Skip to main content
VillageOffice

Course correction and cultural change

Expected to comprise 1000 offices by 2030: the Workeria in Winterthur recently joined the growing VillageOffice network. Photo: John Patrick Walder
Expected to comprise 1000 offices by 2030: the Workeria in Winterthur recently joined the growing VillageOffice network. Photo: John Patrick Walder

Coworking is very popular. The VillageOffice cooperative is taking advantage of this – and is attracting interest from location promoters and developers of former factory sites. Securing clients from large corporations is posing a challenge, however: these companies will need some convincing before they buy memberships for their employees. Engagement Migros is supporting VillageOffice as it adapts its strategy.

Jenny Schäpper-Uster’s office is wherever she opens her laptop. The mother of two small boys works when and wherever is practical on any given day: sometimes at home, sometimes on the train – and very often in coworking spaces, the nucleus of a new working culture in which employees and freelancers from all industries and of all stripes come together in an office community. Coworking is Schäpper-Uster’s mission. Because her former employer no longer offered her flexibility in working hours or locations after she started a family, she changed from a project manager into a “mompreneur”. First she opened her own coworking space in Wil, then she founded the association Coworking Switzerland in 2015, and today she is one of the formative minds behind the VillageOffice cooperative.
 

A win-win situation for all involved

The cooperative has ambitious goals: to build up by 2030 a network of 1000 coworking spaces that anyone can reach within 15 minutes. Municipalities can use these kinds of spaces to create advantages for their locations as they battle rural flight. Companies profit when their employees network, ideally through their increased efficiency and higher level of job satisfaction, as well as through the reduction in unused office space. And the environment is less affected thanks to lower commuter numbers. A win-win situation that should actually convince everyone, but it’s not that simple, says Jenny Schäpper-Uster. “Almost all companies think coworking is the wave of the future,” she says, “but they hesitate to implement it.” 

Coworking is her mission: VillageOffice cofounder Jenny Schäpper-Uster. Photo: John Patrick Walder

Coworking is her mission: VillageOffice cofounder Jenny Schäpper-Uster. Photo: John Patrick Walder

Today, Jenny Schäpper-Uster’s office is the Workeria in Winterthur’s Technopark. This coworking space just opened and its owners turned to the 13-member VillageOffice team, asking to join its country-wide network. There are many interested groups like this: since the cooperative launched its business in 2016, there has been a steady stream of partners and fans. Mayors of municipalities and real estate companies are competing for their favour, asking VillageOffice for advice in reviving their valleys and buildings, and they are prepared to pay for the privilege. So far, the network has expanded to 40 coworking spaces, two of which are their own flagship sites. But its been tough getting companies to enable their employees to work at VillageOffice coworking spaces. “We thought they would be our main target group – but we have realised they need more convincing, that there even needs to be a cultural change,” says Schäpper-Uster.
 

Small companies as low-hanging fruit

VillageOffice has even kept the bar for entry low on purpose: as part of a pilot project, for a year companies are able to take part in a “Coworking Experience” that is being supported and evaluated by the University of St. Gallen. For this project, up to five employees work either at their usual office workstation, at home or in one of the VillageOffice coworking spaces. Companies who buy a VillageOffice membership for their employees get detailed feedback – thanks also to a control group that isn’t taking part in the programme but is being asked exactly the same questions. In spring of 2017, VillageOffice began asking companies if they would be interested in the Coworking Experience. Thus far, the idea has not resonated as expected. Although big players like Tetra Pak and the Federal Office of Information Technology, Systems and Telecommunication were part of the first on board, it was mainly small companies that were quickly convinced of the idea’s value. Or, as Jenny Schäpper-Uster puts it – after growing up in Washington as the daughter of a Swiss business man – “They are the low-hanging fruit.” 

A café atmosphere instead of a large-scale office at the Workeria coworking space in Winterthur. Photo: Beat Märki

A café atmosphere instead of a large-scale office at the Workeria coworking space in Winterthur. Photo: Beat Märki

Raiffeisen Switzerland has taken up the challenge – and is participating in the pilot project

The reason for this becomes clear when speaking to those large companies that decided to take part in the pilot project after doing in-depth due diligence. Daniel Schläpfer is Head of HR Management Processes and & Projects at Raiffeisen Switzerland and explains: “The relationship between opportunities and risks for coworking is not yet clear.” Or more specifically: the company isn’t yet sure whether increases in sustainability and corporate social responsibility, attractiveness as an employer, and maybe in efficiency and employee satisfaction would balance out the potential losses in control, security and perhaps team culture. In addition, coworking currently still comes with addition costs, says Schläpfer: “Real estate contracts are long-term, which means we aren’t yet saving costs on office space with VillageOffice workstations.”

“There needs to be a new management philosophy – moving away from a culture of presence towards one of personal responsibility.”

In addition to analysing studies and experiences on this subject, Raiffeisen Switzerland decided to just try coworking out – in the same way they would test a new business model within their company. For example, an executive is currently doing a remote year, which means he won’t physically in the office for the entire 12 months. Three employees were selected for the Coworking Experience based on their positions, where they lived and the location of their regular office. It is too soon to take stock, says Schläpfer. “What is clear, however, is that we want to continue developing our management culture – moving away from a culture of presence towards one of personal responsibility.” But this kind of paradigm shift can’t happen from one day to the next. Jenny Schäpper-Uster agrees, adding: “Being physically present in the office is unfortunately still highly symbolic, especially in Switzerland.”


Starting the revolution from below

But the coworking expert and her colleagues at VillageOffice are not letting themselves be deterred. “Engagement Migros coached us in further developing our business model,” she says. She finds it extremely helpful that the development fund offers the opportunity to meet with experts and sparring partners who offer support in important decision-making. “Projects can also come to us if things ever get difficult,” says Engagement Migros’ Franziska Barmettler. She closely follows the project and regularly meets the VillageOffice team for updates. When it became clear in summer 2017 that acquiring business clients was more of a challenge than expected, she offered to link VillageOffice with a “Challenger” from the Pioneerlab to bring an outsider’s view to the start-up. Through this lab, the development fund provides individual support to its projects as needed.

After taking further steps in development, VillageOffice came up with the idea to reorient itself slightly: “In future, in addition to large corporations, we will increasingly orient our offering towards SMEs and the users of coworking spaces,” says Jenny Schäpper-Uster. Because as we know, revolutions are started from below – and once enough people want to work in VillageOffice coworking spaces, their bosses will have to react. Until then, says Schäpper-Uster, she will continue to lobby for the coworking idea – at events, from home, or in whichever space she has decided is that day’s office.

Direkt zum Inhalt

Kurskorrektur und Kulturwandel

Bis 2030 sollen es 1000 sein: Die Workeria in Winterthur gehört seit kurzem zum wachsenden VillageOffice-Netzwerk. Foto: John Patrick Walder
Bis 2030 sollen es 1000 sein: Die Workeria in Winterthur gehört seit kurzem zum wachsenden VillageOffice-Netzwerk. Foto: John Patrick Walder

Coworking liegt im Trend. Das Jungunternehmen VillageOffice profitiert davon – und stösst bei Standortförderern und Arealentwicklern auf Begeisterung. Eine Herausforderung stellt hingegen die Kundenakquise bei Grossunternehmen dar: Damit diese für ihre Mitarbeitenden Coworking-Abos lösen, braucht es Überzeugungsarbeit. Engagement Migros unterstützt VillageOffice bei der Anpassung seiner Strategie. 

Wenn Jenny Schäpper-Uster ihren Laptop aufklappt, ist sie im Büro. Die Mutter von zwei kleinen Buben arbeitet, wann und wo es gerade praktisch ist: mal zu Hause, mal im Zug – und ganz oft in Coworking Spaces, jenen Keimzellen einer neuen Arbeitskultur, in denen Schaffende aller Branchen und Couleur zu einer Bürogemeinschaft zusammenfinden. Coworking ist Jenny Schäpper-Usters Mission. Weil der ehemalige Arbeitgeber ihr nach der Familiengründung keine flexiblen Arbeitszeiten und -orte mehr zugestand, wurde die Projektmanagerin zum «Mompreneur», eröffnete zuerst einen eigenen Coworking Space in Wil, gründete 2015 den Verein Coworking Switzerland und zählt heute zu den prägenden Köpfen hinter der Genossenschaft VillageOffice.
 

Eine Win-win-Situation für alle Beteiligten

Das Jungunternehmen hat ambitionierte Ziele: Bis 2030 soll ein Netzwerk von 1000 Coworking Spaces aufgebaut werden, für jedermann erreichbar innert 15 Minuten. Gemeinden verschaffen sich mit ebensolchen Räumlichkeiten Standortvorteile und wirken der Landflucht entgegen. Firmen profitieren vom Networking ihrer Mitarbeitenden, im Idealfall von gesteigerter Effizienz und höherer Arbeitszufriedenheit sowie einer Reduktion von ungenutzter Bürofläche. Und die Umwelt wird dank sinkender Pendlerströme weniger belastet. Eine Win-win-Situation, die eigentlich jeden überzeugen müsste. Doch ganz so einfach, sagt Jenny Schäpper-Uster, sei es dann eben doch nicht. «Fast alle Firmen glauben an Coworking als Arbeitsform der Zukunft», sagt sie. «Doch bei der Implementierung sind sie zögerlich.»

Coworking ist ihre Mission: VillageOffice-Mitgründerin Jenny Schäpper-Uster. Foto: John Patrick Walder

Coworking ist ihre Mission: VillageOffice-Mitgründerin Jenny Schäpper-Uster. Foto: John Patrick Walder

Heute ist die Workeria im Winterthurer Technopark Jenny Schäpper-Usters Arbeitsplatz. Der Coworking Space wurde eben eröffnet; die Betreiber hatten sich ans dreizehnköpfige Team von VillageOffice gewandt und wollten Teil des landesweiten Netzwerkes werden. Solche Interessenten gibt es viele: Seit das Jungunternehmen 2016 Fahrt aufnahm, gewinnt es kontinuierlich Partner und Fans. Gemeindepräsidenten und Immobilienfirmen buhlen um seine Gunst, holen sich bei VillageOffice Rat, wie sie ihre Täler und Häuser beleben könnten, und sind auch bereit, dafür zu bezahlen. Insgesamt konnte das Netz auf 40 Coworking Spaces, davon zwei eigene Flagship-Lokale, ausgebaut werden. Doch bei der Akquise von Firmen, die ihren Angestellten das Arbeiten in den VillageOffice Coworking Spaces ermöglichen, harzt es. «Wir dachten, das ist unsere Hauptzielgruppe – nun merken wir, dass es hier mehr Überzeugungsarbeit, ja gar einen Kulturwandel braucht», sagt Jenny Schäpper-Uster.
 

Kleine Unternehmen als «low-hanging fruit»

Dabei gestaltete VillageOffice die Eintrittsschwelle bewusst niedrig: Im Rahmen eines Pilotprojektes können Firmen ein Jahr lang an einer sogenannten «Coworking Experience» teilnehmen, die von der Universität St. Gallen begleitet und ausgewertet wird. Bis zu fünf Mitarbeitende sind so entweder am angestammten Arbeitsplatz, im Home Office oder eben in den VillageOffice Coworking Spaces tätig. Wer ein VillageOffice-Abo für seine Angestellten löst, erhält detailliertes Feedback – auch dank einer Kontrollgruppe, die nicht am Programm teilnimmt, aber genau gleich befragt wird. Im Frühling 2017 begann VillageOffice, erste Unternehmen für die Coworking Experience anzufragen. Die Resonanz bleibt bis anhin unter den Erwartungen. Einige Big Player wie Tetra Pak oder das Bundesamt für Informatik und Telekommunikation waren zwar schnell mit an Bord. Doch insgesamt waren es vor allem kleinere Unternehmen, die sich sofort überzeugen liessen. Oder, wie Jenny Schäpper-Uster es als in Washington aufgewachsene Tochter eines Schweizer Handelsmannes ausdrückt: «Sie sind die ‹low-hanging fruit› – die tiefer hängenden Früchte.»

Café-Atmosphäre statt Grossraumbüro im Coworking Space Workeria in Winterthur. Foto: Beat Märki

Café-Atmosphäre statt Grossraumbüro im Coworking Space Workeria in Winterthur. Foto: Beat Märki

Daniel Schläpfer ist Leiter HR-Management-Prozesse und Projekte bei Raiffeisen Schweiz und erklärt: «Noch ist unklar, wie sich die Chancen und Risiken des Coworkings zueinander verhalten.» Oder, konkreter: Man wisse nicht, ob die gesteigerte Nachhaltigkeit und Corporate Social Responsibility, die höhere Attraktivität als Arbeitgeber sowie die allenfalls erhöhte Effizienz und Zufriedenheit der Mitarbeitenden den potenziellen Kontroll- und Sicherheitsverlust und eine eventuell schwindende Teamkultur aufwiegen. Ausserdem verursache Coworking momentan noch zusätzliche Kosten: «Immobilienverträge sind eine langfristige Sache, deshalb sparen wir mit den VillageOffice-Arbeitsplätzen noch keine Bürofläche ein.» 

«Es braucht eine neue Führungsphilosophie – weg von der Präsenzkultur hin zur Eigenverantwortung.»

Neben der Analyse von Studien und Erfahrungen zu diesem Thema hat sich Raiffeisen Schweiz entschlossen, Coworking einfach mal auszuprobieren – so, wie man verschiedene neue Arbeitsmodelle im Unternehmen testet. Ein Kadermitglied absolviert zum Beispiel gerade ein Remote Year und erscheint ein ganzes Jahr lang nicht physisch im Büro. Drei Mitarbeitende wurden aufgrund ihrer Tätigkeiten, Wohn- und Arbeitsorte für die Coworking Experience ausgewählt. Um Bilanz zu ziehen, sei es zu früh, so Schläpfer: «Klar ist aber, dass wir unsere Führungskultur weiterentwickeln möchten – weg von der Präsenzkultur hin zur Eigenverantwortung.» So einen Paradigmenwechsel vollziehe man allerdings nicht von heute auf morgen. Das beobachtet auch Jenny Schäpper-Uster. Und ergänzt: «Gerade in der Schweiz hat die physische Präsenz leider immer noch eine grosse Symbolkraft.»
 

Die Revolution von unten anzetteln

Doch die Coworking-Expertin und ihre Kolleginnen und Kollegen von VillageOffice lassen sich nicht abschrecken. «Engagement Migros hat uns bei der Weiterentwicklung unseres Geschäftsmodells gecoacht», erzählt sie. Die Möglichkeit, beim Förderfonds auf Experten und Sparringspartner zu treffen, die einen bei wichtigen strategischen Entscheiden unterstützen, sei enorm hilfreich. «Man kann auch auf uns zukommen, wenns mal schwierig wird», sagt Franziska Barmettler von Engagement Migros. Sie betreut das Projekt eng und trifft das VillageOffice-Team regelmässig für Standortbestimmungen. Als im Sommer 2017 klar wurde, dass sich die Firmenakquise herausfordernder gestaltet als erwartet, bot sie an, VillageOffice mit einem sogenannten «Challenger» aus dem Pionierlab zu verlinken, der eine Aussensicht ins junge Unternehmen bringt. Über dieses Lab bietet der Förderfonds den Projekten bei Bedarf individuelle Unterstützung an.

Nach weiteren Entwicklungsschritten kristallisierte sich für VillageOffice schliesslich eine kleine Umorientierung heraus: «Künftig wollen wir das Angebot neben Grossunternehmen vermehrt auf KMU und die Nutzer der Coworking Spaces ausrichten», sagt Jenny Schäpper-Uster. Denn Revolutionen werden bekanntlich von unten angezettelt – und wenn erst mal genügend Menschen in den VillageOffice Coworking Spaces arbeiten möchten, müssen ihre Chefs reagieren. Bis dahin, sagt Jenny Schäpper-Uster, werde sie weiter für die Idee des Coworkings lobbyieren – an Veranstaltungen, von zu Hause aus oder in jenem «Space», den sie gerade zu ihrem Büro erkoren hat.