Skip to main content
ethix – lab for innovation ethics

Not flying blind into the future

Self-measurement as opportunity or risk? New technologies raise ever more ethical questions. Photo: doble-d
Self-measurement as opportunity or risk? New technologies raise ever more ethical questions. Photo: doble-d

Along with new solutions, innovation also raises new questions, such as social responsibility, or considering the winners and losers of a new approach. Critical reflection is therefore indispensable for the responsible management of innovation. Active throughout Switzerland, the pioneering project, ethix, is targeted towards startups and companies with their fingers on the pulse of innovation, working together with them and experts to develop specific resources and materials to productively discuss ethical questions.

They measure the heartbeat during yoga, the pulse during long-distance running or the phases of deep sleep: small sensors worn on armbands, in clothing or on a mobile phone. These so-called activity trackers serve an increasingly significant trend: the self-measurement of people, also known as quantified self. The more one knows about oneself, the easier it is, under certain circumstances, to recognize a potential illness early on. And it generally leads to a healthier lifestyle. Another contributing factor may be that progress is visibly noticeable and intrinsically becomes a motivating factor.
 

Between freedom and dependency

Those who sweat with a pedometer or do genetic testing for health reasons generate data that may also be of interest to others, such as health insurance companies. But, what could potentially happen with this data? Is it used to present customers with personalized offers? To reward them for making healthier lifestyle choices? Or ultimately to use it to punish them for moving too little, or for a genetic disposition?

This example illustrates that along with many conveniences, innovation also comes with the constant ambiguity between freedom and dependency. Ethical questions arise: Is what is technically possible also morally acceptable and socially correct? With support from the Engagement Migros Development Fund, the pioneering project, ethix, developed tools for the identification and handling of ethical and societal issues of innovation. The two founders, Jean-Daniel Strub and Johan Rochel, have been preoccupied with political and medical ethics in science for many years. Their shared interest in addressing questions of applied ethics not only in the academic field, but also in facilitating debate among a broader audience is what quickly brought the two together. While Rochel worked from Japan and Rome in the final months, Strub pushed ahead with the founding of the company in Zurich. “Innovation is what is imperative in our time,” he said. Some – such as the science and technology historian, Caspar Hirschi, have even described the creed of “creative destruction” as the true dogma of our time. The innovation discussion is just as omnipresent as it is politically charged.

What type of innovator are you? Initial answers are supplied by the evaluation of a survey conducted in the ethix toolbox.
They do not view themselves as guardians of what is right and good, but as facilitators of a critical and constructive dialogue: ethix founders, Jean-Daniel Strub and Johan Rochel. Photo: John Patrick Walder

Who steers whom?

“Innovation influences both our future and that of the planet, otherwise it wouldn’t be innovation at all,” stated Strub. That is what it is all about. And about the technologies that are available to us and how we use them, because they always offer opportunities and risks. How do we program and steer decisions and learn from machines that serve humans and not the other way around? How can one counter the ever increasing concentration of wealth and power? “Such questions, which automatically come with present and future innovation, must be asked by those who develop technologies and use them commercially,” stated Strub.

He was referring to startups and established companies alike, but ultimately the entire innovation ecosystem, which also includes investors and incubators as well as other funding institutions. After all, these are developments that impact society as a whole to a great degree and are not infrequently ignored. Central in this regard is the term ambiguity: in the context of innovation, unambiguity is often lacking, which makes ethical discussions about it all the more complex.
 

The time is ripe

These societal challenges and opportunities, which are associated with new technologies, are central to the issue of digital transformation at the Engagement Migros Development Fund: “We support pioneering projects such as ethix because they enable the effective and responsible use and co-design of the digital world,” explained Samira Lütscher, who is in charge of this issue at Engagement Migros. ethix offers assistance to startups and companies to become aware of their social responsibility and to recognize it as an opportunity.

Engagement Migros and ethix are not alone in their vision. The Bertelsmann Foundation in Germany has launched a project that seeks to start a public discussion about innovation and digitalization under the name Algorithmenethik. Specialized facilities are also arising in great numbers at universities as well. These include the Digital Society Initiative at the University of Zurich, those addressing similar issues at the federal polytechnic universities, as well as initiatives at the schools of applied arts and sciences in both the French-speaking and German-speaking regions of Switzerland. Exemplary in England is the Digital Ethics Lab at the Oxford Internet Institute. This is in addition to specific activities in university departments; ethix has, for example, successfully submitted a paper at a conference on the topic of responsible innovation in London.

What type of innovator are you? Initial answers are supplied by the evaluation of a survey conducted in the ethix toolbox.
What type of innovator are you? Initial answers are supplied by the evaluation of a survey conducted in the ethix toolbox.

A clear basis of values is needed in case of conflict

The pioneering project, ethix, develops offers on two levels, for startups and companies as well as for the interested public: easily accessible materials, case studies and simple texts about the typical innovation ethics topics such as human enhancement, i.e. the extension of human performance, are made available on the website free of charge.

 

Companies and individuals can also use a toolbox to create their own innovation ethics profile, which provides them with an initial reference point and with a spider, an overview of their central motivations as an innovator. Taking this as the basis and building on it, this can be reviewed in a consistent interdisciplinary workshop for which ethix obtains appropriate specialists from its network extending throughout Switzerland.

For example, if a startup seeks to set new benchmarks in global tracking, while the potential there is enormous, there are also ethical challenges involved, such as whether concerned parents should monitor their children. While the company and its employees are convinced of the disruptive potential of their approach, nevertheless, the question arises of whether all means may be exhausted. The value basis of startups must be clarified to answer this question. Because when it comes to conflict, it is not enough to simply fall back upon the identity as a young company. The startup is supported by ethix in the process of identifying the challenges and developing solutions. The procedure is multileveled and interdisciplinary: after a needs assessment, a workshop is conducted at the corresponding startup, in which ethix taps into a network of experts from various specialized disciplines so that in addition to genuine ethical risks, specific issues confronting that startup can also be addressed.

New technologies create new opportunities for interaction between people and machines, while at the same time challenging our self-perception and the concept of what it means to be a human being. Eliane Maalouf, researcher at the Institut du management de l’information der Universität Neuchâtel, at the ethix launch event in Lausanne. Photo: John Patrick Walder

New technologies create new opportunities for interaction between people and machines, while at the same time challenging our self-perception and the concept of what it means to be a human being. Eliane Maalouf, researcher at the Information Management Institute of the University of Neuchâtel, at the ethix launch event in Lausanne. Photo: John Patrick Walder

Parallel to working with startups, ethix also develops participation formats for the interested public. These include moderated discussion panels with online and offline elements on central innovation ethics issues. Public events also place the spotlight on the public opinion forming process, such as by answering questions at the beginning and the end, which are evaluated and visualized. In this way, ethix creates space for social debates about the relationship between innovation and ethics.

“The consideration of ethical issues also creates commercial and economic added value.”

Johan Rochel

Those involved in innovation know how quickly the processes can take place. Participants often have no time to devote themselves to such deep thoughts. This is a mechanism of which both ethix founders are aware. “But we are convinced that the consideration of ethical issues also creates added commercial and economic value,” stated Rochel. A central lever in the process is the company’s reputation and how it is publically perceived, because humans may not be forgotten in this regard as well. A steadily growing number of well qualified employees are demanding meaningful activities, while investors are also meanwhile questioning ethical aspects of innovative approaches. Rochel and Strub are convinced: innovation ethics can become a competitive advantage.
 

Head free for content

While ethix is not the first company set up by Strub and Rochel, the financial support and supervision by the Engagement Migros Development Fund is new. They were not, as is customary, immediately preoccupied with customer acquisition, but were able to initially devote themselves to conducting test workshops and the development of content without worrying about turnover. They approached interested parties with a graphic identity and their initial materials. “The process of establishing our own positioning, which also, but not only, includes the development of a corporate identity, is something I would start considerably earlier the next time. Because only on this basis can contents be presented in our environment in such a way that we can approach partners and convince them to work with us. I underestimated the scope of this process,” Strub stated. On the other hand, ethix was quite efficient when it came to the formulation of the project in view of the special circumstances: Rochel was in Japan at the time. A relay across continents arose. When one partner was going to bed in Zurich, the other took over in Tokyo. By mid-June, at the latest, when ethix starts up, the duo will be back together in the same time zone.

Direkt zum Inhalt
ethix – Lab für Innovationsethik

Zukunft ohne Blindflug

Selbstvermessung als Chance oder Risiko? Neue Technologien werfen immer auch ethische Fragen auf. Foto: doble-d
Selbstvermessung als Chance oder Risiko? Neue Technologien werfen immer auch ethische Fragen auf. Foto: doble-d

Neben neuen Lösungsansätzen ruft Innovation auch neue Fragen auf den Plan, etwa nach der gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung oder nach Verlierern und Gewinnern eines neuen Ansatzes. Eine kritische Reflexion ist für einen verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Innovation deshalb unverzichtbar. Das gesamtschweizerisch tätige Pionierprojekt ethix richtet sich an Start-ups und Unternehmen, die am Puls der Innovation tätig sind, und entwickelt gemeinsam mit ihnen und Experten spezifische Ressourcen und Materialien, mit denen sich ethische Fragen zielführend diskutieren lassen.

Sie messen den Herzschlag beim Yoga, den Puls beim Dauerlauf oder die Phasen des Tiefschlafs: kleine Sensoren, die man an Armbändern, in den Kleidern oder auf dem Handy mit sich trägt. Diese sogenannten Activity-Tracker sind die Voraussetzung für einen Trend, der immer bedeutender wird: die Selbstvermessung des Menschen, genannt auch «Quantified Self». Denn wer mehr über sich selbst weiss, der erkennt unter Umständen auch eine drohende Krankheit früher. Und pflegt generell einen gesünderen Lebensstil. Dazu mag auch beitragen, dass Fortschritte visuell aufgezeigt werden und so zu einem Ansporn werden können.
 

Zwischen Freiheit und Abhängigkeit

Doch wer mit einem Schrittmesser schwitzt oder einen Gentest zur Gesundheitsvorsorge macht, generiert Daten, die auch für andere von Interesse sein können, zum Beispiel für die Krankenversicherer. Was könnte mit diesen Daten passieren? Nutzt man sie, um den Kundinnen und Kunden personalisierte Angebote zu machen? Um sie für ihren gesunden Lebenswandel zu belohnen? Oder um sie am Ende für ihren Bewegungsmangel oder ihre genetische Disposition zu ahnden?

Das Beispiel zeigt: Innovation bringt, neben vielen Annehmlichkeiten, auch die ständige Ambivalenz zwischen Freiheit und Abhängigkeit mit sich. Es tun sich ethische Fragen auf: Ist das technisch Mögliche auch das moralisch Vertretbare und gesellschaftlich Richtige? Mit Unterstützung des Förderfonds Engagement Migros entwickelt das Pionierprojekt ethix Instrumente zur Identifikation und Bearbeitung von ethischen und gesellschaftlichen Themen in der Innovation. Die beiden Gründer Jean-Daniel Strub und Johan Rochel haben sich viele Jahre in der Wissenschaft mit politischer und medizinischer Ethik auseinandergesetzt. Das Interesse, sich mit Fragen der angewandten Ethik nicht nur im akademischen Bereich zu befassen, sondern auch in einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit eine Debatte zu ermöglichen, hat die beiden rasch zusammengeführt. Während Rochel die letzten Monate von Japan und Rom aus arbeitete, trieb Strub die Firmengründung in Zürich voran.  «Innovation ist der Imperativ unserer Zeit», sagt er. Manche – etwa der Wissenschafts- und Technikhistoriker Caspar Hirschi – bezeichneten das Credo von der «kreativen Zerstörung» gar als eigentlichen Glaubenssatz unserer Zeit. Dabei ist der Innovationsdiskurs so omnipräsent wie politisch aufgeladen.

Verstehen sich nicht als Hüter des Richtigen und Guten, sondern als Ermöglicher eines kritischen und konstruktiven Dialogs: ethix-Gründer Jean-Daniel Strub und Johan Rochel. Foto: John Patrick Walder
Verstehen sich nicht als Hüter des Richtigen und Guten, sondern als Ermöglicher eines kritischen und konstruktiven Dialogs: ethix-Gründer Jean-Daniel Strub und Johan Rochel. Foto: John Patrick Walder

Wer lenkt wen? 

«Innovation beeinflusst unsere Zukunft und die des Planeten, sonst wäre sie keine Innovation», sagt Strub. Darum gehe es. Und darum, welche Technologien uns zur Verfügung stehen und wie wir sie nutzen. Denn sie bieten alle stets Chancen und Risiken. Wie programmieren und lenken wir Entscheidungen und das Lernen von Maschinen, die dem Menschen dienen und nicht umgekehrt? Wie wirkt man der immer stärkeren Konzentration von Reichtum und Macht entgegen?  «Solche Fragen, die unvermeidbar mit heutiger und künftiger Innovation einhergehen, müssen sich diejenigen stellen, die Technologien entwickeln oder kommerziell nutzen», sagt Strub.

Damit meint er Start-ups wie auch etablierte Unternehmen, letztlich aber das ganze Innovationsökosystem, zu dem auch Investoren und Inkubatoren sowie weitere Förderinstitutionen gehören. Denn es seien Entwicklungen, die die Gesellschaft als Ganze in hohem Mass betreffen und nicht selten ausgeblendet werden. Zentral sei in diesem Zusammenhang der Begriff der Ambivalenz: Im Kontext von Innovation fehle es oft an Eindeutigkeit, was die ethische Diskussion darüber umso anspruchsvoller mache.


Die Zeit ist reif

Diese gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen und Möglichkeiten, die mit neuen Technologien einhergehen, stehen im Zentrum des Themenschwerpunkts «Digitale Transformation» des Förderfonds Engagement Migros: «Wir unterstützen Pionierprojekte wie ethix, weil sie dazu befähigen, die digitalisierte Welt souverän und verantwortungsvoll zu nutzen und mitzugestalten», erklärt Samira Lütscher, die den Schwerpunkt bei Engagement Migros verantwortet. ethix biete den Start-ups und Unternehmen Hand, sich ihrer gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung bewusst zu werden und diese als Chance zu verstehen.

Mit ihrer Vision sind ethix und Engagement Migros nicht allein. In Deutschland hat die Bertelsmann Stiftung ein Projekt gestartet, das unter dem Begriff Algorithmenethik einen öffentlichen Innovations- und Digitalisierungsdiskurs starten möchte. Auch an Hochschulen entstehen in grosser Zahl spezialisierte Einrichtungen. So etwa die Digital Society Initiative an der Universität Zürich, vergleichbare Schwerpunkte an den ETH, aber auch Initiativen an Fachhochschulen in der West- wie in der Deutschschweiz. In England sticht zum Beispiel das Digital Ethics Lab am Oxford Internet Institute heraus. Hinzu kommen punktuelle Aktivitäten an Lehrstühlen; so war ethix etwa mit der Eingabe eines Papers an einer Konferenz zum Thema Responsible Innovation in London erfolgreich.

Welcher Innovatortyp sind Sie? Erste Antworten darauf liefert die Auswertung eines Fragebogens aus der ethix-Toolbox.

Im Konfliktfall braucht es eine klare Wertebasis

Das Pionierprojekt ethix erarbeitet Angebote auf zwei Ebenen, für Start-ups und Unternehmen sowie für die interessierte Öffentlichkeit: Materialien, Case Studies und einfache Texte zu den typischen innovationsethischen Themen wie «Human Enhancement», also der Erweiterung der menschlichen Leistungsfähigkeit, werden auf der Website niederschwellig und kostenlos zugänglich gemacht.

Auch können Unternehmen und Einzelpersonen mittels einer Toolbox ihr innovationsethisches Profil erstellen, was ihnen einen ersten Anknüpfungspunkt und in einem Spider eine Übersicht über ihre zentrale Motivation als Innovatorin beziehungsweise Innovator bietet. Davon ausgehend und darauf aufbauend kann diese an einem stets interdisziplinär durchgeführten Workshop, für den ethix entsprechende Fachpersonen aus dem gesamtschweizerischen Netzwerk beizieht, überprüft werden. 

Zum Beispiel, wenn ein Start-up im weltweiten Tracking neue Massstäbe setzen will. Dann ist das Potenzial zwar enorm, es gibt aber auch ethische Herausforderungen. Etwa ob damit besorgte Eltern ihre Kinder überwachen sollen. Das Unternehmen und die Mitarbeitenden sind überzeugt vom disruptiven Potenzial ihres Ansatzes. Es stellt sich dennoch die Frage, ob es mit allen Mitteln ausgeschöpft werden darf. Um diese zu beantworten, gilt es die Wertebasis des Start-ups zu klären. Denn im Konfliktfall reicht es nicht, sich generisch auf die Identität als Jungunternehmen zu berufen. ethix unterstützt das Start-up, die Herausforderungen zu identifizieren und Lösungen zu entwickeln. Das Vorgehen dabei ist mehrstufig und interdisziplinär: Nach einer Bedarfserhebung wird beim betreffenden Start-up ein Workshop abgehalten, bei dem ethix auf ein Netzwerk von Expertinnen und Experten unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen zurückgreift, sodass nebst genuin ethischen Risiken immer auch spezifische Themen angegangen werden können, mit dem sich das Start-up konfrontiert sieht.

Neue Technologien schaffen neue Möglichkeiten der Interaktion zwischen Mensch und Maschine, fordern aber zugleich unser Selbstverständnis und unser Menschenbild heraus. Eliane Maalouf, Forscherin am Institut du management de l’information der Universität Neuchâtel, am Launch-Anlass von ethix in Lausanne. Foto: John Patrick Walder

Neue Technologien schaffen neue Möglichkeiten der Interaktion zwischen Mensch und Maschine, fordern aber zugleich unser Selbstverständnis und unser Menschenbild heraus. Eliane Maalouf, Forscherin am Institut du management de l’information der Universität Neuchâtel, am Launch-Anlass von ethix in Lausanne. Foto: John Patrick Walder

Parallel zur Arbeit mit Start-ups entwickelt ethix auch Beteiligungsformate für die interessierte Öffentlichkeit. So wird es moderierte Diskussionspanels mit On- und Offline-Elementen zu zentralen innovationsethischen Fragestellungen geben. Und auch an öffentlichen Veranstaltungen soll der Meinungsbildungsprozess des Publikums im Zentrum stehen, etwa indem es zu Beginn und zum Schluss Fragen beantwortet, die ausgewertet und visualisiert werden. Auf diesem Weg schafft ethix Raum für gesellschaftliche Debatten über das Verhältnis von Innovation und Ethik.

«Die Berücksichtigung von ethischen Fragestellungen schafft auch einen unternehmerischen Mehrwert.»

Johan Rochel

Wer sich mit Innovation beschäftigt, der weiss, wie schnell die Prozesse ablaufen. Oft haben die Beteiligten keine Zeit, sich solchen vertiefenden Gedanken zu widmen. Ein Mechanismus, der den beiden ethix-Gründern bewusst ist. «Wir sind aber überzeugt, dass die Berücksichtigung von ethischen Fragestellungen auch einen unternehmerischen und wirtschaftlichen Mehrwert schafft», sagt Rochel. Ein zentraler Hebel sei dabei die Reputation der Unternehmen und deren Wahrnehmung in der Öffentlichkeit. Denn auch hier darf man den Menschen nicht vergessen. So verlangt eine stetig wachsende Anzahl von gut qualifizierten Arbeitnehmern nach sinnhaften Tätigkeiten, und auch Investoren hinterfragen zuweilen ethische Aspekte innovativer Ansätze. Rochel und Strub sind überzeugt: Innovationsethik kann zum Wettbewerbsvorteil werden.
 

Kopf frei für Inhalte

ethix ist zwar nicht die erste Firma von Strub und Rochel, doch ist die finanzielle Unterstützung und Begleitung durch den Förderfonds Engagement Migros neu. Die beiden Gründer waren zu Beginn nicht wie üblich mit Akquise absorbiert, sondern können sich zunächst umsatzunabhängig der Durchführung von Test-Workshops und der Erarbeitung von Inhalten widmen. Mit einem grafischen Auftritt und ersten Materialien gingen sie auf Interessenten zu. «Den Prozess unserer eigenen Positionierung, der auch, aber nicht nur, die Entwicklung einer Corporate Identity umfasst, würde ich bei einem nächsten Mal deutlich früher an die Hand nehmen. Denn nur auf dieser Grundlage können in unserem Umfeld die Inhalte so dargestellt werden, dass man damit an Partnerinnen und Partner herantreten und sie für eine Zusammenarbeit gewinnen kann. Den Umfang dieses Prozesses habe ich unterschätzt», sagt Strub. Hingegen sei ethix in der Projektformulierung aufgrund spezieller Umstände sehr effizient gewesen: Rochel hielt sich zu dieser Zeit in Japan auf. Es entstand eine Stafette über die Kontinente hinweg. Wenn der eine in Zürich ins Bett ging, dann übernahm der andere in Tokio. Spätestens ab Mitte Juni, zum Start von ethix, ist das Duo aber wieder in der gleichen Zeitzone unterwegs.