Skip to main content
ethix – lab for innovation ethics

A conscience about the digital world

“Is what’s technically feasible also ethically acceptable and beneficial for society?” is the question posed by a pioneering project called ethix. Photo: Simon Tanner
“Is what’s technically feasible also ethically acceptable and beneficial for society?” is the question posed by a pioneering project called ethix. Photo: Simon Tanner

Which ethical principles are required for the digital transformation? The business-location-promoting initiative digitalswitzerland and leading figures from global and national technology companies sought to answer this question. It gave the pioneering project ethix the task of mediating the working process to produce a joint declaration. It soon became apparent that this did not go far enough. The story of a dynamic process.

The third Swiss Digital Day, held in September 2019, was attended by some very eminent guests. Special trains carrying politicians, business leaders and journalists ran throughout Switzerland. The ‘Swiss Global Digital Summit’, held the day before, was a somewhat less public event. This was a summit launched by Ueli Maurer, President of the Swiss Confederation, in tandem with digitalswitzerland. It was not by chance that Geneva was chosen to host the meeting. The initiative aims to build on its humanitarian tradition and establish a platform for ethical issues concerning digitalisation.

“This phenomenon is progressing at breakneck speed and much of what is dismissed today as pure conjecture could well be part of everyday life tomorrow. This makes some people anxious as the risk of not keeping pace seems too great,” pointed out Maurer in a quote. His statement shows that while digital innovation means positive progress, it can also lead to ambivalence. This is why it is vitally important that ethical considerations are incorporated into the innovation process. This approach allows the beneficial potential of technology to make an impact.

The start-up’s team grew last year. Photo: Simon Tanner

This viewpoint was also shared by the guests invited from the global and Swiss economy as well as representatives of Swiss universities who gave the go-ahead to launch the ‘Swiss Digital Initiative’ at the ‘Swiss Global Digital Summit’ with the discussion of a joint position paper. It was the high point thus far of cooperation carefully initiated months earlier by digitalswitzerland and with the support of one of Engagement Migros’ pioneering projects.

Jean-Daniel Strub and Johan Rochel, who are both business leaders, founded ethix – the laboratory for ethics on innovation – in early 2018. It advises companies and organisations on ethical issues that crop up when new technologies are developed and used commercially. Both men have previously run companies. Strub was also a member of the Board of the Federal Institute of Technology Zurich, while Rochel is not only a philosopher, but also a lawyer. They and their team moved into new premises in an office block in Wiedikon at the start of the year. Here they share a loft-style space with a start-up which brings together coffee roasting companies and producers to enable transparent commodity trading.

In the start-up district: Lots of green beans from transparent trade are ready for the first roasting process. Photo: Simon Tanner

Academia met business last spring when digitalswitzerland asked ethix to assist with producing a Swiss Digital Declaration. “We’d always secretly hoped that ethix would get this kind of assignment,” revealed Samira Lütscher, who supports the project at the development fund Engagement Migros. It gave the pioneers the opportunity to show how ethics does not belong in an ivory tower through a specific project. The declaration is to be drawn up collaboratively to guarantee high ethical standards which are supported and accepted by as many stakeholders as possible. After a brief initial period it nevertheless soon became apparent that the project would have to become bigger and more importantly adopt a more long-term approach to achieve an impact beyond September 2019. Ultimately, there is no shortage of documents and statements that set out ethical principles for the digital world. More than 80 such documents have been produced in recent years alone – and that trend is continuing.

“It’s vitally important to think big here.”

Johan Rochel

All participants quickly agreed that another similar document would only create short-term added value in the best-case scenario. In contrast, an application-oriented initiative based in Switzerland would be quite a different matter entirely. Such a venture would successfully establish itself in a fast-moving economic and innovative environment. ethix founder Johan Rochel immediately realised: “It’s vitally important to think big here.” Otherwise the global perspective – which was crucial in relation to the issues being discussed – would be lost.

So instead of another declaration, efforts were focused on the launch of an initiative headquartered in Switzerland with a long-term outlook. A foundation is being specially set up for this purpose. Its president-elect is the former Federal Councillor Doris Leuthard. Other members to be appointed to the foundation board are Joël Mesot and Yves Flückiger, the Presidents of the Federal Institute of Technology Zurich and the University of Geneva, Marc Walder, CEO of Ringier and founder of digitalswitzerland, and Ivo Furrer, President of digitalswitzerland. Federal Chancellor Walter Thurnherr is also set to join the body.

By issuing a common policy document, all parties involved will jointly affirm the direction in which they intend to head. For this purpose, a paper was produced in an interdisciplinary expert group which sought to address the key issues and to set out specific principles for the joint projects. ethix acted as a mediator in this process and provided support with drafting. In this way, the structure of the initiative gradually emerged. As part of an impact-driven approach, every project of the newly established foundation should commit to complying with the values set out in the paper.

Preparing the presentation of the Swiss Digital Initiative’s first projects at the WEF: ethix founder Johan Rochel. Photo: Simon Tanner

Verena Vonarburg, Director of the Swiss Digital Initiative, firmly believes the success of the challenging process is also due to the excellent reputation of Rochel and Strub in the world of academia. Bringing together so many different parties would have been a virtually impossible task otherwise. The participation of civil society entities as well as companies and academia was extremely important to the two ethicists. This is why the initiative has adopted a multi-stakeholder approach. This focuses on involving all stakeholders relevant to the process from politics, civil society and the private sector.

The team agrees that civil society players also have to be involved. Photo: Simon Tanner

There are many hurdles to overcome in this kind of process. Strub recalls a difficult moment towards the beginning when it became evident that the definition of the goal by the project management still required internal consolidation – not least to determine who should be involved and in what form. Strub pointed out: “The fact that thanks to ethix we were able to draw on not just academic perspectives but also knowledge of tackling similar issues in practice definitely helped us during the process.” This experience also enabled a text for the position paper and other key principles for the foundation to be drawn up based on extensive input from experts which everyone could ultimately support, even if they did not perceive themselves as the authors.

“You have to learn to overcome moments of uncertainty.”

Verena Vonarburg

“You have to learn to overcome moments of uncertainty,” remarked Verena Vonarburg. Plans can change from one day to the next and a one-page document is often more useful in this kind of project than a long-winded, 40-page report. “We learned a great deal from one another,” indicated Vonarburg, “ethix was exactly the right choice of partner.” The customer rated cooperation with the start-up highly. ethix was also able to successfully negotiate a path between the different speeds and approaches of academia and business.

It is not just the team that has increased in recent months, but also the office space. Photo: Simon Tanner

Internal development should not be overlooked
Jean-Daniel Strub was also highly impressed by how quickly and pragmatically all players got to grips with their tasks and by their willingness to embark upon a long-term process together.

“Projects on this scale always leave a mark on newly formed companies which is a good thing.”

Jean-Daniel Strub

Strub believes ethix has learned and benefited tremendously from this project. There is now also greater willingness to develop the company from within. Strub said: “Projects on this scale always leave a mark on newly formed companies which is a good thing.” Focusing a high level of resources on one project means things can soon get overlooked. If a growth path like ethix’s is pursued, new challenges emerge, such as in relation to cooperation in the team and the support of individual tasks. ethix enjoyed a stroke of good fortune when the new lab manager Lea Strohm joined the team. She was able to provide highly effective support right from the outset thanks to her background in international relations and innovation science. There is much work to be done for ethix over the coming months: As a follow-up to the first project phase, the pioneering venture is now working on planning the first implementation projects as part of the Swiss Digital Initiative and assisting with their formulation. The next meeting is coming up soon: The project and initiative are gearing up for participation at another major event – the World Economic Forum in Davos (January 2020).

Direkt zum Inhalt
ethix – Lab für Innovationsethik

Ein Gewissen für die digitale Welt

Ist das technisch Mögliche auch das moralisch Vertretbare und gesellschaftlich Richtige?, fragt das Pionierprojekt ethix. Foto: Simon Tanner
Ist das technisch Mögliche auch das moralisch Vertretbare und gesellschaftlich Richtige?, fragt das Pionierprojekt ethix. Foto: Simon Tanner

Welche ethischen Prinzipien braucht die digitale Transformation? Zu dieser Frage wollte sich die Standortinitiative digitalswitzerland gemeinsam mit Spitzenvertretern globaler und nationaler Technologieunternehmen positionieren. Sie beauftragte das Pionierprojekt ethix damit, die Arbeiten zu einer gemeinsamen Deklaration zu moderieren. Schnell wurde klar: Das reicht nicht. Die Geschichte eines dynamischen Prozesses.

Der dritte Schweizer Digitaltag, welcher im September 2019 stattfand, war hochkarätig besetzt: Sonderzüge mit Politikern, Wirtschaftsvertreterinnen und Journalisten fuhren im ganze Land umher. Etwas weniger öffentlich ging der «Swiss Global Digital Summit», der einen Tag davor stattfand, über die Bühne. Ein Gipfeltreffen, das Bundespräsident Ueli Maurer zusammen mit digitalswitzerland lanciert hatte. Der Ort der Zusammenkunft in Genf war nicht zufällig gewählt. Die Initiative soll an die humanitäre Tradition anknüpfen und eine Plattform für ethische Fragen rund um die Digitalisierung errichten.

Denn «diese schreitet in hohem Tempo voran, und vieles, was heute als Gedankenspiel abgetan wird, könnte morgen bereits Alltag sein. Bei manchen löst das Unbehagen aus, zu gross erscheint die Gefahr, nicht Schritt halten zu können», liess sich Maurer zitieren. Die Aussage zeigt: Digitale Innovation bringt positive Fortschritte, kann aber auch Ambivalenzen erzeugen. Umso wichtiger ist es, dass ethische Reflexion in den Innovationsprozess integriert wird. Auf diese Weise kann das förderliche Potenzial der Technologien zum Tragen kommen.

Das Team des Start-ups ist im letzten Jahr gewachsen. Foto: Simon Tanner

Diese Sichtweise teilten auch die geladenen Gäste der globalen und Schweizer Wirtschaft sowie Vertreterinnen und Vertreter von Schweizer Hochschulen, die am «Swiss Global Digital Summit» mit der Diskussion eines gemeinsamen Grundsatzpapiers den Startschuss zur Lancierung der «Swiss Digital Initiative» gaben. Es war der vorläufige Höhepunkt einer Zusammenarbeit, die von digitalswitzerland schon Monate zuvor sorgsam in die Wege geleitet worden war. Und zwar mit der Unterstützung eines Pionierprojekts von Engagement Migros.

Die beiden Unternehmer Jean-Daniel Strub und Johan Rochel haben zusammen Anfang 2018 ethix, das Labor für Innovationsethik, gegründet. Es berät Unternehmen und Organisationen in ethischen Fragen, die sich auftun, wenn neue Technologien entwickelt und kommerziell genutzt werden. Beide haben schon zuvor Firmen geleitet, zudem war Strub für den ETH-Rat tätig, und Rochel ist nicht nur Philosoph, sondern auch Jurist. Zusammen mit ihrem Team haben sie Anfang Jahr ein neues Quartier in einem Bürohaus in Wiedikon bezogen. Dort teilen sie sich einen loftartigen Raum mit einem Start-up, welches Kaffeeröster und -produzenten verbindet und so einen transparenten Handel von Rohstoffen ermöglicht.

In der Start-up-Nachbarschaft: Viele grüne Bohnen aus transparentem Handel warten auf die erste Röstung. Foto: Simon Tanner

Als ethix im vergangenen Frühling von digitalswitzerland angefragt wurde, die Entstehung einer Schweizer Digital Declaration zu begleiten, trafen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft aufeinander. «So einen Auftrag haben wir uns für ethix natürlich insgeheim immer gewünscht», sagt Samira Lütscher, die das Projekt beim Förderfonds Engagement Migros unterstützt. Denn die Pioniere konnten so nämlich an einem konkreten Produkt zeigen, wie sie die Ethik aus dem Elfenbeinturm holen. Die Declaration sollte kollaborativ erarbeitet werden, um hohe ethische Standards zu gewährleisten, die von möglichst vielen Stakeholdern getragen und akzeptiert werden können. Bereits nach kurzer Einarbeitungszeit zeigte sich aber: Um über den September 2019 hinaus echte Wirkung zu erzielen, musste das Projekt grösser und vor allem langfristiger gedacht werden. Denn an Dokumenten und Statements, die ethische Prinzipien für die digitale Welt festhalten, besteht kein Mangel. Über 80 solcher Dokumente entstanden allein in den letzten Jahren – Trend anhaltend.

«Man darf hier nicht klein denken. Auf keinen Fall.»

Johan Rochel

Ein weiteres vergleichbares Dokument – da waren sich alle Beteiligten rasch einig – würde bestenfalls kurzfristigen Mehrwert stiften. Ganz anders wäre es aber mit einer in der Schweiz beheimateten, umsetzungsorientierten Initiative. Diese würde sich auch in einem schnell entwickelnden wirtschaftlichen und innovativen Umfeld behaupten können. Für ethix-Gründer Johan Rochel war sofort klar: «Man darf hier nicht klein denken. Auf keinen Fall.» Sonst würde der globale Blickwinkel abhanden kommen. Und dieser sei bei den hier verhandelten Fragestellungen unverzichtbar.

Statt einer weiteren Declaration stand daher bald die Lancierung einer langfristig ausgelegten Initiative mit Sitz in der Schweiz im Fokus. Dafür wird eigens eine Stiftung gegründet. Designierte Präsidentin dieser Stiftung ist alt Bundesrätin Doris Leuthard. Weitere designierte Mitglieder des Stiftungsrats sind Joël Mesot und Yves Flückiger, die Präsidenten der ETH Zürich und der Universität Genf, der Ringier-CEO und Gründer von digitalswitzerland, Marc Walder, sowie Ivo Furrer, Präsident von digitalswitzerland. Auch Bundeskanzler Walter Thurnherr soll dem Gremium angehören.

Mit einem gemeinsamen Grundsatzdokument sollten sich alle Akteure zur Richtung bekennen, in die man sich gemeinsam bewegen will. In einer interdisziplinären Expertengruppe entstand hierfür ein Papier, das den Anspruch hatte, alle essenziellen Themen und Fragestellungen aufzunehmen und konkrete Prinzipien für die gemeinsamen Projekte zu benennen. Dieser Prozess wurde von ethix moderiert und redaktionell begleitet. Stück für Stück entstand dadurch auch die Struktur der Initiative. Im Sinne eines wirkungsorientierten Ansatzes soll sichergestellt sein, dass sich jedes Projekt der neu gegründeten Stiftung den im Papier festgehaltenen Werten verpflichtet.

Steckt in den Vorbereitungen für die Präsentation erster Projekte der Swiss Digital Initiative im Rahmen des WEF: ethix-Grüner Johan Rochel. Foto: Simon Tanner

Dass der herausfordernde Prozess gelang, war auch dem guten Ruf von Rochel und Strub in der Wissenschaftswelt zu verdanken, ist sich Verena Vonarburg, die Gesamtleiterin der Swiss Digital Initiative, sicher. Anders wäre es kaum möglich gewesen, so viele verschiedene Parteien zu vereinen. Auch war es den beiden Ethikern sehr wichtig, dass nicht nur Unternehmen und die Wissenschaft sich einbringen können, sondern auch zivilgesellschaftliche Akteure. Die Initiative orientiert sich daher an einem Multistakeholder-Ansatz. Dieser zielt auf eben diese Einbeziehung aller für den Prozess relevanten Stakeholder aus Politik, Zivilgesellschaft und Privatwirtschaft.

Das Team ist sich einig: Auch zivilgesellschaftliche Akteure müssen eingebunden werden. Foto: Simon Tanner

Ein solcher Prozess kennt zahlreiche Hürden. Strub erinnert sich an einen schwierigen Moment ziemlich zu Beginn, als klar wurde, dass die Zieldefinition seitens der Projektträgerschaft noch der internen Konsolidierung bedurfte – auch um festzulegen, wer in welcher Form involviert sein solle. «Sicher hat es uns bei diesem Prozess geholfen, dass wir mit ethix nicht nur die akademische Perspektive, sondern auch Umsetzungswissen in ähnlichen Fragestellungen mitbringen, sagt Strub. Auch dank dieser Erfahrungen gelang es, auf der Grundlage weitreichender Inputs der Experten einen Text für das Grundsatzpapier und weitere Grundlagen für die Stiftung zu erarbeiten, hinter dem am Schluss alle stehen konnten, auch wenn sie sich nicht als Autoren verstehen.

«Man muss lernen, Unsicherheiten auszuhalten.»

Verena Vonarburg

«Man muss lernen, Unsicherheiten auszuhalten», sagt auch Verena Vonarburg. Dass sich die Pläne von einem Tag auf den anderen wieder ändern. Und ein Onepager bei solchen Projekten oft dienlicher ist als ein 40-seitiger Bericht mit umständlichen Formulierungen. «Wir konnten viel voneinander lernen», sagt Vonarburg, «ethix war genau die richtige Wahl.» Seitens Auftraggeber hat man die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Start-up sehr geschätzt. ethix habe es auch verstanden, zwischen den unterschiedlichen Geschwindigkeiten und Arbeitsweisen der Wissenschaft und der Wirtschaft zu vermitteln.

Nicht nur das Team, sondern auch die Bürofläche ist in den letzten Monaten gewachsen. Foto: Simon Tanner

Die Innenentwicklung nicht vergessen
Jean-Daniel Strub war auch beeindruckt, wie schnell und pragmatisch sich alle Akteure gefunden haben und dazu bereit waren, den Weg eines langfristigen Prozesses gemeinsam zu beschreiten.

«Aufträge dieser Grösse gehen an einem jungen Unternehmen nie spurlos vorbei. Und das ist gut so.»

Jean-Daniel Strub

ethix habe von diesem Projekt viel gelernt und profitiert, sagt Strub. Doch gleichzeitig sei man nun auch vermehrt dabei, das Unternehmen von innen zu entwickeln. Denn: «Aufträge dieser Grösse gehen an einem kleinen und jungen Unternehmen nie spurlos vorbei. Und das ist auch gut so.» Wird ein Grossteil der Ressourcen bei einem Projekt gebündelt, dann bleiben schnell einmal Dinge liegen, die nicht tagesaktuell sind. Entscheidet man sich wie ethix zu wachsen, entstehen aber neue Herausforderungen etwa mit Blick auf die Zusammenarbeit im Team und die Begleitung der einzelnen Aufgaben. Für ethix war es umso mehr ein Glück, stiess die neue Lab-Managerin Lea Strohm zum Team, die dank ihres Hintergrunds in internationalen Beziehungen und Innovationswissenschaften ohne Aufwärmzeit tatkräftig unterstützen konnte. Viel zu tun gibt es für ethix auch in den kommenden Monaten: Als Follow-up zur ersten Projektphase ist das Pionierprojekt nun damit betraut, erste Umsetzungsprojekte innerhalb der Swiss Digital Initiative zu konzipieren und ihre Erarbeitung zu begleiten. Das nächste Rendezvous steht dabei schon bald an: Projekt und Initiative bereiten sich auf einen weiteren grossen Auftritt am Weltwirtschaftsforum in Davos (Januar 2020) vor.