – die Digitalisierung ist ‹nur› Mittel zum Zweck», sagt Projektleiter Florian Leupin. (Foto: Simon Tanner)

«Auf der Vermittlung der Filme an die breite Bevölkerung liegt unser Hauptaugenmerk – die Digitalisierung ist ‹nur› Mittel zum Zweck», sagt Projektleiter Florian Leupin. (Foto: Simon Tanner)

Dank moderner Software könne man heute digital zwar viel aus den alten Filmen herausholen, man achte aber darauf, nicht zu viel zu machen. «Wir müssen uns streng an ethische Restaurierungsregeln halten. Das heisst, wir versuchen möglichst nahe am Original zu bleiben», sagt Allemann. Ist eine Szene beispielsweise unscharf, werde nicht nachgeschärft, auch wenn das technisch möglich wäre. «Ausser der Filmemacher selbst wünscht dies explizit», ergänzt Leupin. Manche hätten nämlich damals einzelne Szenen gerne anders gedreht, seien aber technisch eingeschränkt gewesen. «Nun freuen sie sich, dass sie das nachholen können», sagt Leupin. Neben dem Bild muss auch der Ton auf Vordermann gebracht werden. So werden zum Beispiel aus Mono- Stereospuren. Zudem wird jeder Film mit den fehlenden Untertiteln ergänzt, denn filmo wird alle Filme auch deutsch, französisch und italienisch untertitelt anbieten.

Bis zu einem ganzen Jahr kann der Prozess von der Auswahl des Films bis zu dessen Publikation auf der Streamingplattform dauern. (Foto: Simon Tanner)

Bis zu einem ganzen Jahr kann der Prozess von der Auswahl des Films bis zu dessen Publikation auf der Streamingplattform dauern. (Foto: Simon Tanner)

Damit die Filme auf den Video-on-Demand-Plattformen auch richtig zur Geltung kommen, wird für jeden Streifen extra ein kurzer Trailer produziert. «Manche Filme hatten damals gar keinen Trailer oder einen, der mit fünf bis sechs Minuten für die heutige Zeit viel zu lang ist», sagt Leupin. Für die Trailer arbeite man extra mit jungen Filmschaffenden aus der Schweiz zusammen, um die Sehgewohnheiten des heutigen Publikums zu treffen.
 

Wohlwollen aus der Szene

Auswahl, Recherche, Digitalisierung und Erstellung der Trailer – das alles ist aufwendig. Bis zu einem ganzen Jahr kann der Prozess von der Auswahl des Films bis zu dessen Publikation auf der Streamingplattform dauern. Dort können die Filme entweder gemietet oder gekauft werden. filmo bekommt von den Einnahmen nur einen Mikroanteil. «Das ist eher ein symbolischer Betrag», so Leupin. «Es ist uns wichtig, dass ein grosser Teil der Einnahmen an die Filmrechteinhaber beziehungsweise Filmemacherinnen zurückfliesst.» Zu Beginn des Projekts hätten einige in der Schweizer Filmszene befürchtet, die Filme würden auf den Plattformen gratis zur Verfügung gestellt. «Deshalb mussten wir Aufklärungsarbeit leisten. Nun stösst das Projekt auf Wohlwollen», sagt Leupin.

Mit viel Fingerspitzengefühl: Bei der Restaurierung und Digitalisierung muss mit grosser Sorgfalt vorgegangen werden, um das fragile Filmmaterial nicht zu beschädigen. (Foto: Simon Tanner)

Mit viel Fingerspitzengefühl: Bei der Restaurierung und Digitalisierung muss mit grosser Sorgfalt vorgegangen werden, um das fragile Filmmaterial nicht zu beschädigen. (Foto: Simon Tanner)

Trotz der Einnahmen dürfe man sich keine Illusionen machen, dass filmo jemals kostendeckend sein werde. Dafür sei die Restauration und Digitalisierung der Filme viel zu teuer. Deshalb ist das Projekt auf finanzielle Unterstützung von Engagement Migros angewiesen. «Wir finden es wichtig, dass das kulturelle Filmerbe der Schweiz bewahrt wird», begründet Britta Friedrich, Projektleiterin von Engagement Migros, die Unterstützung. Auch wenn die Filme zum Teil Jahrzehnte alt seien, hätten sie oft noch immer einen Aktualitätswert. «Aufbereitung und Bewahrung sind aber kein Selbstzweck: Uns geht es in erster Linie darum, dass die Filme wieder gesehen werden können», sagt Friedrich. Und dafür müssten sie wieder auf den Radar kommen. Das Projekt soll also auch die Nachfrage, insbesondere bei einem jüngeren Publikum, wecken und den Schweizer Film aus seinem Nischendasein holen. Leupin doppelt nach: «Auf dem Wiederbeleben, also der Vermittlung der Filme an die breite Bevölkerung, liegt unser Hauptaugenmerk – die Digitalisierung ist nur Mittel zum Zweck.»

«Jeder ausgewählte Klassiker vermittelt eine Botschaft, die zeitlos ist.»

Florian Leupin, filmo

Friedrich ist sich durchaus bewusst, dass der Zugang zu diesen Filmen für manche nicht einfach sein wird. «Deshalb sind die Kurztexte der Expertinnen und Experten zu den Filmen essenziell. Die jüngeren Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauer können sich so besser auf die Filme einlassen», sagt sie. Auch Leupin glaubt, dass gerade ältere Schweizer Filme nichts an Aktualität verloren haben. «Jeder ausgewählte Klassiker vermittelt eine Botschaft, die zeitlos ist. Es wäre schade, wenn diese verloren gehen und der heutigen Generation nicht zugänglich gemacht würde.»