Skip to main content
Match-Making Module

“It worked – but the scene is still young.”

Although the global market is huge, many do not know the value of their work. Photo: Simon Tanner
Although the global market is huge, many do not know the value of their work. Photo: Simon Tanner

In Switzerland, a new generation of creatives is growing up whose playing field is digital: game designers, virtual reality designers, digital architects, artists and storytellers. Over the past three years, Engagement Migros has used a Match-Making Module to bring these new creatives together with investors and potential buyers of their products. We take stock.

Even the Federal Council stated in March 2018 that there is potential in the digital creative sector. However, industry experts agree that this potential is not yet being exploited in Switzerland. The international market for digital creation has become huge, with sales in the video games industry alone estimated at around 80 billion dollars worldwide. Add to that other sectors such as the film industry or the luxury goods and advertising industry. All of them rely on digital creations.

“We want to build bridges.”

Samira Lütscher

There is actually a lot of new digital creative talent in Switzerland. Since 2004, 200 game designers have graduated from the University of the Arts in Zurich alone. And there are more every year, not only from the field of games: for example from the Ecal School of Art in Lausanne by Media Interaction Design, or from HEAD and the two Swiss Federal Institutes of Technology in Zurich and Lausanne.

Have done pioneering work for digital creatives together: Samira Lütscher and Marie Mayoly. Photo: Simon Tanner

Their production, the Federal Council continues, “is of high quality, but their output is still modest. Access to the market is difficult”. It is the aim of Engagement Migros to support projects that lie precisely at the crossroads between creation and the market. The Match-Making Module was therefore initiated in 2016. The project will now be completed at the end of 2018. Samira Lütscher has been managing the project internally at the development fund. She is now sitting at the table with Marie Mayoly, the external project manager. Together they look back.

How did you get the idea for this project?
S. L.: After a pilot project that we conducted together with Pro Helvetia, we saw that there is a need in Switzerland to connect digital creatives to a possible market.

Why especially them?
S. L.: Other creative industries have their market environment: writers, publishers, artists, galleries and so on. But the market for digital creatives is still in its infancy in Switzerland. There are yet many gaps in the ecosystem – we wanted to build bridges here.

What was the project’s goal at the beginning?
S. L.: We wanted to find out what the market was like. That’s why we launched an open-ended project and outlined various scenarios. One of them, for example, was that it could result in a small matchmaking agency that would be financed by placements. During the course of the programme, the digital creatives have indeed become professionalised. We are convinced that your ecosystem will soon flourish.  

What solution have you found?
S. L.: We are concluding the project with a “cookbook”, a guide on how to organise matchmaking, i.e. bringing digital creatives together with buyers and investors, and on what to look out for in this context.

Passing on knowledge – one of the common goals of the project and the sponsor. Photo: Simon Tanner

Marie Mayoly headed up the project, carried out the matchmaking and wrote the cookbook. In the beginning she introduced a dozen digital creatives to potential investors, partners or clients. The discussions after the pilot project resulted in the following findings: Yes, there is interest. However, it is still too little known that Switzerland is increasingly training digital creatives who work at a high level.

“I had to convince some people that their art was in demand.”

Marie Mayoly

By the end of 2018, Marie Mayoly will have introduced almost a hundred creatives to over 300 investors. The trained hospitality manager and her Swiss protégés have attended dozens of trade fairs worldwide over the past three years: several times in Cannes, and at US fairs and festivals such as the Sundance Film Festival in Utah and the Game Developers Conference in San Francisco.

How did matchmaking work?
M. M.: The process was improved from one matchmaking meeting to the next and is now divided into five phases: searching for creatives, finding investors, coaching before the meeting, the meeting itself, and then obtaining feedback from both sides.

Which of these phases was the most challenging?
M. M.: Among the many interesting Swiss creatives, there are some who see themselves so strongly as artists that they can’t imagine working commercially for companies. These young creatives come from universities that dedicate little time to the business aspect. So their graduates don’t understand how the creative digital market works. I had to convince some of these young men that their art and skills are in demand on the market.

Good matchmaking – two success stories
At the end of 2016, Somniacs sells one of its Birdly units – a flight simulator that combines VR and robot technology – to mk2 VR, the first permanent venue for virtual reality in France. mk2 is an important French film distribution company and cinema chain.

The digital artist Martin Herting presented his work Sensible Data at the Ars Electronica in Linz – a pioneering festival in Europe for research into digital art and media culture.

Further examples can also be found in this report.

 

How did you find the investors and potential buyers?
M. M.: I did a lot of research on the internet and in databases. I went through the participant lists of the festivals and partner organisations and searched for similarities.

That sounds like a lot of work...
M. M.: Yes, sometimes research is almost detective work. Matchmaking isn’t about finding just any potential investor, but the investor who best fits the Swiss company. I had to find out exactly what a company was doing and in which direction it wanted to move. I had to find out exactly who was in charge. I wrote a lot of emails to people somewhere in the world who never got back to me. You have to approach matchmaking with a sense of humour.

The project is finished, but the potential will grow in the future. Photo: Simon Tanner

Were you there yourself at the meetings?
M. M.: No. But I prepared everything. What is often forgotten at meetings: the environment. It is important. It has to be quiet and not too hot, with pleasant lighting. I made sure the atmosphere was right. After the meetings I collected feedback from both sides. That’s just as important as preparing for a meeting. It’s the only way to learn, prepare better for other matchmaking activities and continue the success story.

Why is the project not being continued commercially?
M. M.: That was indeed an option that I examined. Unfortunately, the market environment – we are also talking about the ecosystem – is not yet ready. The matchmaking did work. We saw that there is a need for this. But I am confident that there will soon be such an agency.

But?
M. M.: The scene here is still too young to be able to pay for targeted matchmaking. We have done pioneering work. The Swiss digital creatives now know that there is a market. And the investors and buyers have seen that there is potential in Switzerland. In the future, this potential will not be smaller, but larger in any case.

Digital entrepreneurs and creatives face a huge challenge. As pioneers of radical new artistic ideas, they must not only develop their project, but also create a whole new market. While traditionally-oriented creative professionals usually have a relatively good understanding of their market and its established supporters, platforms, investors, patrons and other important stakeholders, digital cultural entrepreneurs often have to start with less orientation. They need to build a completely new ecosystem for their genre. As a valuable tool in this endeavour, the “Cookbook” of the Match-Making Module is now available to emerging organisations and institutions such as the Pro Helvetia Arts Council.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Match-Making-Modul

«Es hat funktioniert – aber die Szene ist noch jung»

Obwohl der globale Markt riesig ist, kennen viele den Wert ihrer Arbeit nicht. Foto: Simon Tanner
Obwohl der globale Markt riesig ist, kennen viele den Wert ihrer Arbeit nicht. Foto: Simon Tanner

In der Schweiz wächst eine neue Generation von Kreativen heran, deren Spielfeld das Digitale ist: Gamedesignerinnen, Gestalter virtueller Realitäten, digitale Architektinnen, Künstler und Geschichtenerzählerinnen. Engagement Migros hat mit einem Match-Making-Modul in den letzten drei Jahren versucht, diese neuen Kreativen mit Investoren und potenziellen Käufern ihrer Produkte zusammenzubringen. Eine Bilanz.

Sogar der Bundesrat hat im März 2018 festgehalten, dass in der Branche der «digitalen Kreativen» Potenzial steckt. Doch ausgeschöpft wird dieses Potenzial, da sind sich Branchenkenner einig, in der Schweiz noch nicht. Dabei ist der internationale Markt für digitale Kreation inzwischen riesig: Allein der Umsatz in der Videospielindustrie wird weltweit auf rund 80 Milliarden Dollar geschätzt. Dazu kommen weitere Branchen wie die Filmindustrie oder die Luxusgüter- und Werbeindustrie. Sie alle setzen auf digitale Kreationen.

«Wir wollen Brücken bauen.»

Samira Lütscher

Nachwuchs an digital-kreativ Schaffenden gibt es in der Schweiz eigentlich viel. Seit 2004 haben allein in Zürich 200 Gamedesignerinnen und -designer die Hochschule der Künste verlassen. Und jedes Jahr kommen mehr dazu, nicht nur aus dem Bereich Game; etwa aus dem Bereich Media Interaction Design der Kunsthochschule Ecal in Lausanne oder von HEAD und den beiden Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschulen in Zürich und Lausanne.

Haben zusammen Pionierarbeit für «digitale Kreative» geleistet: Samira Lütscher und Marie Mayoly. Foto: Simon Tanner

Ihre Produktion, schreibt der Bundesrat weiter, sei zwar hochwertig, der Output aber noch bescheiden. Der Zugang zum Markt gestalte sich schwierig. Es ist das Ziel von Engagement Migros, Projekte zu unterstützen, die genau an dieser Schnittstelle zwischen Kreation und Markt liegen. 2016 wurde deshalb das Match-Making-Modul initiiert. Ende 2018 wird das Projekt nun abgeschlossen. Samira Lütscher hat das Projekt intern beim Förderfonds geleitet. Sie sitzt nun zusammen mit Marie Mayoly, der externen Projektleiterin, am Tisch. Zusammen blicken sie zurück.

Wie kam euch die Idee für das Projekt?
S. L.: Wir haben nach einem Pilotprojekt, das wir zusammen mit Pro Helvetia durchgeführt haben, gesehen, dass es in der Schweiz ein Bedürfnis dafür gibt, diese digitalen Kreativen mit einem möglichen Markt zu vernetzen.

Warum gerade sie?
S. L.: Andere kreative Branchen haben ihr Marktumfeld: Schreibende die Verlage, Künstler die Galerien und so weiter. Aber der Markt für die digitalen Kreativen steckt hierzulande noch in den Kinderschuhen. Das Ökosystem weist noch viele Lücken auf – hier wollten wir Brücken bauen.

Mit welchem Ziel wurde das Projekt gestartet?
S. L.: Wir wollten herausfinden, wie es um den Markt steht. Darum haben wir ein Projekt mit offenem Ausgang lanciert und verschiedene Szenarien skizziert. Eines davon etwa war, dass daraus eine kleine Matchmaking-Agentur hervorgehen könnte, die sich durch die Vermittlungen finanziert. Im Laufe des Programms hat tatsächlich eine Professionalisierung  der digitalen Kreativen stattgefunden. Wir sind überzeugt: Ihr Ökosystem wird bald blühen.

Welche Lösung habt ihr gefunden?
S. L.: Wir schliessen das Projekt mit einem Cookbook ab, einer Anleitung, wie man dieses Matchmaking, also das Zusammenbringen von digitalen Kreativen mit Käufern und Investoren, organisiert und worauf man dabei achten muss.

Wissen weitergeben – eines der gemeinsamen Ziele von Projekt und Förderer. Foto: Simon Tanner

Marie Mayoly hat das Projekt geleitet, das Matchmaking durchgeführt und anschliessend das Cookbook verfasst. Zu Beginn hatte sie ein Dutzend digitale Kreative möglichen Investoren, Partnern oder Kunden vorgestellt. Die Gespräche nach dem Pilotversuch ergaben: Ja, es besteht Interesse. Noch ist aber zu wenig bekannt, dass die Schweiz zunehmend digitale Kreative ausbildet, die auf hohem Niveau arbeiten.

«Manche musste ich regelrecht davon überzeugen, dass ihre Kunst gefragt ist.»

Marie Mayoly

Bis zum Abschluss des Projekts Ende 2018 wird Marie Mayoly fast hundert Kreative über 300 Investoren vorgestellt haben. Die ausgebildete Hospitality-Managerin war mit ihren Schweizer Schützlingen in den letzten drei Jahren an Dutzenden von Messen weltweit: mehrmals im französischen Cannes, an US-Messen und Festivals wie dem Sundance Film Festival in Utah oder der Game Developers Conference in San Francisco.

Wie bist du bei diesem Matchmaking vorgegangen?
M. M.: Der Prozess wurde von Matchmaking zu Matchmaking verbessert und gliedert sich heute in fünf Phasen: Suche nach den Kreativen, Investorensuche, Coaching vor dem Treffen, das Treffen selber und dann das Einholen des Feedbacks beider Seiten.

Welche dieser Phasen war besonders anspruchsvoll?
M. M.: Unter den vielen interessanten Schweizer Kreativen gibt es einige, die sich so sehr als Künstler sehen, dass sie es sich nicht vorstellen können, auch kommerziell für Firmen zu arbeiten. Diese jungen Kreativen kommen aus Hochschulen, die dem Business-Aspekt wenig Zeit einräumen. Ihre Abgänger haben deshalb auch kein Verständnis dafür, wie der kreative digitale Markt funktioniert. Manche dieser Jungen musste ich regelrecht überzeugen, dass ihre Kunst und ihr Können im Markt gefragt sind.

Gutes Matchmaking – zwei Erfolgsgeschichten
Ende 2016 verkauft Somniacs einen ihrer Birdly, eine Apparatur, auf der sich in einer Kombination aus VR- und Robotertechnologie ein Flugerlebnis geniessen lässt, an mk2 VR, den ersten permanenten Spielort für Virtual Reality in Frankreich. mk2 ist eine bedeutende Filmdistributions-Gesellschaft und Kinokette aus Frankreich. Der Digitalkünstler Martin Herting präsentierte seine Arbeit Sensible Data auf der Ars Electronica in Linz, einem Pionierfestival in Europa zur Erforschung der digitalen Kunst und Medienkultur.

Weitere Beispiele finden sich auch im Bericht.

Wie hast du die Investoren und mögliche Käufer gefunden?
M. M.: Ich habe viel im Internet und auf Datenbanken recherchiert, bin die Teilnehmerlisten der Festivals und Partnerorganisationen durchgegangen und habe nach Übereinstimmungen gesucht.

Das klingt nach richtig viel Arbeit …
M. M.: Ja, manchmal ist die Recherche fast Detektivarbeit. Beim Matchmaking geht es darum, nicht einfach irgendeinen möglichen Investor zu finden, sondern jenen Investor, der am besten zur Schweizer Firma passt. Ich musste herausfinden, was eine Firma genau tut und in welche Richtung sie sich bewegen will. Ich musste recherchieren, wer genau zuständig ist. Ich habe viele E-Mails geschrieben an Personen irgendwo auf der Welt, die sich nie zurückgemeldet haben. Man muss Matchmaking spielerisch angehen.

Das Projekt ist zwar zu Ende, doch das Potenzial wird in Zukunft wachsen. Foto: Simon Tanner

Warst du an den Treffen selber dabei?
M. M.: Nein. Aber ich habe alles vorbereitet. Was oft vergessen geht bei Meetings: die Umgebung. Die ist wichtig. Es muss unbedingt ruhig sein, angenehmes Licht und nicht zu heiss. Ich habe Wert darauf gelegt, dass die Atmosphäre stimmt. Nach den Meetings habe ich dann von beiden Seiten Feedbacks eingeholt. Das ist genauso wichtig wie die Vorbereitung auf ein Meeting. Denn nur so lernt man dazu, kann sich noch besser auf andere Matchmaking-Aktivitäten vorbereiten und die Erfolgsgeschichte weiterschreiben.

Woran liegt es, dass das Projekt nicht kommerziell weitergeführt wird?
M. M.: Das war tatsächlich eine Option, die ich prüfte. Das Marktumfeld – wir reden auch vom Ökosystem – ist jedoch leider noch nicht so weit. Das Matchmaking hat zwar funktioniert. Dafür gibt es ein Bedürfnis, das haben wir gesehen. Ich bin aber zuversichtlich, dass eine solche Vermittlungsagentur bald kommt.

Aber?
M. M.: Die Szene hier ist halt noch zu jung, um für zielgerichtetes Matchmaking zu bezahlen. Wir haben Pionierarbeit geleistet. Die Schweizer digital-kreativ Schaffenden wissen nun: Es gibt einen Markt. Und die Investoren und Käufer haben gesehen: In der Schweiz gibt es Potenzial. Dieses wird in Zukunft nicht kleiner, sondern auf jeden Fall grösser.

Digitale Unternehmerinnen und Kreative stehen vor einer riesigen Herausforderung: Als Pioniere radikal neuer künstlerischer Ideen müssen sie nicht nur ihr Projekt entwickeln, sondern auch einen ganz neuen Markt erschaffen. Während traditionell orientierte Kreativschaffende meist ein relativ gutes Verständnis ihres Marktes und seiner etablierten Unterstützer, Plattformen, InvestorInnen, Gönner und anderer wichtiger Interessengruppen haben, müssen digitale Kulturunternehmer oft mit weniger Orientierung beginnen: Sie müssen ein völlig neues Ökosystem für ihr Genre aufbauen. Als wertvoller Begleiter auf diesem Weg steht den aufstrebenden Organisationen und Institutionen wie der Kulturstiftung Pro Helvetia nun das Cookbook des Match-Making-Moduls zur Verfügung.